Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monterey Chicken Rolls Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monterey Chicken Rolls

    Average Rating:

    143 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 143

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2009

      Even with having to change this to meet what I had in the house, I'm still giving it five stars because I can see how it would be great as written as well. Here's what I did differently: cheddar instead of Monterey Jack, butter instead of margarine, whole wheat cracker crumbs instead of bread crumbs. I also read suzy wonton's review where she added Canadian bacon, so I diced some bacon and put it on top of the cheese before rolling the chicken. With the low carbs and high protein, but such rich taste, this one is definitely a keeper for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      I used store bought thin sliced chicken fillets pounded slightly. I was afraid the cooking time may be too long because I only had 6 fillets, but it turned out perfect and so moist! The only problem I had was a lot of the cheese oozed out. I think next time I will use provolone, it doesn’t melt as quick. Yummy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      So simple and so good! Moist and cheesy. I love this and make it all the time! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      This was very good! Instead of pounding the chicken breasts to make them flat, I butterflied them giving me a nice flat chicken filet. I took the advice of another reviewer and dipped the chicken in the butter sauce first, then bread crumb mixture, add the cheese, and then roll up the chicken. I also added toothpicks to both ends of the chicken roll to secure the rolls and to make sure the cheese didn't run out. I placed the chicken rolls in a buttered casserole dish and baked them for 45 minutes uncovered. Perfect! I served it with some steamed baby Yukon gold potatoes and a salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      I made this for my family but I changed it a little. I used goat cheese in place of the monterey. Oh man did that taste good. Great recipie and very very easy to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      Oh my! Another incredible recipe. I used potato flakes for the breadcrumbs since my dh is gluten intolerant. I also used Provolone (what I had) instead of the monterey jack, and this chicken is just so wonderful. This will be a regular for my household. THANK YOU! 2nd review - I made it per recipe this time and it wasn't as good. You MUST use salted butter, not unsalted butter and coat the entire chicken breast with butter & crumbs before rolling cheese inside. Preparing and refrigerating for 30 min to 24 hrs also helps in marinating so flavors are infused. Oh, and I like the Provolone better than the Mont. Jack cheese. Stronger flavor. Thanks again for this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2005

      This was good. I really liked it because it was easy to put together. It was nice because I didn't have to brown the chicken rolls in a fry pan first. The chicken came out very juicy. This would be nice to make for company because you could put it together earlier in the day and just bake it off when you need it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2005

      This recipe is a keeper. I went to make this for dinner tonight and I thought I had 6 chicken breasts, but I only had 3. So I also used 4 boneless pork loin chops with this recipe. They were not bad, but not as good as the chicken. The chicken was so tender and juicy, I was so pleasantly surprised. It had fabulous flavor. I cooked it exactly as written. I am thinking about trying it with mozzarella cheese and serving it with marinara sauce over pasta for another twist.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2004

      I made this recipe using 4 chicken breasts; scaling the ingredients in half. I didn't have any parsley so I used 1/2 teaspoon of mexican oregano in the butter sauce. After pre-heating my oven and baking covered, as directed, and then uncovered for 15 minutes, the chicken was not browned and did not look done. I'm always nervous about undercooked chicken, so at that point I checked the internal temperature of the chicken with my meat thermometer and it was 150°. I left it in the oven an additional 10 minutes until it reached an internal temperature of 170° and was a nice golden brown on the outside. The chicken was very delicious, nicely seasoned and still moist. I will definitely be making this again as my family really enjoyed it. I am sorry I cannot echo all the 5 star reviews because I really like this recipe. My concern is that the cooking time given in the recipe is inadequate and combined with your statement in the intro "Just be sure not to overcook as the chicken will be dry - follow these directions and the chicken will be moist." could be confusing for inexperienced cooks. Chicken breasts should always be cooked to an internal temperature of 170° to avoid dangerous foodborne bacteria. I felt it was important to note this because the total cooking time of 45 minutes was not long enough to assure the chicken was completely done.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      Okay, I'm going to start off by telling you that my father is one of the pickiest eaters in the whole world. He doesn't like anything! But...he loved this :) In fact, he called this "resteraut food", and that if I could I should give this a 10 star rating, lol. The only thing that I added to this was shaved honey ham that I pinwheeled through the chicken; it just added a nice saltiness to it. Other then that I kept everything that same, and come to think abut it, it didn't really even need the ham. This dish would be wonderful either way. Thank you very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2014

      This was a total hit! My husband is a hard sell on food. He has spent twenty-five years travelling the globe and experiencing cuisine. Until I made this, I've never been able to "awe" him. Truly, a recipe we will use often. I can't wait to share it with family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2013

      Really good, as all these reviews say. The family love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      I had organic boneless breasts from Costco to use & read all the great reviews so I picked this recipe to use them on. The only changes I made were to cut down to 2 servings & to use fresh garlic with the melted butter & to roll them in Panko crumbs then put the cheese in & roll. Took the foil off for the 15 minutes & raised the temp. to 375 to brown. Came out perfect, juicy & tasty...will be making this in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      I made it for Mothers Day 2009! it was great and my kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      Easy and tasty recipe. I followed as instructed and it turned out great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2012

      I didn't think this recipe would be that good! It's so simple to make! I used cheddar and mozzarella. It was awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

      Fantastic! I used pepper jack string cheese. It was awesome. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2011

    • on February 15, 2011

      This was really delicious. I cut the recipe to do only 2 breasts. The cheese did melt out onto the pan for the most part in the last 10 minutes of cooking. Not sure what I did wrong there!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      Oh my goodness....this is so good. I made this for our supper tonight and we loved it. The breading on the chicken was super yummy and how can you beat chicken stuffed with cheese?? Thank you so much for a meal my family ALL loved.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monterey Chicken Rolls

    Serving Size: 1 (188 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 455.5
     
    Calories from Fat 250
    54%
    Total Fat 27.8 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 11.0 g
    55%
    Cholesterol 113.3 mg
    37%
    Sodium 721.1 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 39.1 g
    78%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes