Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / More Crunch for Your Munch Chinese Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    More Crunch for Your Munch Chinese Salad

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 02, 2011

      This was different and very yummy! However I liked it MUCH better after sitting in the dressing overnight in the fridge. Right after tossing together I really wasn't impressed. You really can't stop eating it. It might qualify as a problem lol

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      Made this twice and really enjoyed it. I did a few modifications to suit my personal taste. I added a can of drained mandarin orange slices and some diced chicken breast. The original recipe had just a little too much oil for me, so I cut it in half and added 1/2 cup of the orange juice from the can. I used the broiler method for the nuts and noodles to keep the fat down ,and I used the honey option. It was delicious with out the added fat! It's a keeper, I will make it again. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Made twice first time exactly per the recipe but found the sesame seed kept sticking in my teeth so reduced them by half the second time. I liked the dressing which was very nice and light in flavor. Will make this recipe often but leave the sesame seeds out altogether as they were a problem for my teeth. I almost forgot to mention that the second time I grilled some chicken and added that diced to the salad to serve as a main dish. Thank you for a lovely salad. Made for KK's Chefs Pick event.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2010

      Once you make this salad you just cannot stop eating it, it is that good1 I did add in a small minced garlic clove to the dressing, about 1 teaspoon if that, I used chopped cashews in place of the almonds as that is all I had, thanks for this great recipe Shar!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      This was a great lunch! I love the addition of sesame seeds to the noodles, it gave the salad a wonderful flavor. Unfortunately, I was out of almonds, but I'm sure they would add even more depth. I used less than 1 tablespoon of butter, to cut the amount of fat, and the noodles toasted up nicely. I was able to toss this together in under 20 minutes, even grating the carrots by hand, so I guess it depends on how quickly your noodles cool. The dressing was a tad sweet for me, next time I may cut the sugar in half, just for personal preference. Still, it was delicious! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2008

      Yum! Just what i was craving. Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      10 stars! This recipe is very similar to another recipe that I've been making for some time now, and which I found here on 'Zaar. But this recipe was just different enough to pique my curiosity. i also had a bag of tri-color coleslaw mix I needed to use. My bf wasn't home to try this, but I made it for my dinner. Although I expect this makes an excellent side salad, I chose to eat it by itself. Regarding the other chinese salad I've made from 'Zaar, I usually add grilled chicken strips from the store, or marinated chicken (in teriyaki) which I bake and cut into strips using a teriyaki sauce I also found on 'Zaar. Along with the chicken I add a can of drained mandarin orange segments. However, because I chose this recipe for PRMR, I wanted to stick to the recipe as much as possible, so I made as directed and didn't add anything extra to it. I halved the recipe, used 8oz of tri-color coleslaw mix, added some additional grated carrot (1 medium carrot), and used Smart Balance with Flaxseed Oil spread for the butter. I halved all the salad ingreds except I only had slivered almonds instead of sliced. I used just under 1/4 cup sesame seed (personal preference). Technically, my sesame seed was already toasted and the sunflower nuts were also salted and roasted, but I toasted them in the pan anyway. I decided due to being low on dressing ingreds, to cut the dressing amts down to 1/4 of the amount. I used extra-virgin olive oil as that was the only kind of olive oil I had. My soy sauce was low-sodium. I used a pinch of salt and a dash of pepper and I used the white sugar option. This was very, very good! The only down side? My jaw muscles hurt from all the yummy crunchiness! I love this salad though, everything tastes great together. Thanks for sharing Sharon123! :D Made for Please Review My Recipe Tag Game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2007

      This is a very tasty salad. I was scepticle about frying dry noodles but the result, alongside the seeds and almonds was very flavourful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      We loved this salad. The crunch of the ramen noodles along with the sesame seeds, sliced almonds and sunflower seeds was just perfect. I had a small napa cabbage so I adjusted the noodles, seeds and almonds to what I thought would work. Made all of the dressing and have 3/4 of it left. Dressing is very good. I used the honey option and decreased the butter to about 3-4 tablespoons, which worked for me. It took me longer than 20 minutes also to make this, especially with the cooling time. We will be making this again for sure. Thanks Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for More Crunch for Your Munch Chinese Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (155 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 761.1
     
    Calories from Fat 557
    73%
    Total Fat 61.9 g
    95%
    Saturated Fat 13.2 g
    66%
    Cholesterol 20.3 mg
    6%
    Sodium 712.0 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 47.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 4.1 g
    16%
    Sugars 23.9 g
    95%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    napa cabbage

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes