Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Chicken Thighs With Chickpeas and Raisins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Chicken Thighs With Chickpeas and Raisins

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2010

      So delicious! I would change nothing, but I did use dried chick peas, 1/2 cup, and soaked them overnight, adding them at the same time with the chicken and they were cooked by the time chicken was cooked. Also, at the end of cooking time I added some couscous in the pot to absorb the lovely juices, resulting a tagine like dish. Very very good and simple as well and the whole meal in one pot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Fantastic!!! I removed the skin from the chicken, but otherwise followed the recipe. I normally don't like fruit with meat - loved this - and now am trying alot more recipes with fruit in them. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Absolutely Fabulous & I'm not even a huge fan of raisins.....
      Great job as usual Kittencal
      ; )

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      I didn't have raisins - only had honey dates on hand - and used that as a substitute and it still came out fantastic. Great combination of flavours!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2014

      Very flavorful, but I did make a few changes so that I can use up the chickpea salad I had bought. So though the recipe is not true to form, it was still good. I did find that with a good pan, I did not have to add much oil to brown the chicken (it already had the fat from the skin). Great way to use up the chickpea and raisins I had lying around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2014

      I have not cooked anything I don't like from Kittencal. She never disappoints! I loved this recipe, I have made it many times over the past few years. I tried it with boneless skinless chicken breast, it is not as good as the way she makes it. I also loved the raisins so much that I added more. Ha! Bad idea, it was just too sweet. Make it as she explains and it will come out perfect. Just make sure you season your meat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Very tasty, simple and quick to prepare. All of the spices come together in an excellent sauce. Put some over the rice as well. I had no chick peas and didn't miss them! Also added some dried cranberry to the raisins. Top with toasted pecans or almonds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2013

      What a delightful recipe. I used boneless, skinless thighs, added eggplant and spinach and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice over the plates just before serving. I skinned and cubed the eggplant and tossed it in with the onions so it cooked down beautifully. I didn't have raisins on hand so I used dried cranberries and loved the tang they added plus they went very well with the spinach. I added the spinach at the very end after I had taken the pot off the heat so it was just wilted by the time we ate. Delicious over buttered basmati and even better the next day!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      This recipe is delicious! The whole family, kids included, absolutely loves it. But I skip the raisins and add extra chickpeas. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2012

      Wow, this was really great and it smelled fantastic while it was cooking. The only thing that didn't work so well for me was that the chicken skin stuck to the bottom of the pan so when I flipped the thighs over the skin all came off. Otherwise it was very easy and even my picky 7-year old said it was yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Oh my...this is so good. I normally do not like chickpeas nor raisin but decided to try this recipe. Absolutely delicious. Will keep this one on the regular rotation. I followed the recipe exactly except that I used boneless/skinless thighs since that is what I had on hand. Keeper recipe. Thanks Kitten.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      This was wonderful! I had only golden raisins so had to sub. Took skin off on half the thighs to see if it would make a difference (it didn't). My DH and friend were thrilled as well! I served it with a brown rice/mushroom/green peas combo. (Someone else had mentioned green peas and it sounded good which it was.) Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      I really liked this! I added frozen peas at the end to add some veggies, next time I think I will try spinach- But the peas weren't bad. The contrast between the peas and the raisins was unique- both were squishy- one was sweet, the other savory. I served it over brown jasmine rice. I will definitively make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2010

    • on April 21, 2010

      Great meal. I used a little less honey,and only about half of the broth (I thought it would be too soupy with 3 cups) but otherwise left it alone. I served it with an Indian style spinach, this complemented the dish perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2010

      This sauce is so yummy! I would probably use breasts next time or no chicken at all! I served it with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2010

      I thought this was wonderful! My family really enjoyed it and we'll definitely make it again. If you like food with a lot of flavor and aren't opposed to curry or cooking with raisins, give this one a shot! I used five boneless skinless thighs and it worked well. Simply for ease of serving (and eating for the kids), I sliced the thighs into strips and then halved the strips (in length) before returning the chicken to the sauce. I'll bet that the leftovers will be fab!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

    • on October 13, 2009

      Very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      This was so good - thank you Kittencal. I made this for the family at short notice & it came together beautifully. Sweet & exotic just fab! Cheers Catherine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Chicken Thighs With Chickpeas and Raisins

    Serving Size: 1 (820 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1331.2
     
    Calories from Fat 741
    55%
    Total Fat 82.3 g
    126%
    Saturated Fat 21.2 g
    106%
    Cholesterol 382.0 mg
    127%
    Sodium 1183.3 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.2 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 26.0 g
    104%
    Protein 88.7 g
    177%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes