Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Moo Goo Gai Pan Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Moo Goo Gai Pan

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on September 13, 2011

      We loved this recipe! I have never had moo goo gai pan, so I can't speak to it's authenticity, but this was delicious. DH said it reminded him of the food he ate in Hong Kong when he was there for work. I did add a little garlic chile paste for some heat and a drizzle of sesame oil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This recipe is perfect. I minced the ginger and garlic, fried it crisp, removed it and then added it back in with the vegetables. I also added bok choy. No more take-out for me.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2007

      O.M.G. -- this was wonderful. Amazing. Even the leftovers were wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      This is a very easy recipe to make ~ the hardest part is chopping up the veggies :) The taste is very flavorful ~ much like you would find at a Chinese restaurant. I made the recipe as posted except I left out the bamboo shoots and water chestnuts because I forgot to buy them. The next time I make this, I won't forget, LOL! Thank you for posting a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      Whoohoo, I was impressed by my own cooking. Did I really have made such a fabulous Moo Goo Gai Pan? Yes, I did! I'm not frequently cooking using a wok, but this one is foolproofed. I loved all the different flavours and textures. To flavour the oil with ginger and garlic is great, the flavour in the air is mouthwatering and it gives a decent taste to the dish. By the way: after I removed the ginger and garlic I nibbled up the browned ginger, delicious. When you put the chicken into the wok (you can use a large skillet or pot, too) make sure that the chicken in the wok is not too crowded. If your wok is too small cook the chicken in batches. I've cooked the chicken for 4 minutes and they were slightly browned (as I like it). I've cut the snow peas to have smaller pieces, but next time I would leave them as they are (for the look). Snow peas have such a delicate sweet taste. It would be possible to add them only for a few minutes to the end of cooking time. I also cut the water chesnuts into halfes. But I followed exactly the description and it works perfectly. The outcome was unbelievable. I'm always surprised to see that you can put some simple ingredients together and you will get some of the most delicate dishes. Cooking can be so easy and yet so tasty. This recipe will highlight this fact. The chicken was great, not dry, not overcooked, just as I like it. The veggies accompanied the chicken with all their different flavours and textures. Each mouthful was different. It was the first time I have had water chestnuts and they are great, firm and with a fresh slightly sweet taste. I've put the leftover into the freezer, thawed them today and reheat them. Yes, it was great. So, I think this dish is not only suited for a dinner for two, but also for guests. Everyone will be impressed. Moo Goo Gai Pan = button mushrooms with chicken and (vegetable) slices can be made with other veggies, but this combination here is not only absolute delicious, it is moreover so colourful. I loved this dish and recommend that you try it soon, too. Try it and you will love it. And if you would like to impress (trick) someone, this Moo Goo Gai Pan is prooven and tested. Thanks Chef Mommie for sharing this fantastic recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2006

      This was so simple and delicious. I followed the recipe except I added some salt & pepper to the chicken before frying it and I didn't have bamboo shoots. This tastly exactly as I hoped it would, and of course tastier and more economical than takeout. The broccoli and carrots make it colorful and healthful. The cornstarch gives that nice creamy sauce that is just like in a chinese restaurant. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      My sis was coming over for supper and I asked her what part of the world she wanted the food from. She said Chinese and I found this recipe right away. Never made anything Chinese before but this turned out absolutely awsome. My sis said it's the best home cooked chinese she's ever had. :) the fried ice cream I found on here didn't turn out quite right though but I'll try it again sometime

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Didn't use a wok but it turned out delicious anyways. thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2006

      Very good, my husband kept mmm'ing during dinner and saying "we dont have to go to the Chineese restaurant anymore!" Thanks its a keeper~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Poultry Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Moo Goo Gai Pan

    Serving Size: 1 (303 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.0
     
    Calories from Fat 268
    53%
    Total Fat 29.8 g
    45%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 72.3 mg
    24%
    Sodium 223.6 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.4 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.2 g
    20%
    Sugars 9.0 g
    36%
    Protein 30.5 g
    61%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites