14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a great recipe - the chopping and prep is worth it. As written, the recipe is mild - if you want more flavor, add more mustard or soy. We especially loved the biscuit topping.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
likestocooklovestoeat January 08, 2008

Mmmm...really delicious. Mine had had a lot more gravy compared to the photo. My only change was to add fresh green beans. I may add another cup of mushrooms next time. Loved the biscuit topping. This meal even please my meat loving husband. I made the filling a couple days before assembling and think I would do that again, just to let the flavors develop. Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview October 03, 2013

Wonderful recipe!!!!! My new favorite.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arthriticjoe December 23, 2012

Oh my goodness my family loved this recipe. It is delicious. I did leave out the thyme and marjoram and varied the veggies to what I had on hand. This is easy to make too. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada May 28, 2012

Another great recipe from Moosewood. I used the veg I had on hand: golden beets, broccoli, potatoes, carrots, green garbanzos, and cauliflower along with the onions and mushrooms. I ended up needing to add salt at the table. I was dubious about the mustard, but added it anyway. Glad I did. I used the rosemary ground into the biscuits, which was a wonderful flavor touch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alvinakatz March 15, 2012

Ohhh yum! So good and versatile too. I used potatoes, kabocha squash, green beans, and carrots as my veggies in the same amounts as the listed ones. For the biscuits I added the 1 tsp of dill into the batter and then sprinkled even more on top. Lovely comfort food. Thanks for posting, charlened [Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
averybird November 06, 2011

This is comfort food at its best, and we're so glad to have this recipe. When I make it, I use 16 oz. baby bella mushrooms, omit the parsnip (they're not available here often), and instead of green peas and corn, I use a 1-lb. bag of frozen mixed veggies. I also use a vegetarian chicken broth for the stock, and cut back on the salt. Then for the biscuit topping, I use rosemary right in the dough instead of the dill, like some other reviewers. Thanks for posting this wonderful family-pleasing recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama February 01, 2011

I make this a few times and love throwing in extra veggies. I exclude the mushrooms (husband's request) and add another vegetable into the mix. Yesterday, I used brussel sprouts. I also use vanilla yogurt in the biscuit and add the dill right into the mixture rather than sprinkling it in on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wonderwomyn November 26, 2010

I thought this was just ok and it was very labour intensive. I wasn't a fan of the biscuit.. but my husband liked it. I liked the veggie part of it especially with all the baby bella mushrooms I added.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommymakeit4u April 07, 2009

Excellent! Made this for Christmas dinner... the only change was to add a cup of fresh green beans cut into bite-size pieces when I added the potatoes/carrots/parsnips. Great flavor and very filling. The biscuit topping was great... and I added the dill to the biscuit mix, rather than sprinkling on top, as suggested by one reviewer. I used baby 'bellas (one 8oz pkg = 4 cups). We'd never had parsnips before but enjoyed them. Only thing I might change/do differently next time is add a cup or so of broccoli florets... I love my green veggies, don't you know! A lot of prep work but I recruited help. I may try a half- or quarter-recipe just for myself. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe, CharleneD!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Impera_Magna December 25, 2008
Moosewood Homespun Pot Pie