Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Morning Glory Muffins...for the Gym Obsessed Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Morning Glory Muffins...for the Gym Obsessed

    Average Rating:

    23 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 23

    Sort by:

    • on February 05, 2009

      hehe! I had to laugh as the description for this muffin fits me to a "T". These are very good -- moist! I am impressed! I love the fact that there is absolutely no butter/oil/margarine in these!!! Since I felt like making them extra holy, I omitted the sugar and used 1/2 cup Splenda, which was just the right sweetness. I also omitted the raisins for personal preference. Oh yes, and I didn't line these with paper; I sprayed the tins. I have noticed in muffin recipes with low fat content that the muffins stick quite a bit to the paper. Thank you, leeners!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2011

      What a great recipe! I really liked the use of apples and bananas in place of the butter or oil. I made the recipe into a quick bread instead, using a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan and baking it for about 50-60 minutes at 325 degree Fahrenheit. The bread turned out deliciously moist and went great with fat-free cream cheese! Thanks so much for sharing a healthy, tasty recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      I am exercise obsessed, and I was surprised at the white flour and white sugar in this recipe. I apologize but I tweaked it by replacing 1/2 cup of white flour with whole wheat flour, and 1/2 cup of white flour with oat bran. I also replaced half of the sugar with Splenda. For future use, I might replace raisins with dates; and I think that nuts would be a good addition, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      I had to come back and edit my review since these were so good and got better as they sat. I added baking powder and used only one apple so I added 3/4 cup of applesauce. I used the white whole wheat flour and by accident left out the eggs and I never even noticed; they were so moist. These are better then my MIL's fattening ones which she sells in her cafe but sshhh... don't tell!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2012

      This muffin recipe turned out great! I just finished eating one after a five minute cooling time and it was perfect. I followed the recipe exactly, except I added an additional 6 tablespoons of flour for high altitude and reduced the sugar by a 1/4 cup; I figured between the bananas, apples, carrots, and raisins we wouldn't miss it. I know some reviewers tried to make it "healthier," but this recipe is fine just the way it is. I don't recommend using Splenda in this recipe, especially if you are using good produce and I used the white whole wheat flour. My yield was 17 muffins, but I think filled my muffin tins a little too full. I will be making this recipe again, it makes a nice change from oatmeal in the mornings or as a pre-run snack. Thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      Pretty healthy and taste good. My changes: using 3 bananas and 1 apple instead of 2 bananas and 2 apples, adding 1/4 cup of macadamia nut, reducing sugar to 1/2 cup 3tbsp packed brown sugar. Reducing sugar make the cake less sweet and go perfect with honey or jam. I will try this recipe with whole wheat flour next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      Yummy!!! The banana made these encredibly moist! Instead of the raisins I added a medley of dried fruit such as mango, cranberries, and pineapple. I will definately be making these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      These muffins are AMAZING!!!!!! I made 3 different kinds of muffins yesterday and these blew the others out of the water. I omitted the raisins and I used Rome apples. These muffins are beyond moist and just truly delicious...thank you! I am going to make them in a loaf pan as a dessert for Thanksgiving.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2013

      These are so good. I've made them many, many times, sometimes putting in a few blueberries or cranberries for a change. They are always moist and delicious. My bf loves them as well and when asked which type of muffin he would like he usually mentions these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      Yummm! These are really good! I used a dozen baby carrots and one Fuji apple. Used only 2 eggs (on accident!), 3 small bananas, half brown sugar and the other white, and also split the raisins with dried cranberries. Very good and moist, thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Wonderful! I did not have fresh apples so I used 1/2 cup of applesauce instead and added dehydrated pears and apples. I also used golden raisins. I am not gym obsessed so I used 1tbl of canola oil. It worked great with the modifications. Don't be afraid to add what you have on hand. Cook time was right on the mark!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Delicious muffins. Versatile, and they still tasted great. I used half white and half ww, and chopped apples and these were wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      I made a lot of adjustments for what I had on hand but they still came out really good I used 3 frozen bananas, 1.5 apples, and a handful of baby carrots (just whatever i had left, was shy of 2 cups for sure). I skipped the vanilla and raisins. and used 1/2 cup applesauce + 2tb fat free milk in place of 2 of the eggs. I also blended the carrots and bananas with the applesauce milk and eggs into a puree. Left the apples as chunks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      The idea of using mashed banana instead of oil is so amzing! The muffins are moist, delicious, with hidden flavor of carrots, and apples (I finely grated the carrots, but left the apples chunky, bitting into them was fun!) I reduced the amount of sugar, cause bananas and apples are sweet already :) One downside, the smell of bananas is quite strong. (to me only, others didn't notice)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      OK, I'm not gym obsessed, but these are great. Anything that tastes this good with vegetables and 3 types of fruit deserves 5 stars. Some changes were I used 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup lightly packed brown sugar. One large apple diced plus 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce. One heaping TBSP of wheat bran to compensate for the all white flour I was afraid adding wheat flour would make these to heavy. I also added a tsp baking powder. I left the bananas and apple chunky, so we could have bits or warm fruit throughout. Wonderfull...15 month old DS ate a whole one and asked for more. Thanks so much for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I must say, I was rather hesitant at first - the carrots threw me off! However, these muffins really are exceptionally moist and delicious! I substituted the raisins for chocolate chips and added a dash of nutmeg, and they were even more amazing, as well as being less nutritious. Thanks for a fantastic recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      These are awesome muffins. I used half white and half whole wheat flour, cut the sugar to 1/2 cup and added black walnuts. I took the advice of another post and added some baking powder. Perfect. I'll make these over and over. Thanks leeners82!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2008

      I wanted to find a recipe to use up some fruit I had and boy am I glad I found this. Just got done eating one while it was hot. Tastes too good to be healthy. Great way to use up what you have on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      i halved this recipe and i got 9 not 10 muffins. it was a bit too sweet for me so next time i will cut the sugar down by half. other than that ive had it straight from the oven and it was very tasty and moist and i had one a little later and it seemed to taste even better. it retained its moistness unlike other healthy muffin recipes that seem to dry out quite easily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      FABULOUS..leeners. I used Splenda in place of the whitesugar and they still were perfect. The only thing I"ll do different next time is not put them in paperliners as they stuck. Or maybe just spray the liners..duh!!!Anyway, these are definitely a 5 star muffin and I'm keeping these under SAVED!! Love the fact of them being lowcal/lowfat. Thanks for the recipe leeners!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Morning Glory Muffins...for the Gym Obsessed

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.8
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    50%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 27.9 mg
    9%
    Sodium 175.5 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 16.1 g
    64%
    Protein 2.6 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites