Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Montreal Bagels Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Montreal Bagels

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on September 23, 2002

      WOW!!! Excellent recipe. Good taste, good texture. I need to practice shaping them. I thought a tbls. of beaten eggs sounded silly so I put in a whole egg. Maybe a touch more salt would be good. I think 24 would be better than 12--a bit too big. These will be a regular in our house. Gord27

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2002

      Good, easy recipe, and an adventure into something new for me. I added cinnamon and raisins too. It took closer to 2 hours to make them. I might double it next time to make it even more worthwhile.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      These are delicious, but I have to admit that I have made a few changes to the recipe. (1) Instead of using the malt and white sugar, I replaced the white sugar with brown sugar. I didn't have any malt, so the molasses in the sugar gave the bagels a richer flavor (2) Before I boiled the bagels I broiled them for about 40 seconds on each side, this made them shiny and easier to pick up off of the tray. (3) Instead of using honey in the water I used real maple syrup. It's what I had on hand, and it's what my friend's parents always used. With these changes, they had the taste and texture of the bagels at my favorite bakery in Montreal! Thanks so much for posting this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      Excellent! I put all the ingredients in teh bread machine on the dough setting. They turned out great, everyone ate them up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      I also added a couple of tablespoons of lt. brown sugar to the dough and mixed/kneaded it in my KitchenAid stand mixer for about 10 min. at medium-low speed. I chose to do a variety of toppings: poppy seeds, sesame seeds and "everything" (sesame seeds, poppy seeds, onion and garlic flakes. They all were excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2013

      These are great bagels. I used brown sugar instead of white and omitted the malt. I also used 1.5 tsp salt. These turned out fluffy and soft on the inside - very much like the Dempster's bagels I usually buy at the grocery store.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2013

      Excellent recipe! Thanks for sharing this, they turned out beautiful. I followed one reviewer's advice and used brown sugar instead of white, omitting the malt. Also, used a whole egg. I broiled them for 1 min each side before poaching and this definitely helped them keep their shape while transferring. The taste is very much a Montreal bagel. Now I just have to learn how to make my own cream cheese!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2012

      These bagels came out delicious! I was just making them for two people, so I halved the recipe and all the proportions were perfect. However, I ended up flipping the bagels over at the 10 minute mark, but took them out of the oven completely at 14 minutes because they were about to burn. At 14 mins, they still came out delicious and extremely gooey (but cooked) on the inside. I think 20 mins might be too long, depending on your oven. Yum! Also, thanks to the reviewer who suggested using maple syrup instead of honey in the boiling water-- made them taste so legit! Overall a great and easy recipe to follow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      I had to make a few adaptions. I didn't have enough flour so I ended up with oatmeal bagels. I also left out the salt. Though I am sure they might taste better with it, I typically leave it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      EXCELLENT! This was my second attempt at making bagels (1rst time did not go well with other recipe). This recipe is the best. Very easy and tasty. I did not have regular syrup so I substituted with maple syrup. Will no longer buy bagels. I will make my own from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2010

      First of all, I live on a farm in Israel far away from any city. I used to buy bagels at a buck a shot to spoil the kids for special occasions.
      Since I've been making these great renditions, everyone is happy and we have hot fresh bagels every Saturday morning.
      I have made a few changes to the recipe.
      I no longer measure the flour (I buy bread flour) rather just add flour to my kitchenaid until it is no longer sticky. After several problems with the risen bagels sticking to the parchment paper, I've started dusting it with flour - problem solved.
      Also, I add sugar to the boiling water and not honey. Believe me, the results are great!! I've also started to sprinkle Atlantic Coarse salt on the bagels in addition to the sesame seeds (brown organic)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Excellent recipe. I have tried a few bagel recipes and so far this is the best. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2009

      Made them with a couple of friends in France. They were so good. We made cranberry orange, poppy seed, plain, and cinnamon apple. I had to substitute honey for the malt but they were great anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      Once dough balls have rested, the bagel shape can be formed. Using your fingers, poke a hole through the center of each dough ball. Stretch out the dough into a ring with your fingers and be sure to make the hole a little larger than you want the finished bagel to have, as it will shrink slightly while the bagel is expanding during the baking process.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      everybody asked..."Who brought bagels from Montreal?" Pretty good review. They really do taste like montreal bagels

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This was my first go at making bagels...and even eating them! I thought these were great so I'll definitely make them again.The 1 tsp salt is needed - I forgot to put it in and I think it could have needed it. I also cut down on the sugar. Thanks, for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Yet another INCREDIBLE recipe I've found on Recipe Zaar! I love the idea of turning bagels halfway through baking. It truly makes for a crisp crust while inside is still chewy. I have always had problems with getting consistent results when using regular yeast so I used instant, mixed it with 3 1/2 cups of flour & dry ingredients, then added liquids and remaining flour. Loved the results. Doubt I'll ever buy bagels at a bagel shop again. Thanks Lennie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      These are wonderful! Mine stuck to the parchment paper when cooking, cause I didn't put seeds on both sides. If making them plain, maybe a little dusting of cornmeal on the paper first. I had to use a Tbls. of molasses cause I didn't have the malt. Here's a tip. If you ever buy those great flat crackers with all the seeds on them, there are always a bunch left over in the package when the crackers are gone. Put those in a little jar for your bagels.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      I won't even bother looking at another bagel recipe, it doesn't get any better than this! I made a batch of whole wheat and a batch using plain white bread flour, loved them both for what they were. I made some with just poppy seed, some with just sesame seed and more than a couple with a combination of the two. All worked out beautifully. I used Horlicks malt drink powder, but next time will try barley malt just to see the difference. Comments from friends included. "best bagels ever made", "omg, that's a good bagel" and "wow, those were awesome".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Montreal Bagels

    Serving Size: 1 (6944 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 292.3
     
    Calories from Fat 59
    20%
    Total Fat 6.6 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 4.5 mg
    1%
    Sodium 217.1 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 52.2 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 14.4 g
    57%
    Protein 6.4 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes