11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious breakfast! I used papaya instead of the apple because I can't eat apples, and skipped the sweetener because the papaya was already very sweet. Thanks for posting! Made for When it's hot / When it's not tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany July 14, 2010

I'm trying to like brown rice and I had some leftover. Increased brown sugar to 1Tbsp, used a granny smith, increased raisins to 1/2C and created a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pdxrose September 14, 2009

The taste of brown rice (which I don't quite like) couldn't be masked, even when I added extra honey and raisins. I'm sorry, but I really didn't like this very much, even though it did serve its purpose of providing me energy before my competition. Maybe flavoured yoghurt will help? :/

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vintagenovelty December 01, 2007

This is very nice! I used chopped dates instead of raisins and a little applesauce with the yogurt to add more moisture. A great breakfast that keeps you satisfied all morning. Thanks! ZWT III

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MA HIKER June 12, 2007

This was very good! Added a few more raisins (I love raisins), and a little sugar (after tasting of course). I will be taking this to work for breakfast quite often I think!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iewe June 10, 2007

This is a great way to use up leftover brown rice and add fiber to your diet. I used nonfat vanilla yogurt and omitted the extra sugar or sweetener. My granny smith apple was tart, but it was a nice contrast to the creamy rice and sweet raisins. Very quick and easy and a nice way to dress up plain old yogurt for breakfast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms B. February 04, 2006

After reading reviews, I sub. plain yogurt for vanilla! It was very tastey! The crunchy apples really work!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP October 19, 2005

Since all I had was fat free plain and I know it has some bite (and taking into consideration mermaidmagic's review) I added about 3 tsp. of splenda before I even tasted it. And then I decided to add about 1 more tsp. I also used 1/2 raisins and half dried sweetened cranberries. I thought this was very good. A little drier then I think I would like. I might add more yogurt next time. But a good fast healthy breakfast. Thanks Paula!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladypit April 03, 2005

I took previous suggestions and made this with a small container of fat free Boston Cream Pie flavored yogurt. It sounded the sweetest and most decadent. I loved the result. I tasted it last night after mixing it up with dried cranberries and wasn't too impressed, but when I ate it for breakfast this morning the mixture had magically turned into a homogenous delight. This is great, Paula, and a nice change for breakfast or a great energy-boosting snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea December 28, 2004

I made this with vanilla yogurt, brown sugar and added some slivered almonds. It made a very pleasant change for breakfast. Next time I want to see how I like it with maple syrup. I'll probably add this to my weekly rotation & have it once or twice a week.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
echo echo December 11, 2004
Morning Rice