Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moosewood Homespun Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moosewood Homespun Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 08, 2008

      This was a great recipe - the chopping and prep is worth it. As written, the recipe is mild - if you want more flavor, add more mustard or soy. We especially loved the biscuit topping.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      Mmmm...really delicious. Mine had had a lot more gravy compared to the photo. My only change was to add fresh green beans. I may add another cup of mushrooms next time. Loved the biscuit topping. This meal even please my meat loving husband. I made the filling a couple days before assembling and think I would do that again, just to let the flavors develop. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2012

      Wonderful recipe!!!!! My new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      Oh my goodness my family loved this recipe. It is delicious. I did leave out the thyme and marjoram and varied the veggies to what I had on hand. This is easy to make too. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2012

      Another great recipe from Moosewood. I used the veg I had on hand: golden beets, broccoli, potatoes, carrots, green garbanzos, and cauliflower along with the onions and mushrooms. I ended up needing to add salt at the table. I was dubious about the mustard, but added it anyway. Glad I did. I used the rosemary ground into the biscuits, which was a wonderful flavor touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2011

      Ohhh yum! So good and versatile too. I used potatoes, kabocha squash, green beans, and carrots as my veggies in the same amounts as the listed ones. For the biscuits I added the 1 tsp of dill into the batter and then sprinkled even more on top. Lovely comfort food. Thanks for posting, charlened [Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This is comfort food at its best, and we're so glad to have this recipe. When I make it, I use 16 oz. baby bella mushrooms, omit the parsnip (they're not available here often), and instead of green peas and corn, I use a 1-lb. bag of frozen mixed veggies. I also use a vegetarian chicken broth for the stock, and cut back on the salt. Then for the biscuit topping, I use rosemary right in the dough instead of the dill, like some other reviewers. Thanks for posting this wonderful family-pleasing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2010

      I make this a few times and love throwing in extra veggies. I exclude the mushrooms (husband's request) and add another vegetable into the mix. Yesterday, I used brussel sprouts. I also use vanilla yogurt in the biscuit and add the dill right into the mixture rather than sprinkling it in on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2009

      I thought this was just ok and it was very labour intensive. I wasn't a fan of the biscuit.. but my husband liked it. I liked the veggie part of it especially with all the baby bella mushrooms I added.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      Excellent! Made this for Christmas dinner... the only change was to add a cup of fresh green beans cut into bite-size pieces when I added the potatoes/carrots/parsnips. Great flavor and very filling. The biscuit topping was great... and I added the dill to the biscuit mix, rather than sprinkling on top, as suggested by one reviewer. I used baby 'bellas (one 8oz pkg = 4 cups). We'd never had parsnips before but enjoyed them. Only thing I might change/do differently next time is add a cup or so of broccoli florets... I love my green veggies, don't you know! A lot of prep work but I recruited help. I may try a half- or quarter-recipe just for myself. Thanks for posting such a wonderful recipe, CharleneD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2007

      Excellent! I used frozen mixed veggies (corn, carrots, peas, green beans), plus mushrooms, onion, garlic, and potatoes. I also added a block of cubed tofu for protein. The biscuit topping is delicious. I used half whole wheat flour and extra virgin olive oil instead of butter. This was popular with the whole family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      Can I give this 10 stars? We LOVED it. We thought it was a bit more like a stew with built in biscuits which was great with us. I added the optional parsnips, and I only had 2 cups of sliced button mushrooms so I added 1 1/2 cups sliced portabella mushrooms which gave it a flavor almost like beef stew!! YUMMY! I also used chicken stock instead of water, and topped the biscuits with rosemary rather than dill (we don't care for dill) it was done baking in around 28 minutes. Positively stellar! I can't say enough! It was a bit of time to make on a work night, we had dinner at around 7:30pm (we usually eat by 5 or 6 pm) but well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Thanks! Had this for dinner tonight. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2007

      My husband's favorite winter casserole!! Easy to make, filling, hearty, and keeps well. My only change is that I mix the dried dill into the buttermilk topping batter at the end; I don't sprinkle it on top. And preheating the oven should be number 3 or so--start it when the potatoes are cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moosewood Homespun Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (570 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 488.8
     
    Calories from Fat 139
    28%
    Total Fat 15.4 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 8.0 g
    40%
    Cholesterol 32.1 mg
    10%
    Sodium 1442.2 mg
    60%
    Total Carbohydrate 78.0 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 7.8 g
    31%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites