Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monterey Chicken II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monterey Chicken II

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on April 13, 2003

      Thanks Normaone for reviewing Monterey Chicken and also for mentioning that I omited mushrooms in the Ingredients. The ingredients should include 8 large mushrooms, chopped. Another reviewer also mentioned that she added 1 green and 1 red pepper, chopped which added color to the recipe. Thanks again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2003

      OHH Ellie...I've made this dish several times since I had put the request in..and we ALL love it..like I said, adding the chopped green & red peppers just makes it perfect! THIS recipe has become one of our favs! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2004

      AWESOME!!! Thanks so much...but mushrooms need to be in the ingredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2003

      Great recipe!! One of the best I've tried in awhile. I also added the bell peppers and mushrooms and sauteed with the onions and garlic. I had to cook it closer to 20-30 minutes but I could have made the chicken thinner and it would have cooked faster. Thanks for sharing, we will definately be having this again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      ellie2, this is a great recipe. We enjoyed it immensely! Another keeper for us. I cooked 3 chicken breasts but made a full recipe of the sauce and it worked out awesome. Using Jaida's suggestion, I added 1/2 red and 1/2 green pepper to pan and sauteed with the onions, garlic and thinly sliced baby portabellas. It added great flavor as well as color. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Tweeky.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Oops! Sorry for the repost, Ellie! I am making this wonderful recipe for dinner.....again! It's always a winner and my son wants a walk through in making it so he can make it whenever he wants! Now that's a compliment! Thanks.....again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2009

      Really enjoyed this recipe. Did it as written (used both wine & broth) and it came out perfectly for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2008

      I really shouldn't give any stars because I changed this, but I must say that I thought this was really good. I had a leftover avocado and wanted to use it in a hot dish. I made the avocado mixture as directed, but I made changes in the rest of the preparation. I reduced the serving size to 3-4 servings. Instead of whole breasts I used two large breasts and cubed them before flouring and browning them. Next I boiled two white potatoes, cubed them and spread them over the bottom of the casserole dish. I put the browned cubed chicken on top of the potatoes and then put the avocado mixture on top and baked as directed. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2005

      This dish tasted really good, however I only gave it three stars because of the appearance. My roommates dubbed it "zombie flesh" because the combination of the brown gravy with the green avocado and orangy cheese gave it a really eerie look to it. It's still worth making, just don't serve it to anyone particularly picky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      I was so surprised that my extremely fussy husband enjoyed this! He claims to hate avocado, so I made this and of course did not tell him it was in the recipe. I used tasty cheddar cheese and served with rice as Shiraz and others have done and we both loved this. Thanks Ellie - I will be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2005

      We loved this recipe! It was a very pretty dish, and flavorful enough that it was good over plain white rice. I will definitely make this one again! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2005

      Using chicken cutlets, I followed this recipe exactly - using the all chicken broth method. It was out of this world delicious served over basmati rice. The flavor was so rich. I wouldn't make this often because of the fat content, but will definitely save this for a special occasion. We really enjoyed this dish and are looking forward to the next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2004

      This was excellent. Made as directed. I used the white wine also. Wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2004

      I LOVED this!! It made me love chicken again. It wass so rich and flavorful! I ued all chicken broth and it was so yummy! Next time I will have to try the bell peppers. Thank you SO much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monterey Chicken II

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.6
     
    Calories from Fat 256
    67%
    Total Fat 28.5 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 13.8 g
    69%
    Cholesterol 95.7 mg
    31%
    Sodium 292.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.2 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    celery salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites