13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was really, really good. Took me right back to my first tajine experience in Morocco. My husband is wary of new flavor combos but really liked it. The kids even ate it (OK, there was dessert on the line...). Definitely a keeper in our recipe book! We tried with the beef but will try other combos too. Makes a ton, we had leftovers for several days. We cooked up two boxes of couscous for this and ran out of couscous first -- next time I'll make 3 boxes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcherr11 November 10, 2012

I am a big fan of Moroccan cuisine but I am sorry I did not care for this. I made it exactly per the recipe using beef. I served it with Garlic Naan and a Mixed Green Salad with Pear and Gorgonzola dressing from Trader Joe's. I am chalking it up to eating a bunch of Girl Scout cookies and the mix of flavors though since everyone else seems to like this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bill Butler February 17, 2012

I liked this a lot. Hubby hated it but he hates anything with cumin in it so I didn't let that affect the rating. I made it with 8 chicken thighs and portioned it into 4 huge servings. It was only 300 very filling calories. I followed the rest of the ingredients exact including using pumpkin for the squash. I got started too late so I cooked it on the stovetop. I removed the lid in the last 30 min of cooking because it was still too soupy for my liking. I used the pepper flakes and the spice was almost too much for us. Maybe I will use 1/4 tsp in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Tweaker October 10, 2008

I cooked this for dinner today as part of the GREAT TAGINE TREASURE HUNT & am very happy I did! It is delicious. I followed the recipe but added a bit of chopped fresh coriander / cilantro at the end. I don't have a crock pot so I cooked it in my LE Creuset dutch oven/ casserole for just short of 3 hours & it was perfect. We ate it with steamed raisin cous cous. Thanks B.T for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Um Safia February 08, 2008

Very good recipe! We couldn't afford 3 lbs of lamb so we used a 1 lb lamb neck. Just enough to flavor, but not enough to break the bank. I feel a little silly for eating this during the summer! It's definitely a winter meal!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelly K June 21, 2007

Great recipe I made this for my family when my mom was busy, and they all seemed to like it (despite their fear of change). I made it with the chickpeas, but without the olives because we were out. The second time around at college I added a package of okra around because it enhanced the color and thickness of the broth.. also i like gumbo and okra so i always have some on stock.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morocco January 27, 2007

This was very good, but...the spices messed with my DH tummy and my children didn't like it at all. Not a very good recipe for families with small children or sensitive tummies. Though I do have to tell you, I decided to not cut up the potatoes, instead a few minutes before serving I took them out and mashed them up, then I threw in a stick of butter and some milk to cream it up. It was the only thing my kids did eat. Thanks anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fionnros September 07, 2006

I can't say how much I love this dish! I have made it many times, in fact it is bubbling away right now! I followed another reviewers advice to add tomato soup. It does make the sauce thicker. Beautiful dish and the smells throughout the house is heavenly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimmouse April 19, 2006

Oh my gosh! This was so flavorful and delicious! Instead of lamb or chicken thighs, I used a whole chicken cut up (skin on) and used the olives and chickpeas. I cooked it for about 9 hours on low and the meat was falling off the bone, so tender and so good! Invited some friends over and served it on couscous. They loved it! And so did I! Definitely a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lotusflower1 August 16, 2005

The spices in this dish give it a great, exotic taste. I followed the recipe with chicken thighs & potatoes and used all of the optional ingredients (Italian green olives and garbonzo beans) and it turned out great! I served it over couscous with mango chutney on the side and everyone loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrockPotKing February 05, 2005
Moroccan Crock Pot Tajine