13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If I could give this more than 5 STARS for presentation, I would ~ When this dish of ribboned carrots is finished it looks OUTSTANDING! Being the raisin person that I am, I added more! HOWEVER, another time I'd like to use dried cranberries instead of the raisins, just to see who it'd taste ~ or half cranberries & half golden raisins for the yellow, orange & red colors! Anyway, thanks for posting this very nice recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike May 14, 2007

Great recipe! I added almonds and frshly grated ginger!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
battlen3333 January 22, 2010

Vibrant and delicious. I used rainbow carrots and cut them into ribbons which made a gorgeous presentation. I didn't have orange juice, but did soak the raisins (golden) in the lemon juice while I was prepping everything else. The hardest part was letting it sit -- looking tempting -- for an hour, but it was better after the flavors had time to meld.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PioneerValleyGirl July 22, 2009

I liked this a lot. It took coaxing but even DS ate a bite and liked it. I used the minimum of olive oil and may cut it down even less. This is a great and interesting way to get some veggies into your diet.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MollyJ March 15, 2009

A delicious rendition of carrot salad. Since my golden raisins were rather fresh and plump I was able to skip the first step and proceed from there. Decided to follow your suggestion and made the curls. Not only are the pretty they maximized the surface and let the carrots fully absorb the spices and citrus. My cinnamon and ginger were recently purchased in the spice markets of old Fez which only added to the nostalgic feelings evoked for me. I thought a touch of cumin would have been a welcome addition and given the salad a little contrast to the sweetness. Thank you for a wonderful lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni July 30, 2008

This is very tasty, I would definately say to squeeze out any excess moisture in the shredded carrots which is what I did to avoid a watery salad, next time think I will finely chop instead of grate the carrots even with removing the excess moisture it was still a little watery, the flavor is wonderful, I omitted the raisins as I did not have any, thanks for sharing Engrossed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencalskitchen March 08, 2008

This was very good. The orange soaked raisins is a must. The salad was made as suggested using my vegetable peeler. The carrot ribbons make a very attractive side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG February 14, 2008

Delicious salad! I followed the recipe as written, even used the orange juice to soak the raisins. All the flavours went well together and they didn't overpower each other. Thank you Engrossed for a healthy salad

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer September 27, 2007

Delicious, healthy and easy to make! I really liked this dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goodag June 16, 2007

A very pleasant salad. Just missing a little something--I added some garlic and a tiny bit of miniscule dice of jalepeno. Tasted very good and looked gorgeous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate May 17, 2007
Moroccan Carrot Salad