14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thanks Normaone for reviewing Monterey Chicken and also for mentioning that I omited mushrooms in the Ingredients. The ingredients should include 8 large mushrooms, chopped. Another reviewer also mentioned that she added 1 green and 1 red pepper, chopped which added color to the recipe. Thanks again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ April 13, 2003

OHH Ellie...I've made this dish several times since I had put the request in..and we ALL love it..like I said, adding the chopped green & red peppers just makes it perfect! THIS recipe has become one of our favs! Thanks so much for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mNotHere September 22, 2003

AWESOME!!! Thanks so much...but mushrooms need to be in the ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaOne January 29, 2004

Great recipe!! One of the best I've tried in awhile. I also added the bell peppers and mushrooms and sauteed with the onions and garlic. I had to cook it closer to 20-30 minutes but I could have made the chicken thinner and it would have cooked faster. Thanks for sharing, we will definately be having this again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iluvmythomas December 08, 2003

ellie2, this is a great recipe. We enjoyed it immensely! Another keeper for us. I cooked 3 chicken breasts but made a full recipe of the sauce and it worked out awesome. Using Jaida's suggestion, I added 1/2 red and 1/2 green pepper to pan and sauteed with the onions, garlic and thinly sliced baby portabellas. It added great flavor as well as color. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, Tweeky.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tweeky October 28, 2003

Oops! Sorry for the repost, Ellie! I am making this wonderful recipe for dinner.....again! It's always a winner and my son wants a walk through in making it so he can make it whenever he wants! Now that's a compliment! Thanks.....again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Normaone February 17, 2013

Really enjoyed this recipe. Did it as written (used both wine & broth) and it came out perfectly for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mustang Sally 54269 March 01, 2009

I really shouldn't give any stars because I changed this, but I must say that I thought this was really good. I had a leftover avocado and wanted to use it in a hot dish. I made the avocado mixture as directed, but I made changes in the rest of the preparation. I reduced the serving size to 3-4 servings. Instead of whole breasts I used two large breasts and cubed them before flouring and browning them. Next I boiled two white potatoes, cubed them and spread them over the bottom of the casserole dish. I put the browned cubed chicken on top of the potatoes and then put the avocado mixture on top and baked as directed. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara portee March 10, 2008

This dish tasted really good, however I only gave it three stars because of the appearance. My roommates dubbed it "zombie flesh" because the combination of the brown gravy with the green avocado and orangy cheese gave it a really eerie look to it. It's still worth making, just don't serve it to anyone particularly picky.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Menguin May 17, 2005

I was so surprised that my extremely fussy husband enjoyed this! He claims to hate avocado, so I made this and of course did not tell him it was in the recipe. I used tasty cheddar cheese and served with rice as Shiraz and others have done and we both loved this. Thanks Ellie - I will be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Melissa~ April 06, 2005
Monterey Chicken II