Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Eggplant (Aubergine) Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Eggplant (Aubergine) Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 03, 2012

      Was looking for a recipe for baba ganoush, but very happy to have found this instead! The two of us had it tonight with salad leaves, smoked meat & cheese, but fortunately there's enough left to have with falafels & tahini sauce tomorrow! (Only nuts in the cupboard were walnuts which I can recommend!) Many thanks for an excellent recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      This was very good. I had to use the sun-dried tomatoes in oil so skipped step 1. Otherwise made no major changes - I used sliced red onion not chopped, half kalamata and half green olives, pine nuts instead of almonds, and just one lemon (it was very juicy - I probably could have used less than one). I did use the optional mint. Served with steaks and baked potatoes for Father's Day lunch and the family all enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2008

      Yum! Really delicious, and great new way to use eggplant. I left out the bell pepper and used oil-packed tomatoes, but still delicious. Next time I think I'll cut the salt back a bit and cut the eggplant down into smaller cubes. Thanks for a treat! UPDATE - a year later: I just made this again with some more changes -- I reduced the salt, omitted the paprika, used diced cucumbers in lieu of parsley, white onion instead of red, and pine nuts. Served with lettuce in a whole wheat pita pocket -- FABULOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I love this recipe. I stumbled across it while looking for a Japanese eggplant salad recipe that I misplaced. However, this one was a wonderful blend of flavors - mint included. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2007

      I picked to make this because it looked like an elegant way to make an eggplant, and that was true. The flavors are so complementary to each other, really creative. I made it as written, but no mint. Used 1.5 lemons, but probably should have used the other half also. I had special guests today, and this really fit the bill. Thanks, this will definitely be on my list to make when guests come over from now on. Step 3 did take considerable longer than 8 min, maybe 15.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      Loved this nutritious and flavorful salad -- and have made it twice now. Once was for family, and then today I made it for a potluck/BBQ. It was a hit both times! I added two items to the mix -- coarsely chopped zucchini to the cooked vegetable mix, and a can of drained garbanzo beans to the uncooked part of the mix. I also used fresh seeded tomatoes rather than dried or oil-packed for a burst of fresh flavor. I think the spices are perfect just as they are, though the second time I made it, I added a half teaspoon of chili powder to the spice blend. It added just a touch of warmth, and was quite delicious. This is a keeper recipe, and works well with feta cheese crumbled on top for another layer of salty flavor. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      I love this salad! It's great for lunch, in larger servings, or as an appetizer. Mmmmmmmm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      The taste of this salad was out of this world! I made some extensive substitutions since I looked up the recipe at the last minute: green bell pepper for red, white onion for red, oil packed tomatoes for dried, regular salt for sea (used 1/2 tsp.), black olives for green, no almonds, no mint. I'm sure the original is even better, but even with substitutions, it was a five-star way to use the rest of an eggplant. I will note that the children did not like the look of it and would not eat it. Usually this takes the recipe down to a four star, but I figured I wasn't making it for them anyway! Thanks Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      This salad is absolutely amazing! I just wish I could rate this higher than 5 stars, this has all of my favorite ingredients that blended so well together, I added in the mint, great recipe Sue, thanks so much!...Kitten:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2005

      I agree with najwa, this one is a keeper! thanks! We had to cook the eggplants slightly longer than suggested, and used lots of mint, which I grow on my balcony. We enjoyed the salad this evening at the lake. Excellent. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2004

      This is such a great easy to make salad! I served it warm with some pita bread as suggested .. my husband loved it! The only thing I did differently was that I used much less oil to sauté the vegetables .. thanks this one is a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Eggplant (Aubergine) Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (347 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 225.4
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    70%
    Total Fat 17.6 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 800.8 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 6.8 g
    27%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes