23 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I've made this for several occasions including my child's communion party. I get raves on it every time. All six of my children who range from ages 5 to 14 love it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allison K November 14, 2008

I added 1/2 tsp of Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix to the marinade. I used fresh parsley & cilantro in the sauce while cooking since I don't like it raw. I also substituted golden raisins for the currants. To cut down on steps I put everything into my pressure cooker except the couscous and cooked it for 10 minutes. I then removed the chicken & added the couscous. Very delicious & easy to make... Made for NA*ME Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh September 03, 2008

Delicious! Made as directed using preserved lemons from Moroccan Spiced Preserved Lemons. I didn't use the red chile only because I had a guest that I know doesn't like them -- and it was still fabulous. Thanks, Bluemoon Downunder! Made for N*A*M*E tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees July 21, 2008

I made this last night and it was supurb. I had to wait over a week until my preserved lemons were ready and I think they made all the difference. Wonderful recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NannyMarvel January 27, 2008

Delicious! I did use fresh lemons since I couldn't find preserved, but it was still excellent. I also used raisins instead of currents, an addition I usually make to couscous anyway.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spectatrix July 08, 2007

I am utterly gutted not to be able to give this 5 stars, but unfortunately my fiance didn't like it at all so I'm forced to demote it to 4. I am also utterly gutted he didn't like it because it'll make it more difficult to serve again in future and I LOVED this to death. It was so phenomenally tasty and full of amazing flavours -- I just can't say enough about it. I didn't have time to marinade at all so we had plain chicken but I made the marinade up to use for the couscous anyway and it worked fine. The chicken would have no doubt been better marinated, but eaten together with the couscous it didn't really matter so much. The only ingredients I missed out were the currents (neither of us are very fond of sweet and savoury together like that) and the coriander, because I didn't have any in. I used 3 chicken breasts and the full amount of everything else. I would say there were about 4 servings of couscous in all (enough for my lunch tomorrow then :o) ) rather than the 8 stated, but we eat well in our house. The only disappointment to me was the preserved lemons which just seemed a bit tart for me, but I have no doubt that this is my lemons at fault rather than the recipe. A fantastic dish - thanks v much for posting bluemoon! One way or another I'll find a way to have this again dammit! :o)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wendy-Bob June 23, 2007

Excellent recipe- new, different way to cook chicken. Really enjoyed this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
me2006 November 13, 2005

Died and gone to heaven with this one. I made 2 chicken breasts but enough marinade and couscous for 4 servings. Had I made enough for 8, we would have happily consumed that as well. I also had to extend the cooking time for the chicken another 10 minutes. The sweet-spicy balance was just perfect, with a nice bit of saltiness contributed by the preserved lemons. This was so amazingly good, I'd serve it to the Morrocan chef who runs the kitchen where I work. Dinner was an hour ago and my mouth is still dancing from all the wonderful flavors of the evening. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni November 08, 2005

This recipe deserves a ten for flavor--but the proportions (as noted by other reviewers) are off. I used two chicken breasts but the full amount of marinade and stock--and it was barely enough. When I make this again, I will rework all the amounts so as to insure that the wonderful flavor of the couscous and sauce can be enjoyed in proper proportion to the meat. I also think the preserved lemons are vital to the flavor and without them--it's just cinnamon chicken

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate October 25, 2005

I agree OUTSTANDING TASTE EXPLOSION!!! I made 4 breasts of chicken on the bone (best flavor!) and kept the rest of the recipe the same and did not change any of the amounts! I used dates instead of currants as I could not find any at the market. This dish's remarkable flavor is hinged on the preserved lemons (IMO) and I do not think it would it would do the recipe justice to use regular lemons. I used a heaping 1/4 teaspoon of Halaby Red Pepper... Perfect sweet to spice ratio - this is a 10 star winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper October 21, 2005
Moroccan Chicken With Preserved Lemons and Couscous