8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have had this sandwich before at a local restraunt, that is now out of business...So I cannot get them any longer, but now I can make them! A variation on the sandwich I have had is that it didn't have turkey on it, and they gave you pancake syrup to dip it in! MMMMMMMM, very yummy sandwich, everyone should try it at least once!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ThatJodiGirl January 09, 2002

I won't rate since I made changes, but I wanted to say how tasty it is. I was out of cheese so I just spread on some cream cheese. I was afraid my kids would make a mess of the jam so I spread that on as well. Like I said, I changed it enough that I hate to rate it, but followed otherwise and would rate it 4.5 starts for an easy comfort-food type sandwich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TryingTraditional March 03, 2009

Same recipe I've been using for years, except I use fewer eggies. :-) Have never tried it with jam OR syrup, will have to do that the next time. I'm sure the "sweet" will appeal to my darling children!!! Can also be made using other "heavy duty" breads for a yummy taste-change.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debber March 13, 2007

This is great !! Just as good as the ones I used to get at CoCo's. I fixed for DH who had never had one, and he was skeptical about the preserves, so I just reached over and put some on his sammie, he had no choice, and he loved it. He says 5stars for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Peg629 December 11, 2005

Ok- this isn't really a Monte Cristo but it is still very good. More of a ham, turkey and cheese french toast sandwich but I liked it! I used grape jelly cause that is what I had.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pot Scrubber June 30, 2005

This is an excellent Monte Cristo recipe; no strange ingredients or procedures - it's the real thing! We enjoyed it with real maple syrup instead of raspberry jam and it was very good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmejulie December 26, 2004

Barb, her sister Coleen, and I go to brunch every Sunday except holidays like Mother's Day. Too many big families with ill-mannered, screaming kids! So I make brunch on those days. This year, I made these Monte Cristos and they were a big hit. Served with lots of fresh fruit. Used soy milk and Egg Beaters for health reasons. This is a really great light brunch dish. Barb and Coleen said they are looking forward to next holiday, hoping to get these sandwiches again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clifford Boren May 09, 2004

I made these sandwiches one morning when my daughters were off school and it was a nice change for brunch. I adjusted the recipe to make 3 sandwiches, used chicken instead of turkey, and used low-fat slices of cheese...Also, since my family enjoys ketchup, I served that along with the raspberry preserves. I'm sure I'll serve this again some morning....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SilentCricket August 15, 2002
Monte Cristo Sandwiches