Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moroccan Beet Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moroccan Beet Salad

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on July 28, 2010

      I promised myself that this year I would prepare fresh beets -- not from a can. I know beets are not the most popular veggie, but I just love them. First it was canned harvard beets as a child, then canned pickled beets as I grew older. They are fabulous in a salad, and provide so much color. Soooooooo, last week fresh beets were on sale, and I decided to take the plunge. For this foray into unchartered waters, I picked chia's recipe, and I really enjoyed making a recipe with fresh beets. Easy peasy! The cumin flavor is not too strong, but provides a nice subtle reminder that these are not your typical beets from a can.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Wonderful! My first time preparing fresh beets--and man, what a hit! I could just munch on these babies all day. What a treat. Thanks for such a winning recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This salad is DELICIOUS. I normally eat beets with salt, vinegar and olive oil. This is a wonderful vaiation and I only make beet salad this way now. Thanks for sharing, Chia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      a simple way to show off good produce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      This was absolutely DELICIOUS!!! So easy to make, and it's definitely going to become a standard recipe in my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Delighted with this recipe. I had never ventured to cook fresh beets before. Cooked in my pressure cooker, cooled, cut up and added the recipe ingredients. Chilled in the fridge and gets better as each day passes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Excellent and easy!! The cumin adds a great flavor. You might want to use golden beets. They have the same taste, but without all the RED.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      I only used the first four ingredients and it came out delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Delish! Terrific way to get healthy beets into our diets!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      Delicious salad! My husband also loved it. I added a 14 oz. can of madarian oranges, drained, and had to use garlic powder as I just used up my last fresh garlic. Wonderful taste, pretty color, definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      This was really good. Beets are in season at our local farmer's market now, so we are always looking for different ways to make them as we buy some every weekend. We were hungry as soon as these were made, so we didn't let them sit before eating, but the flavors were still good. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2008

      Delicious!!! My husbands family is Moroccan and they were a big success. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      absolutely killer. i gave my aunt a bowl of these to try thinking she would have a bite or two and put the bowl down (she had already eaten dinner). she devoured the entire dish while exclaiming the entire time, "my god! my god! these are delicious! my god!". she had never eaten that many beets in one sitting and nearly ran unnecessarily to the emergency room the next day (you know what i mean) but after the scare passed and we had a good laugh over it she is requesting them again already. personally, i can't get enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Easy, delicious. I chose to roast my beets instead of boiling them, but it is essentially the same thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2005

      Delicious beets. I used the recipzaar script to cut the recipe in half (happened to have 3 beets in the house). I'm always looking for a non-sweet beet salad recipe. This one was very tasty and easy to prepare. I would add a dash of salt next time to meld the lemon and cumin flavors a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2004

      yummy salad! I liked the touch of cumin. Careful with the lemon juice. The one I used was especially juicy and the salad was a bit to tart. I suggest starting with the juice of half the lemon and adjusting to taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moroccan Beet Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (74 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.9
     
    Calories from Fat 83
    76%
    Total Fat 9.2 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 1.2 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 42.3 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes