13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have made this soup for years but i add beef broth and a little more sherry or white wine and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. My family loves it.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MacShawn Farrell November 24, 2003

Sorry to say- that although it was very easy to prepare and has a lot of potential, I found this soup to be very bland. I added alot of salt, pepper, and some garlic powder. The sherry lends a nice flavour a great fragrance so try not to leave it out. With added seasonings, this is a nice and easy soup. Thanks..

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl October 22, 2003

This soup is delicious. I made it with mushroom stock, and added celery and thyme based on other reviews. I also added some thinly sliced swiss chard at the end. It is so flavorful, I will make this again and again. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amelia md April 27, 2013

I have made this recipe dozens of times and sometimes in really huge batches. To perk up the flavor - make a finely chopped mixture of Italian parsley, season with lemon juice, sea salt & some really good olive oil. Garnish the soup with this & have guests stir it in.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marilyn_345178 September 19, 2012

Delicious! Doubled the recipe using beef/chicken/veg stock. Also used reviewer's suggestion using 3 different mushrooms and added the celery, thyme and cream. Perfect for the -4 degree weather here in CT

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryann denobrega January 29, 2010

Excellent... my daughter and I both enjoyed it. I followed the recipe exactly using veggie stock b/c DD is vegetarian but, next time, I think I'll try beef stock. I used 1/3 baby bellas, 1/3 shitake, and 1/3 white button mushrooms. This is definitely a repeat recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna December 30, 2008

Excellent! I used olive oil in place of butter, 1/2 shitake and 1/2 crimini mushrooms, and added 1 bunch of spinach. I will certainly make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
move2themusic September 20, 2008

YUM!!! I made this last night. I used half broth and half water, added 1 stalk of celery, diced, and added about 1 teaspoon of dried thyme. It would have been a bit bland for me otherwise. I had pre-cooked barley in the freezer so I used that and the soup came together in no time. It was more like 4 servings, not 6. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dicentra November 07, 2006

Sorry we found this very bland

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. September 16, 2013

Have made this soup for years. Use a mic of shrooms and add carrot and celery. Family loves it-always delic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mberam February 23, 2013
Moosewood Mushroom Barley Soup!