Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moosewood's Butternut Squash Soup With Sage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moosewood's Butternut Squash Soup With Sage

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2008

      I really enjoy Moosewood recipes and this was no exception. I added 1 tsp of ginger and cut out the olive oil. I used veggue stock excellent flavor. Unfortuneately I had no fresh sage but added a pinch of dried to the soup . I had frozen roasted garlic cloves so used them. Thanks Tish for posting this recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2008

      I didn't read the recipe well enough to notice to put the onions and garlic in with the butternut squash to roast. Oops. So I had to saute the onions and garlic afterwards with the spices (not a bad side effect). I used beef broth (just what I had) and it seemed fine. I thought the dish had plenty of flavor but the texture was a little off for me. It just didn't have the creaminess of other butternut squash soups I've had. I ended up adding about 1/2 cup of whole milk at the end to try to get some smoothness and richness and served it with a bit of sour cream and cilantro on top. Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      I loved this recipe. Have tried a few squash soup recipes and this one is really good and quite easy. I used chicken stock instead of apple juice or vegetable broth. I also added about 3/4 cup of applesauce for a little hint of sweetness. This soup is great topped with parmesan or bacon bits. Thanks Tish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2003

      This is an excellent soup. I made it last year for Thanksgiving and am planning to make it again this year. It's not hard to make. It'd be a great soup to warm up with on any crisp autumn day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Delicious- the fresh sage added so much to the soup!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Very yummy! Great texture. I think that roasting the squash, onions and garlic really deepens the flavor. I used my homemade chicken stock. Very easy and quick to mix together once the roasting is done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Loved the flavor of this soup. Easy to roast and then put together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Very tasty and great texture, I added 1 tsp. of minced ginger and that added a nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2008

      I love this recipe. I added apple pieces when roasting the squash, and cream at the end. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2007

      This soup was just OK. I thought it needed a little more flavor. My husband did not like it, but my toddler liked it. Go figure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2007

      Delicious. I added ginger for a little spice, but found the apple juice too sweet. I would use vegetable stock next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      Lovely. I used chicken stock instead of vegetable, but i made no other changes, it didnt need any. We had it as a mid week october dinner along with some cheese and bread, but it would make a nice first course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2005

      I wanted to add this recipe to zaar this morning, but it's already here... The soup is lovely and I in particular like the sizzled sage on top. The sage looks good and works well with the squash. I usually add a little bit of milk or cream, since I don't like my soups too thick.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moosewood's Butternut Squash Soup With Sage

    Serving Size: 1 (639 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 413.1
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    35%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 623.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.5 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 28.6 g
    114%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh sage leaves

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites