16 Reviews

I followed this right on target and we loved it! Yum, lentils! I also used fresh parsley, cilantro, and ginger. The orzo was just as completely yummy and was so good for comfort anld so good for your soul. And the cinnamon was just the right amount, and gave this a delightful twist. I also used fresh tomatoes with the juice from the tomato instead of canned tomatoes. Loved it, and will be making it again this weekend, made for *Veg Vegan* Swap September 2009.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm September 15, 2009

Delish! I really liked this quite a bit. The spices and herbs were right on. It's quite simple to make as well. Only change I might make in the future would be to use a grain instead of pasta (maybe quinoa), just to up the nutritional valu. Thanks for posting, I'd make this again for sure. Made for the April 08 veggie swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegSocialWorker April 08, 2009

This soup was easy to make and delicious. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable because that's what I had and I didn't use cilantro because I've never tried it and wasn't sure I would like it. I love all kinds of soup and I will definitely be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vtstrong September 27, 2012

This was filling and full of flavour! I loved every moment of it, especially since the temperature dipped a little and I needed something warm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Studentchef June 03, 2011

Very satisfying, the flavors sold the lentils and chickpeas to DH (a proud carnivore) , who insisted that this become part of our regular rotation. This is a perfect lunch dish, high in protein and fiber. Reviewed for Veg'n Swap 13.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KateL May 30, 2011

This was a nice, hearty meal for a chilly weekend. I tried using Cookgirl's crock pot modification, which didn't exactly work. I only had green/hearty lentils on hand, which take longer to cook, so I cooked them a few extra minutes at the start. Put it all in the crock and let it go for about 8 hours on low. The lentils were still crunchy, so I put it all back into a pot on the stove to finish. But boy, did it smell good all day! The cinnamon seems odd when you read the recipe, but it's just a hint. If I hadn't made it, I might have trouble guessing the seasoning. I would probably leave out the orzo next time, it is plenty hearty without it. My DH added some heat to his, because he thinks everything needs to be hot. I think I might spice it up just a little by using diced tomatoes with green chilies. But it is certainly satisfying just like it is! I made Super Easy Naan Bread to eat with it. Made for Veggie Swap #28.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anne in apex November 27, 2010

This was adapted to be prepared in a crock pot and it worked out well. First I boiled the lentils for 2 minutes, drained them, used the same water to boil the orzo. Used green split peas, yellow and red lentils. Sauteed onions with garlic and the cinnamon for a few minutes, dumped everything (except for the orzo which was added at the very end) in the crock pot and cooked on HIGH for about 5 hours. The seasonings and spices were adjusted right before serving. Used freshly grated ginger and skipped the flour slurry. Fresh cilantro was garnished on top. Cheap and filling. Reviewed for Veg Tag November.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl November 12, 2010

Great soup! I was expecting to need to add more spices - not because of the combination, but because the amounts looked a little small for the large quantity of soup. But that wasn't the case, the flavour of the cinnamon & ginger was perfect, in fact I'm glad I didn't give into the temptation to add more. The one thing I did do was added a bunch of garlic...just personal preference and I already had it prepped. I also ended up using tinned crushed tomatoes, didn't realize I had bought the wrong sort. So I didn't find the need to add the flour slurry at the end, the soup was plenty thick enough. I think adding some heat in this would be great, harrissa if you happen to have any. Thanks for another great soup WICC!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner October 29, 2010

We thought this was excellent. I thought I had bought orzo, but when I went to put it in the soup I couldn't find any, so I cut up some spaghetti and that worked in an emergency. Also, we're not fond of cilantro so I just left it out. Very good recipe, thanks WICC :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend March 19, 2010

This wasn't our cup of tea, but I feel the changes I made in preparation may have impacted the results so won't leave stars. We do like all of the ingredients and even the texture appealed. It just seemed to be lacking flavor wise for us. I did substitute barley for the orzo pasta. I also attempted the recipe in the crockpot. I added everything, reducing the water by 1 cup, thru step 6 (including the barley), and cooked on high 5 hours. At that point I added the flour with 1 cup water, remaining cilantro, lemon juice and tomato paste to cook another 45 minutes. The stew thickened nicely and looked good. The barley & garbanzo beans were perfect; soft, but yet still identifiable and the stew is very filling. Thank you for sharing your recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D January 18, 2010
Moroccan Harira Soup