Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Crock Pot Tajine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Crock Pot Tajine

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 10, 2012

      This was really, really good. Took me right back to my first tajine experience in Morocco. My husband is wary of new flavor combos but really liked it. The kids even ate it (OK, there was dessert on the line...). Definitely a keeper in our recipe book! We tried with the beef but will try other combos too. Makes a ton, we had leftovers for several days. We cooked up two boxes of couscous for this and ran out of couscous first -- next time I'll make 3 boxes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2012

      I am a big fan of Moroccan cuisine but I am sorry I did not care for this. I made it exactly per the recipe using beef. I served it with Garlic Naan and a Mixed Green Salad with Pear and Gorgonzola dressing from Trader Joe's. I am chalking it up to eating a bunch of Girl Scout cookies and the mix of flavors though since everyone else seems to like this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      I liked this a lot. Hubby hated it but he hates anything with cumin in it so I didn't let that affect the rating. I made it with 8 chicken thighs and portioned it into 4 huge servings. It was only 300 very filling calories. I followed the rest of the ingredients exact including using pumpkin for the squash. I got started too late so I cooked it on the stovetop. I removed the lid in the last 30 min of cooking because it was still too soupy for my liking. I used the pepper flakes and the spice was almost too much for us. Maybe I will use 1/4 tsp in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      I cooked this for dinner today as part of the GREAT TAGINE TREASURE HUNT & am very happy I did! It is delicious. I followed the recipe but added a bit of chopped fresh coriander / cilantro at the end. I don't have a crock pot so I cooked it in my LE Creuset dutch oven/ casserole for just short of 3 hours & it was perfect. We ate it with steamed raisin cous cous. Thanks B.T for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      Very good recipe! We couldn't afford 3 lbs of lamb so we used a 1 lb lamb neck. Just enough to flavor, but not enough to break the bank. I feel a little silly for eating this during the summer! It's definitely a winter meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      Great recipe I made this for my family when my mom was busy, and they all seemed to like it (despite their fear of change). I made it with the chickpeas, but without the olives because we were out. The second time around at college I added a package of okra around because it enhanced the color and thickness of the broth.. also i like gumbo and okra so i always have some on stock.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      This was very good, but...the spices messed with my DH tummy and my children didn't like it at all. Not a very good recipe for families with small children or sensitive tummies. Though I do have to tell you, I decided to not cut up the potatoes, instead a few minutes before serving I took them out and mashed them up, then I threw in a stick of butter and some milk to cream it up. It was the only thing my kids did eat. Thanks anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2006

      I can't say how much I love this dish! I have made it many times, in fact it is bubbling away right now! I followed another reviewers advice to add tomato soup. It does make the sauce thicker. Beautiful dish and the smells throughout the house is heavenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      Oh my gosh! This was so flavorful and delicious! Instead of lamb or chicken thighs, I used a whole chicken cut up (skin on) and used the olives and chickpeas. I cooked it for about 9 hours on low and the meat was falling off the bone, so tender and so good! Invited some friends over and served it on couscous. They loved it! And so did I! Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      The spices in this dish give it a great, exotic taste. I followed the recipe with chicken thighs & potatoes and used all of the optional ingredients (Italian green olives and garbonzo beans) and it turned out great! I served it over couscous with mango chutney on the side and everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2004

      The smell of this dish when I walked in after work was heavenly. I did omit the salt and the olives as DH is on low sodium diet, used low sodium versions of the canned items and increased the hot pepper since he likes things spicy. We both enjoyed this dish and look forward to making it a comfort food standard. Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2004

      Very nice. I used the cayenne instead of the flakes, rubbed the meat with the spice/garlic mixture, and piled everything else on top before pouring in the broth. I also added 1 can of condensed tomato soup at the end with the chickpeas to meld the flavors and thicken the sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2003

      Very nice. I used chicken not lamb, optional green olives (with pimento), skipped optional chickpeas (just didn't happen to have them on hand, but usually love them), and potatoes not squash (same reason). Skipped red pepper for my toddler's sake (DH can and does add at table). One addition: at the end, I added 1 Tbl cornstarch in 3 Tbl cold water slurry to the sauce for the last half hour, to give the sauce more body. Did the trick, and didn't get gloppy. Dish cooked up tender and flavorful. Husband liked it, toddler loved it, especially the carrots (as usual).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Crock Pot Tajine

    Serving Size: 1 (521 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 553.1
     
    Calories from Fat 174
    31%
    Total Fat 19.3 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 6.8 g
    34%
    Cholesterol 221.9 mg
    73%
    Sodium 1051.1 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.0 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 74.9 g
    149%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites