Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Chickpea and Eggplant (Aubergine) Stew Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Chickpea and Eggplant (Aubergine) Stew

    Average Rating:

    21 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 21

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2009

      Entire family loved this (including one very picky eater). I didn't have chilli powder so added a pinch of chilli flakes and about 1 teaspoon of a mixed curry powder. Came out really great tasting. To satisfy the meateaters in the house I diced some chicken breasts up and marinaded in a tablespoon of plain yoghurt and Harissa paste, placed the chicken on top of the stew to steam through about 20 minutes before serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2010

      This was good. I eyeballed the spices, used pumpkin pie spice in place of cinnamon (yes, we were out!), and added garlic salt and hot sauce. Next time, I will double the chickpeas, and roast the garlic instead of braising it like the recipe calls for. I think that will add a lot more flavor and depth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      This is a really great recipe. A winter favorite served with couscous. I usually make double quantity as it freezes well. Being the only vegetarian in our family I have mine as is but add some cooked lamb for my family.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      How easy was this to make? I prepared rice and did dishes while putting the stew together. How delicious is it? I'm thinking about going back downstairs to pull out a serving that I put in the freezer. I used half an eggplant (as it's what I had on hand), but made up for the missing volume in beans. Cooked, not canned. Added more spice to taste, including some dried red pepper flakes, and some dark chocolate chips to give the flavor a bit more depth. MMM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      This was a good way to use eggplant. Tasty and easy. I used an entire can (14 or 15 oz) of both chickpeas and tomatoes and it turned out fine. I doubled the spices (and subbed cayenne pepper with chili powder). Better the next day. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      I wasn't very precise with amounts, using what I had on hand. I also used some leftover canned tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes, and it worked well. The cooking method and flavors are what matter, and they were great! My husband has eggplant issues, but this came out great. I served it over some onion-y rice with feta. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      This was delicious. I LOVE eggplant but have always struggled to make it tender and soft rather than chewy and slightly fishy-tasting, which I hate. This recipe made the eggplant perfectly tender. I simmered it for about 30-40 minutes rather than just 20, which made everything much more tender. I also didn't add the cumin (I just didn't have it), and the recipe came out perfect and not spicy at all. I would recommend serving it with roasted curry cauliflower. For those looking for more protein, I think adding cubed tofu to the dish would also be great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2007

      Love this recipe! I doubled the recipe and added barley and some green lentils. As suggested by Annacia, I just threw everything in the pot and simmered for a few hours (the barley takes a bit longer to cook). Next time I may try wild rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I'm giving this 5 stars for the following reasons: 1. It has excellent taste (I doubled the spices) 2. It's very quick to make 3. It can be made fat free by simply not cooking anything in oil. I just put everything in the pot (including the bean juice) and simmered it all for 20 mins. It was served over brown rice. Oh, and I used a large fresh tomato in place of canned. Thanks for a top notch recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2005

      This was delicious. I took out one eggplant and added 2 large potatoes. However next time I will half the amount of spices! A definite keeper that freezes well and will be made by me for many years!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2014

      I made this for myself as I am the only vegetarian in the family. I thought it was a quick, easy and very healthy meal to put together on a weeknight with plenty of leftovers. I followed the recipe quantities for the spices, but next time will double the garlic and the other spices, and try one of the reviewer's suggestion and add a little tomato paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      This was only my second time cooking eggplant, and was pleasantly surprised that it didn't get the mushy texture that I do not like! I didn't have chickpeas,but think that would be great in the recipe! Next time I'll also add some red peppers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2012

      This dish was edible, but not memorable. I love eggplant, so I keep coming back to this because I keep forgetting I've made it before. Now that I'm writing a review I probably won't make it again...so many recipes so little time.

      On the plus side the recipe is low in calories and very filling. With some added curry paste and salt if was pretty good.

      I have three problems with the recipe; 1) It is bland, if I made it again I would add some curry powder, more salt, and more cinnamon. Maybe some ground coriander. 2) It is watery. I would like the sauce to be richer and thicker. If I were to make it again I would try adding some tomato paste with a little molasses to to counter the acidity. Pomegranate molasses might be nice. 3) The leftovers are just plain ugly. By the second day the peel of the eggplant turns everything else, including the chickpeas, gray. I don't know how this could be solved other than by peeling the eggplant but that would take away too much texture and flavor. Mix it with rice and eat it with your eyes closed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      I really enjoyed the flavours in this dish and the smells that filled the house were wonderful. I served this with lamb chops over couscous. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      This was good and a little different. I substituted Quorn pieces for the chickpeas since my DH was doing low carb. Also, it seemed too dry so I added another can of tomatoes. At the end, I stirred in a couple tablespoons of sour creme to mellow it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Yummy!!! first attempt and it's delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

    • on January 01, 2008

      My wife and I enjoyed this but my kids weren't sure about the texture. I may try this with more chickpeas and less eggplant. We ate the stew over rice and I found it left me very satisfyingly full for hours. I'd give it 5 stars personally but the 3 reflect the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2006

      Loved this quick and easy. Great for a winters night. I added green pepper to give some colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2005

      Nice flavoursome recipe and easy to make. I added Red Kidney Beans which was nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Chickpea and Eggplant (Aubergine) Stew

    Serving Size: 1 (280 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 175.2
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    14%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 192.2 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 13.7 g
    54%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    36%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites