45 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

A friend just asked me how to make a Monte Cristo, and I said I have a great baked recipe. I looked this up and realized I never reviewed it. I did pass the recipe on to her with a link and hope she makes it. It was delicious.

So my review. I love challah bread for this. Whole wheat for me, just doesn't work well. I loved the mustard, I used a a honey mustard which was really good. And definitely the jam. The raspberry jam is key and powdered sugar. That makes the dish. I used a roasted turkey and baked ham from the deli, so good meats really play an important roll. And I used baby swiss, it is just so sweet and mild.

Turned out perfect and wouldn't change a thing. I lined mine baking sheet with parchment and nothing stuck. It was easy and wonderful. I cut mine in quarters and served it family style with a big salad with dried fruit and a citrus dressing and a creamy potato/leek soup for dinner.

thx for a great classic!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SarasotaCook September 17, 2011

Delicious! Baking the Monte Cristo instead of frying was great, it came out golden brown and crisp on the outside. I made the honey dijon by combining honey and mustard.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EB212 August 14, 2011

I made this today and it was my first time eating a Monte Cristo. It was very good. I didn't have any raspberry preserves, so I dipped it in boysenberry syrup. I don't normally like sweet/savory combinations or things like bacon dipped in syrup, but it was very good. Will definitely make again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Sierra** January 11, 2011

This was my first time having a monte cristo sandwich and it was great!! Also it was so simple and delicious. DH loved it and said we have to have it again soon. Thank you for posting such a great recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GF BooBoo February 24, 2012

Great sandwich. Loved this but would not pour the remaining egg mixture onto the pan, as it burned. Only put it on the sandwich itself. It was crispy on the outside and soft inside. I only had strawberry jam so used that. Loved this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound June 13, 2010

Very good, but quite messy. I used whole wheat bread REALLY drenched it in egg. Stuffed it a with more cheese than I should have, but it tasted SO good! Thanks for this recipe, its so much easier than all the other with that frying mess to deal with.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anme January 31, 2007

these made a great lunch! better than the local diner, who fries them i think. i skipped on the sugar and jam, these were just perfect without them.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chia February 21, 2004

Thanks, Rita, for this wonderful recipe! I'm caring for my father who has cancer - he has no appetite and nothing appeals to him. This was different, comforting, and really hit the spot for dinner. I cut the recipe to 1/3 since there are just the two of us with no problem - made two delicious sandwiches. I'll be making this often and enjoying it every time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Candy C February 13, 2013

I recently tried this type of sandwich at a small town restaurant and really enjoyed it! and this recipe meet my expectations! Whoever came up with the idea of confectioners sugar and raspberry preserves on a regular turkey sandwich is a genius! This has to be my favorite sandwich! I will be making this again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse August 26, 2009

The flavors were all there, but the technique was somehow lacking. This recipe is just not designed for oven preparation. The batter glued my sandwiches to the baking sheet, and although I did get them off, it detracted from the presentation and I don't believe cut down that much fat as opposed to the simplicity of frying. Next time I may use this recipe but I'll just go with the old griddle.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mystere2e March 30, 2009
Monte Cristo Sandwich