Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mood Beef (Portuguese Beef Stew) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mood Beef (Portuguese Beef Stew)

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2011

      This is very similar to a recipe my mom used to make. Flavors were great and just spicy enough for us. Flavors blended nicely. My DH and I both loved it. Served in large bowls over whole potatoes cooked in with the meat, this was comfort to the max!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

      Delicious with a wonderful zing ! spicy and garlicy , loved it!! I left out the pasta and served it over a baked potato. It turned cold here today and this stew really hit the spot! Lovely combination of flavours. I cut the recipe in half and it was still a lot for two people. Thanks for postig a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      We loved it! I made it in my slow cooker and I used beef broth instead of plain water;came out perfect! This is a one pot meal that I will make again. I made this for WT5; thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2014

      One more thing... as in everything in life, there are several ways in which to make this dish. Pasta is not one of the authentic ways. Traditional and authentic Portuguese cooking doesn't call for pasta in our dishes. Close to Italy, but not close enough. This is a stew dish, and goes very well with a crusty Portuguese roll on the side. It's mainly slow-stewed beef chunks, potato chunks, Portuguese oil and spices, onion, and maybe some red kidney or white beans. Favas also go well in this stew, but don't add too many, as they are large beans and expand when cooked. A woman I know also adds some tomato chunks and Portuguese green olives. Nice touch. The trick to this stew is to cook it in a very slow pot on top of the stove, not in the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      A easy recipe for a complete meal (as long as you remember to start early). After browning the beef, I had more beef juice than oil left, so I had to restart with more oil to be able to caramelize the peppers and onions. The flavor overall is bland for our taste, so I added a little more garlic, parsley, and black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2008

      Yum, ommited the pasta, served in a bowl with a mound of mashed potatoes topped with garlic sauteed green beans!! So yummy! Served the remaining beef over noodles, double yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      Such a nice hearty dish!!! It was a cool, rainy day here in FL (even though it was June) and this really hit the spot!! The flavors marry well and it's a cinch to put together!! Thanks Vicki!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2006

      Wanted a meal in one pot that would take care of itself once I put the ingredients together. This fit the bill and tasted great, pleasing everybody.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mood Beef (Portuguese Beef Stew)

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.7
     
    Calories from Fat 88
    41%
    Total Fat 9.8 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 626.0 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.9 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.8 g
    35%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    beef round steak

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites