23 Reviews

I had an over-abundance of lemons, so had preserved some earlier this year, but then looked for recipes where I could use these lemons. Marinating the chicken for several hours, made it very tasty and moist, and when I cooked them with the preserved lemons, I was surprised at how delicious this was! For the finicky daughter who doesn't like couscous, I'll probably use rice the next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracytrebilcox April 10, 2014

Delicious! I simplified this by making chicken for 4 but sauce for 8. I left the chicken in the oven until the last minute and made the liquid for the couscous at the same time, cutting cooking time down to 20 mins. Also I cooked the onion, then added the set aside marinade and stock (I used 1.25 cups stock for 1 cup couscous) poured it over the couscous, fluffed it up with a fork and then stirred through the currants and the toasted almonds. The chicken came out of the over in its juices and went to the table like that - everyone served themselves and spooned the oven cooked sauce over the couscous. Yum! My only "complaint" is that I glanced at the cooking time a few hours before cooking and only realized when I went to cook that there are 3 hours not accounted for in the preparation time (the marination time). So I prepped and then cooked the next day.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracyeevans July 06, 2011

I made this for family who were visiting us here in Italy - as I wanted to find something new that I hadn't cooked before. It was really delicious. I cut the chicken breasts into large thick pieces (the chicken breasts here are enormous) and then barbecued them, and barbecued the lemons with them. I left the currants out of the couscous because I don't like them - but it really was a memorable dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Real Italy June 13, 2011

Excellent flavours! I would change a few things next time but still rated the recipe high as the flavour combinations were amazing. The couscous was the star of this dish so I think the recipe would be better described as Moroccan couscous with chicken. 1. I would skip the preseved lemons. They add little to the recipe for the cost/effort. 2. I soaked the currants in the chicken broth to moisten them up before adding to the couscous. 3. Like other reviewers, I would use bone-in chicken. Roasted boneless chicken breasts inevitably became too dry even with careful eye on them. 4. I made extra marinade to use for the final stages. Even though the recipe asks you boil the reserved marinade I felt it horribly violated basic food safety to marinade in which raw chicken had been soaking in overnight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssaatchi April 12, 2010

Nice dish, withs lots of flavour. Think it probably would work better with chicken on the bone, though still very nice with chicken thigh.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gumboot74 February 27, 2010

Absolutely delicious. My only variation was to use boned chicken thighs. This was the nicest moroccan recipe ever! Thanks for posting it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dirlada January 18, 2010

Loved it!!! Great flavors. I used chicken legs instead and they worked out great, too. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Agnes #2 December 01, 2009

Excellent! Be careful with the preserved lemons you use because some of the saltier ones will make the dish too salty. Otherwise, the marinade is one of the best I've every tried.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MangoMel October 03, 2009

This was great, made it at a dinner party and everyone loved it. We made a risotto with the broth instead of couscous, which worked great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tasty_fish August 21, 2009

Delishioso!! I also doubled the sauce and am glad that I did. Served it with warm pita bread, greek olives, and sliced marinated onions with a drizzle of the sauce!! Rave reviews from dinner guests! And requests for more!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blondechef March 26, 2009
Moroccan Chicken With Preserved Lemons and Couscous