26 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We love this recipe. We use light ricotta, dried basil & tasty cheddar cheese instead of the mozzarella. We think the filling would also be great in other vegies, such as capsicum or tomato - We'll give it a go some time. Update: We have since made this a few times & have included spinach & also swapped it around, stuffing red capsicum (bell pepper) with mushrooms in the ricotta mix. Originally 4 stars, now 5! :D Thanks for sharing, Tish.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt February 16, 2009

Excellent easy recipe that is quite filling. I used thai basil, homemade ricotta and a green bell pepper but it still looked pretty good. Tastes delicious too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Missy Wombat January 12, 2005

I've made this a quite a few times now. So easy to make and so yummy!! My roommate request them often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frankieblackeye September 30, 2014

This is a great meatless main dish. I wanted something different from the ubiquitous balsamic-marinated portobellos, and this was perfect. We had them on a bed of cooked spinach with some crusty bread and a little bit of tomato sauce. I plan to make them again, but with some green chiles in the filling and a little tomatillo sauce next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zeldaz October 29, 2013

Absolutely delicious! I was in a rush so didn't measure out the ingredients exactly how they are AND IT STILL CAME OUT GREAT. All the dinner guests complemented this recipe. I told them where to find it. Thanks for posting. :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elglance August 12, 2013

Could not find ricotta cheese - so used cottage cheese instead. Very tasty and easy. I did omit red peppers because my other dish used them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ty's Kitchen January 20, 2013

These are really good! I was afraid to add much salt because I thought it would get plenty of salt from the cheeses but I was wrong, in the end it definitely needed more salt. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLBoyle April 27, 2012

Followed as written and was impressed at how easy -and delicious- these turned out to be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B's Hive September 22, 2011

I am so mad at myself for waiting so long to try this recipe! It was 95 outside, so lined a pan with non-stick foil and grilled these on indirect heat (rather than turn my oven on to heat up the house). They were perfect! Even my SIL, who usually does not like mushrooms, ate two! THAT is the ultimate compliment.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Viclynn July 18, 2011

We made these for dinner tonight. They were good, but we weren't "WOW"ed by them. Maybe next time I will used a blend of Italian seasonings instead of just basil. Or serve them with marinara sauce. I just couldn't get over the feeling that they could have been so much more. I will have fun playing with this recipe. Thanks for a great starting point!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom June 16, 2011
Moosewood Italian Stuffed Portabellas