12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We live out in farm country and we have no quality restaurants outside of the town steakhouse. The flavors of this dish are so unique compared with our typical American cooking I felt like I was eating at a fine-eating ethnic restaurant! (Okay...I don't get out too often.) Wonderful flavor!

My only problem was with the time in the crockpot. I work in town and spent 8 hours letting it simmer unchecked/unstirred. Even though I added twice the broth, the chicken was still dry and disintigrated into a texture similar to pulled pork. I recommend cooking this for the first time on a day where you'll be home to keep tabs. Still, I served it over the couscous and it was the best new recipe that I've made for a long while.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitterhill January 31, 2011

This was superb! I forgot the chicken broth so what I did instead is rough chop about 2 roma tomatoes and throw them in with a splash of water (since tomatoes are very traditional for these) and it was GREAT! I served with boxed cous cous and Naan bread. Got rave reviews from my boyfriend. Thank you for sharing it! I will be making it often!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kenzington November 20, 2010

I made this, froze it, then thawed and put it in the crockpot on high for 5 hours. At 3 hours I put in 4 thin sliced carrots, one sliced zucchini, and 1 diced green pepper. I served it over brown rice for a one dish meal and it was a hit! It's not too hot, just right!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rijaka October 06, 2011

Easy and tasty! I made mine in the crockpot and it worked great -- the spices are absolutely delicious. I did not use the oil and I used dried apricots instead of the other dried fruit suggested because that's what I had. I served mine over couscous. I didn't have any problems with dryness that others had. Will make again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SolightlyUK May 27, 2011

The best. I miss Moroccan food so much since I moved back from Chicago. Try it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
busy mom of boys February 06, 2011

Awesome! I did the crock pot method, and cooked it on low for about 5 hours. I started from frozen chicken breasts (5 oz. portions), and just cut them up (well, more like shredded them) at serving time. I put in 3/4 c. raisins and no prunes. I also added a 14.5 oz. can of diced tomatoes that I "sort of" drained (I drained them a little, but probably not enough to make much difference). Oh, I also deleted the olive oil (and didn't miss it), I used 1/4 tsp. cinnamon, and I didn't have the steak seasoning, so I used some "fire spice chili seasoning" that we got from Breckenridge. This had great flavors, and I will definitely make it again! I served it over toasted and cooked quinoa (Quinoa-Toasted), and I made broccoli too. Thanks for posting it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 December 08, 2010

This was wonderful! I accidently put in 1 tablespoon instead of 1 teaspoon of turmeric, but it turned out great. The raisins and prunes make it fantastic. I recommend thigh meat for even more flavor...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mabwocky August 08, 2009

Little on the hot side for the average person but we were used to it. I added a shredded zuccini and added a little more broth so I'd have more to put on my couscous. You couldn't even taste the zuccini so it doesn't alter the taste at all yet adds a vegie to the meal. Great addition to my cookbook.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stephbaker2004 July 27, 2009

This recipe was super yummy! I always throw this in the crock pot before I go to bed around 8am. The only modification I make is I never put the prunes or raisins in because my DH doesn't like those fruits.(Wow the more I write about this, the more I realize my DH is super picky, lol!) My DH always gobbles this down when I make it. I serve it over rice because my DH isn't a couscous fan, but either way it's good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaceySingh February 09, 2012

This was very good! I used the crockpot version. I didn't have coriander or prunes. I left out the oil, dumped everything in the crock and used dried apricots instead of prunes. I served this over wild rice. I love the smoked paprika... this reminds me I need to start using it more often! Made for I Recommend Zaar Tag Game 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty August 20, 2010
Moroccan Chicken: Made on Stove Top, Crock-Pot or Tagine