50 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So delicious! I would change nothing, but I did use dried chick peas, 1/2 cup, and soaked them overnight, adding them at the same time with the chicken and they were cooked by the time chicken was cooked. Also, at the end of cooking time I added some couscous in the pot to absorb the lovely juices, resulting a tagine like dish. Very very good and simple as well and the whole meal in one pot.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare March 04, 2010

Fantastic!!! I removed the skin from the chicken, but otherwise followed the recipe. I normally don't like fruit with meat - loved this - and now am trying alot more recipes with fruit in them. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donners30 November 27, 2010

Absolutely Fabulous & I'm not even a huge fan of raisins.....
Great job as usual Kittencal
; )

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoxMD November 16, 2010

I didn't have raisins - only had honey dates on hand - and used that as a substitute and it still came out fantastic. Great combination of flavours!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Flippmami July 26, 2009

OH... MY... GAWD!!!! I love kittencal's recipes and knew this would come out well, but my gosh! Exceeded my expectations! So yummy!!! Halved the recipe and made it exactly and it was just fabulous! Thank you so much! Gonna make this again next week. Can't wait ! And the raisins and chickpeas were just the perfect amount!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WhipUpABatch April 25, 2015

Soooo easy, soooo good! Nothing more to say!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
oboeeee_11376221 April 15, 2015

Delicious recipe! My husband loved it and typically doesn't like exotic foods. Only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is the amount of chickpeas. I thought 1 1/2 cups was too much and overpowered the sauce. My recommendation is to decrease amount in half to a 3/4 cup of chickpeas. I would also add them into the broth a little sooner so they have a little more time to cook (10 minutes). Overall, a fantastic recipe that provides plenty of flavor and is easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
april.holdredge December 29, 2014

Very flavorful, but I did make a few changes so that I can use up the chickpea salad I had bought. So though the recipe is not true to form, it was still good. I did find that with a good pan, I did not have to add much oil to brown the chicken (it already had the fat from the skin). Great way to use up the chickpea and raisins I had lying around.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilorchid82 October 10, 2014

I have not cooked anything I don't like from Kittencal. She never disappoints! I loved this recipe, I have made it many times over the past few years. I tried it with boneless skinless chicken breast, it is not as good as the way she makes it. I also loved the raisins so much that I added more. Ha! Bad idea, it was just too sweet. Make it as she explains and it will come out perfect. Just make sure you season your meat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mscally4 September 17, 2014

Very tasty, simple and quick to prepare. All of the spices come together in an excellent sauce. Put some over the rice as well. I had no chick peas and didn't miss them! Also added some dried cranberry to the raisins. Top with toasted pecans or almonds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CIAone January 09, 2014
Moroccan Chicken Thighs With Chickpeas and Raisins