Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Chicken With Preserved Lemons and Couscous Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Chicken With Preserved Lemons and Couscous

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on April 10, 2014

      I had an over-abundance of lemons, so had preserved some earlier this year, but then looked for recipes where I could use these lemons. Marinating the chicken for several hours, made it very tasty and moist, and when I cooked them with the preserved lemons, I was surprised at how delicious this was! For the finicky daughter who doesn't like couscous, I'll probably use rice the next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2011

      Delicious! I simplified this by making chicken for 4 but sauce for 8. I left the chicken in the oven until the last minute and made the liquid for the couscous at the same time, cutting cooking time down to 20 mins. Also I cooked the onion, then added the set aside marinade and stock (I used 1.25 cups stock for 1 cup couscous) poured it over the couscous, fluffed it up with a fork and then stirred through the currants and the toasted almonds. The chicken came out of the over in its juices and went to the table like that - everyone served themselves and spooned the oven cooked sauce over the couscous. Yum! My only "complaint" is that I glanced at the cooking time a few hours before cooking and only realized when I went to cook that there are 3 hours not accounted for in the preparation time (the marination time). So I prepped and then cooked the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      I made this for family who were visiting us here in Italy - as I wanted to find something new that I hadn't cooked before. It was really delicious. I cut the chicken breasts into large thick pieces (the chicken breasts here are enormous) and then barbecued them, and barbecued the lemons with them. I left the currants out of the couscous because I don't like them - but it really was a memorable dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Excellent flavours! I would change a few things next time but still rated the recipe high as the flavour combinations were amazing. The couscous was the star of this dish so I think the recipe would be better described as Moroccan couscous with chicken. 1. I would skip the preseved lemons. They add little to the recipe for the cost/effort. 2. I soaked the currants in the chicken broth to moisten them up before adding to the couscous. 3. Like other reviewers, I would use bone-in chicken. Roasted boneless chicken breasts inevitably became too dry even with careful eye on them. 4. I made extra marinade to use for the final stages. Even though the recipe asks you boil the reserved marinade I felt it horribly violated basic food safety to marinade in which raw chicken had been soaking in overnight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2010

      Nice dish, withs lots of flavour. Think it probably would work better with chicken on the bone, though still very nice with chicken thigh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2010

      Absolutely delicious. My only variation was to use boned chicken thighs. This was the nicest moroccan recipe ever! Thanks for posting it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      Loved it!!! Great flavors. I used chicken legs instead and they worked out great, too. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      Excellent! Be careful with the preserved lemons you use because some of the saltier ones will make the dish too salty. Otherwise, the marinade is one of the best I've every tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      This was great, made it at a dinner party and everyone loved it. We made a risotto with the broth instead of couscous, which worked great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2009

      Delishioso!! I also doubled the sauce and am glad that I did. Served it with warm pita bread, greek olives, and sliced marinated onions with a drizzle of the sauce!! Rave reviews from dinner guests! And requests for more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      LOVE THIS RECIPE!!! I've made this for several occasions including my child's communion party. I get raves on it every time. All six of my children who range from ages 5 to 14 love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      I added 1/2 tsp of Ras El Hanout - Moroccan Spice Mix to the marinade. I used fresh parsley & cilantro in the sauce while cooking since I don't like it raw. I also substituted golden raisins for the currants. To cut down on steps I put everything into my pressure cooker except the couscous and cooked it for 10 minutes. I then removed the chicken & added the couscous. Very delicious & easy to make... Made for NA*ME Tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Delicious! Made as directed using preserved lemons from Moroccan Spiced Preserved Lemons. I didn't use the red chile only because I had a guest that I know doesn't like them -- and it was still fabulous. Thanks, Bluemoon Downunder! Made for N*A*M*E tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      I made this last night and it was supurb. I had to wait over a week until my preserved lemons were ready and I think they made all the difference. Wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      Delicious! I did use fresh lemons since I couldn't find preserved, but it was still excellent. I also used raisins instead of currents, an addition I usually make to couscous anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2007

      I am utterly gutted not to be able to give this 5 stars, but unfortunately my fiance didn't like it at all so I'm forced to demote it to 4. I am also utterly gutted he didn't like it because it'll make it more difficult to serve again in future and I LOVED this to death. It was so phenomenally tasty and full of amazing flavours -- I just can't say enough about it. I didn't have time to marinade at all so we had plain chicken but I made the marinade up to use for the couscous anyway and it worked fine. The chicken would have no doubt been better marinated, but eaten together with the couscous it didn't really matter so much. The only ingredients I missed out were the currents (neither of us are very fond of sweet and savoury together like that) and the coriander, because I didn't have any in. I used 3 chicken breasts and the full amount of everything else. I would say there were about 4 servings of couscous in all (enough for my lunch tomorrow then :o) ) rather than the 8 stated, but we eat well in our house. The only disappointment to me was the preserved lemons which just seemed a bit tart for me, but I have no doubt that this is my lemons at fault rather than the recipe. A fantastic dish - thanks v much for posting bluemoon! One way or another I'll find a way to have this again dammit! :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

      Excellent recipe- new, different way to cook chicken. Really enjoyed this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2005

      Died and gone to heaven with this one. I made 2 chicken breasts but enough marinade and couscous for 4 servings. Had I made enough for 8, we would have happily consumed that as well. I also had to extend the cooking time for the chicken another 10 minutes. The sweet-spicy balance was just perfect, with a nice bit of saltiness contributed by the preserved lemons. This was so amazingly good, I'd serve it to the Morrocan chef who runs the kitchen where I work. Dinner was an hour ago and my mouth is still dancing from all the wonderful flavors of the evening. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2005

      This recipe deserves a ten for flavor--but the proportions (as noted by other reviewers) are off. I used two chicken breasts but the full amount of marinade and stock--and it was barely enough. When I make this again, I will rework all the amounts so as to insure that the wonderful flavor of the couscous and sauce can be enjoyed in proper proportion to the meat. I also think the preserved lemons are vital to the flavor and without them--it's just cinnamon chicken

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2005

      I agree OUTSTANDING TASTE EXPLOSION!!! I made 4 breasts of chicken on the bone (best flavor!) and kept the rest of the recipe the same and did not change any of the amounts! I used dates instead of currants as I could not find any at the market. This dish's remarkable flavor is hinged on the preserved lemons (IMO) and I do not think it would it would do the recipe justice to use regular lemons. I used a heaping 1/4 teaspoon of Halaby Red Pepper... Perfect sweet to spice ratio - this is a 10 star winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Chicken With Preserved Lemons and Couscous

    Serving Size: 1 (225 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 312.3
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    20%
    Total Fat 7.2 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 76.8 mg
    25%
    Sodium 206.1 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 10.1 g
    40%
    Protein 30.5 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    preserved lemons

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes