20 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wonderful flavor and the aroma while it's cooking is mouth watering. Another good one Dorothy I used my spice mill and whirled all the spices to gether. Browned the chicken with the onion & garlic and let it cook until just about cooked covered then as the recipes said added the spices, broth, carrots, raisins but held off on the zuke. When I added the cornstartch I put in the zuke and added 1/2 cup frozen peas, Excellent meal in one

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy August 30, 2002

My goodness, my goodness!! I accidentally stumbled onto this little jewel and am very glad. Mighty good flavor. I used my mortar and pestle to grind the fennel and the aroma immediately had me entranced. This dish had so many wonderful flavors combined and they all were enhancing to the overall dish. I served the chicken and sauce over couscous for a very exotic and healthy meal. Thanks for posting.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gail Blue Eyes April 15, 2003

I am, to the fullest, a beginner cook, and this is only the second or third meal I've made not out of a box or the freezer. Quite good, and my entire family enjoyed it heartily. Next time I make this, and there will be a next time, I'll add more raisins and up the bounty on the cumin, cinnamon, and cayenne. I could smell them, but couldn't taste them as much as I might have liked. I also, personally, substituted garlic powder in place of two cloves of garlic as I'm not a big fan of garlic but didn't want to remove the taste altogether, and it worked well.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blindside March 29, 2003

Excellent dish! Very quick and easy .. I let it simmer slowly and the chicken was very tender .. I love it!! thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
najwa November 17, 2003

A definite keeper! Very quick & easy to make. Didn't have the fennel seeds (next time) and only had cranrasins but the dish was still excellent. Server it over wild rice and the flavor while cooking was very nice. Will definitely make this again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ken Lynch May 04, 2003

I wanted to love this... it got such great reviews from everyone else. But it was only okay and I won't be making it again. It smells divine while cooking but the chicken just didn't seem to pick up enough of the flavor. The chicken seemed dry to me too. Between the onion, chicken and garlic there seemed to be too much liquid for the chicken to brown up properly. Maybe I should have used a larger pan but everything seemed to fit in fine. I don't know what the explanation is. Nobody in my family really cared for this. I am thinking of just using the spices as a rub on some baked chicken so see what happens. BTW... I made the recipe as directed except that I put in one small green zucchini and one small yellow. I also omitted the raisins, not being a fan of them. But that's it. Apparently my family likes lots of zing because these flavors were just too subtle and watered down to make an impression. Sorry. :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GSCook August 10, 2009

We liked this recipe a lot. We added ckick peas along with the veggies, and will probably add peas as well next time. It could probably could use another zucchini as well. I was a little hesitant using the corn starch - - I was afraid it would get a little too thick, But it was actually a great addition.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ex-NYU 2L September 09, 2008

Made for a nice summer dinner - and a good intro to cooking moroccan food. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MechanicalJen July 07, 2008

The entire family liked this dish, even those that like a lot of meat, or don't like veggies, or raisins. Easy to make, I doubled the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donna.mcgroarty September 02, 2007
Moroccan Chicken and Veggie Skillet