Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moosewood Mushroom Barley Soup! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moosewood Mushroom Barley Soup!

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2003

      I have made this soup for years but i add beef broth and a little more sherry or white wine and 1/2 cup of heavy cream. My family loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      Sorry to say- that although it was very easy to prepare and has a lot of potential, I found this soup to be very bland. I added alot of salt, pepper, and some garlic powder. The sherry lends a nice flavour a great fragrance so try not to leave it out. With added seasonings, this is a nice and easy soup. Thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2013

      This soup is delicious. I made it with mushroom stock, and added celery and thyme based on other reviews. I also added some thinly sliced swiss chard at the end. It is so flavorful, I will make this again and again. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2012

      I have made this recipe dozens of times and sometimes in really huge batches. To perk up the flavor - make a finely chopped mixture of Italian parsley, season with lemon juice, sea salt & some really good olive oil. Garnish the soup with this & have guests stir it in.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      Delicious! Doubled the recipe using beef/chicken/veg stock. Also used reviewer's suggestion using 3 different mushrooms and added the celery, thyme and cream. Perfect for the -4 degree weather here in CT

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Excellent... my daughter and I both enjoyed it. I followed the recipe exactly using veggie stock b/c DD is vegetarian but, next time, I think I'll try beef stock. I used 1/3 baby bellas, 1/3 shitake, and 1/3 white button mushrooms. This is definitely a repeat recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2008

      Excellent! I used olive oil in place of butter, 1/2 shitake and 1/2 crimini mushrooms, and added 1 bunch of spinach. I will certainly make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2006

      YUM!!! I made this last night. I used half broth and half water, added 1 stalk of celery, diced, and added about 1 teaspoon of dried thyme. It would have been a bit bland for me otherwise. I had pre-cooked barley in the freezer so I used that and the soup came together in no time. It was more like 4 servings, not 6. Good stuff. Thanks for sharing. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2013

      Sorry we found this very bland

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      Have made this soup for years. Use a mic of shrooms and add carrot and celery. Family loves it-always delic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2012

      My family just loves the soup. I have made it for years and even when the kids were little they loved it. I never use broth - just water. Paired with a salad or sandwiches it is a great dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      This soup rocks!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      Easy and yummy too! I made half a recipe and it was just right! Much enjoyed with a few Ritz crackers. Thanks! Made for the IRON CHEF game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moosewood Mushroom Barley Soup!

    Serving Size: 1 (146 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 151.9
     
    Calories from Fat 56
    37%
    Total Fat 6.2 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 754.2 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 5.3 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes