Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Chickpea & Zucchini Salad (Africa) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Chickpea & Zucchini Salad (Africa)

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2008

      Wonderful salad. I added some sliced avocado since I had some and served it all over a bed of iceberg lettuce -- my DH's favorite. I also add the minced garlic to the zucchini when blanching since I prefer a more cooked garlic flavor (more mellow) in my salads. Thanks, Pneuma! Made for Aussie/New Zealand Recipe Swap #19.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Thanks for a delicious and different way to use zucchini! I double the recipe, using a 15 oz can of chickpeas, and one zucchini and one summer squash (I didn't blanch them, and the texture was fine). It wasn't too spicy, and I served it with whole wheat pita - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      I liked this and it was fun to make the spice paste. I first tasted it at warm room temperature and liked it a lot. It was less enjoyable refrigerated, so next time I will serve it at room temp. I might saute the zucchini next time. Now must figure out what to do with the leftover spice paste...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      No complaints at all; this was delicious! I ground most of my own spices in a second hand coffee grinder that I recently got. This makes a huge difference in flavor; I highly recommend it! The dish has a nice kick to it, but not too much for me. I'd have to cut back for some of my friends though. It took me about 15 minutes total to make this. Great dish - I ate it at room temperature, right when I finished preparing it! Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      A tasty side that also made a simple meal when served over whole wheat couscous. I really enjoyed the spice blend and look forward to using it in other dishes, even as a spice over popcorn. Want to try this with sauteed zucchini allowing for a bit of caramelization. Thanks. Made for the I recommend Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      This was a very nice spice blend. I thought it had a great balance of flavors with the heat coming in as an "after thought". The cinnamon and cumin were my favorites:) I will probably leave the zucchini raw and slice it very thin next time I make this, I just didn't care for it to be blanched, which is just a personal preferance. Made for PAC spring 09.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      We love this salad, especially the spice paste, which I'll try on other veggie combos. The only change I made was to cut back on the cayenne.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      This is quite nice, but I would halve the amount of cayenne next time-I think it overpowered the other ingredients in the spice paste. I only made half the spice paste as I couldn't think what I could do in the near future with extra of it. nAfter taking a photo of the dish, I felt it needed some herbs so added mint and parsley to it and I think that really gave it a lift.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      DH enjoyed this for the start of Ramadan. I used only about half of the oil in the spice mix. Thanks Pneuma for another great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Excellent. I used just the dry spices to save the oil and used a tsp of Splenda for the honey. These changes worked very well for me but I went a step farther and added some veggie "Ground Round" . I left it in the fridge overnight and warmed some a bit in the micro today. It make a really great lunch wrapped in a whole wheat tortilla. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

      The spice paste blend is what attracted me to this recipe and it didn't disappoint. (I'm using the left over paste to marinate a lamb fillet.) Chickpeas are also a favourite so this salad was always going to appeal. It was so quick to make and I loved it. The recipe didn't specify how to prepare the zucchinis so I made long ribbons. I too served it warmish (I was impatient) as a side to some grilled lamb loin chops. I've got left overs today for lunch. My only thing is that I would say that it serves 2 as a main or 4 as a side. Made for Aussie: Make My Recipe, Ed #5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Was most intrigued with combination of ingredients in the spice paste ~ GREAT TASTE there, for sure! I did use lemon pepper instead of the usual S&P, but other than that, this salad went together as directed! Very, very nice, & worth making again! [Tagged, made & reviewed for one of my teammates in my vegetarian group in the Vegetarian/Vegan Recipe Swap]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This is really tasty. I ended up serving it hot with bacon and couscous to make a complete meal. I ended up using a lot more than 1 tsp of the spice mix, but then I like things spicey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2008

      this is a great and refreshing recipe the crunch of the zucchini and sweet and sour flavors that dance in your mouth along with a hint of spice - this was made for vegetarian team strawberry - thanks Pneuma!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Chickpea & Zucchini Salad (Africa)

    Serving Size: 1 (94 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 174.9
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    46%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 186.7 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.1 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    17%
    Sugars 4.6 g
    18%
    Protein 4.2 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed spice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites