9 Reviews

Easy and nice dish. The dish itself was a little plain for my tastes, so I added in chopped up onion and tomatoes (well salted and peppered). I like the lemony, smokey flavour, and the ease. Eat it with rice or couscous, or toasted pita. Eaten/compared with another eggplant dish, my friend really liked them both but preferred this one!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mivashel February 24, 2009

A new and interesting way to fix eggplant for me! At first I wasn't too sure how I felt about it but after letting sit for awhile, I enjoyed the lemony cumin taste! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sharon123 March 11, 2008

I Loved it! NEVER had them boiled before but I LOVE aubergines and this dish did not disappoint me (DH HATES aubergines so he couldn't care less for this dish but never mind him, I got to finish his share as well!!).. Thank you, Engrossed, for sharing your wonderful recipe.. definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum September 30, 2007

We liked this a lot. I used 3 Japanese eggplants instead of one big one. I didn't let it sit over night as the other reviews suggest, but it seemed fine to us. Perhaps the smaller eggplants made a difference? Anyway, two of us had no problem polishing off the whole recipe. ;) Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Z June 15, 2007

I loved it! Boiled eggplant was something new for me, too but it was so easy and tasty! I made it as written and I follow Annacia's advice, leaving it overnight. Next time I'll add some fresh parsley at the end! A perfect salad for a summer lunch, I had it with grilled chicken and I enjoyed a low cal dinner. Thanks Engrossed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katia May 22, 2007

So good! I love eggplants, but -like all the others- had never boiled them. It works! This dish is so easy to prepare, and so quick, I think it will be a summer-staple in our house! (Even picky husband liked it, and that says a lot!!!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halalmom May 02, 2007

I love eggplant roasted or fried, but have never had it boiled before. I must say I don't care for ithe texture as much boiled but I did like the seasonings. I followed Annacia's advice in her review and made it the day before I ate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo February 21, 2007

I have really been puzzling over how best to review this. The recipe works as intended and the eggplant doesn't mush out. It very simple and quick and the garlic aroma while cooking is profuse (not a bad thing in this case). I had 3 mushrooms that I quartered and added to the pot with the eggplant. Somehow with all the garlic, the cumin, sweet paprika, and the lemon juice it was still bland. I added salt, tasted and added more salt, tasted and added hot red pepper flakes. What I find hard to believe is the fact that the eggplant didn't absorb the flavors. They sit on the outside while the inside of the chunk tastes like unseasoned eggplant with that bitterness that it will sometimes give you. I don't know if this was because it was boiled (I've never done that before) or if it was in the eggplant. I feel that this has possibilities but I'm at a loss as to how to perk it up at this point.** EDIT**, I had more of this today and it was very good! sitting in the seasonings for 24 hrs made a world of difference. I would say to use the full amount of salt that you would like in the cooking water and be prepared to let the finished dish stand for 24 hrs. Doing that, I think you'll like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia January 19, 2007
Moroccan Eggplant (Aubergine) Salad