Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monte Cristo Sandwich Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monte Cristo Sandwich

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2011

      A friend just asked me how to make a Monte Cristo, and I said I have a great baked recipe. I looked this up and realized I never reviewed it. I did pass the recipe on to her with a link and hope she makes it. It was delicious.

      So my review. I love challah bread for this. Whole wheat for me, just doesn't work well. I loved the mustard, I used a a honey mustard which was really good. And definitely the jam. The raspberry jam is key and powdered sugar. That makes the dish. I used a roasted turkey and baked ham from the deli, so good meats really play an important roll. And I used baby swiss, it is just so sweet and mild.

      Turned out perfect and wouldn't change a thing. I lined mine baking sheet with parchment and nothing stuck. It was easy and wonderful. I cut mine in quarters and served it family style with a big salad with dried fruit and a citrus dressing and a creamy potato/leek soup for dinner.

      thx for a great classic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      Delicious! Baking the Monte Cristo instead of frying was great, it came out golden brown and crisp on the outside. I made the honey dijon by combining honey and mustard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      I made this today and it was my first time eating a Monte Cristo. It was very good. I didn't have any raspberry preserves, so I dipped it in boysenberry syrup. I don't normally like sweet/savory combinations or things like bacon dipped in syrup, but it was very good. Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2004

      these made a great lunch! better than the local diner, who fries them i think. i skipped on the sugar and jam, these were just perfect without them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2013

      Thanks, Rita, for this wonderful recipe! I'm caring for my father who has cancer - he has no appetite and nothing appeals to him. This was different, comforting, and really hit the spot for dinner. I cut the recipe to 1/3 since there are just the two of us with no problem - made two delicious sandwiches. I'll be making this often and enjoying it every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      This was my first time having a monte cristo sandwich and it was great!! Also it was so simple and delicious. DH loved it and said we have to have it again soon. Thank you for posting such a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Great sandwich. Loved this but would not pour the remaining egg mixture onto the pan, as it burned. Only put it on the sandwich itself. It was crispy on the outside and soft inside. I only had strawberry jam so used that. Loved this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      I recently tried this type of sandwich at a small town restaurant and really enjoyed it! and this recipe meet my expectations! Whoever came up with the idea of confectioners sugar and raspberry preserves on a regular turkey sandwich is a genius! This has to be my favorite sandwich! I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      The flavors were all there, but the technique was somehow lacking. This recipe is just not designed for oven preparation. The batter glued my sandwiches to the baking sheet, and although I did get them off, it detracted from the presentation and I don't believe cut down that much fat as opposed to the simplicity of frying. Next time I may use this recipe but I'll just go with the old griddle.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2008

      This is SUCH a great recipe. I've made it several times already. I've even made it for a bunch of teen aged boys - who now request them to be made again! SO much better than you'd think that they would be!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I really enjoyed this recipe. It brought back memories of the Old Broadmoor Hotel of Colorado Springs. They served a wonderful Monte Cristo, but with maple syrup. I made this recipe, but left out the dijon, as I don't care for it. I used blackberry preserves instead of raspberry. Just a personal preference. It was wonderful. Thanks for sharing it. It was a treat stumbling upon it. Sandi

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Very good, but quite messy. I used whole wheat bread REALLY drenched it in egg. Stuffed it a with more cheese than I should have, but it tasted SO good! Thanks for this recipe, its so much easier than all the other with that frying mess to deal with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2006

      I have made these about 6 or 7 times now. I love them. I have adapted them for our tastes. I use extra meat and no mustard for my husband. And I always shread my meat for mine. I use grape jelly and he uses strawberry preserves. I have had problems with them sticking the first few times I made them. I now use a think nonstick metal pan with heavy amounts of cooking spray. I always respray when I flip them. Thanks for such a great recipe, I was so sad when a local resterant stopped making Monte Cristos.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      High praise for this delicious sandwich. I used P4's "Brioche" Brioche for the bread, which worked perfectly, and served it sprinkled with powdered sugar and raspberry preserves on the side. I added a bit of dijon to the egg mixture, but other than that, didn't change a thing. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2004

      Delicious! We both loved this recipe!! Because we are always watching our fat intake, we used fat-free ham & turkey & egg substitute & omitted the butter and still ended up with tonnes of flavour! They baked up beautifully & were nice & crispy on the outside. I was skeptical about the raspberry preserves but it was a really nice touch. Great recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2014

      Perfect recipe and love that it's baked not fried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      "Can you make more?"<br/>Always have used a sandwich press for these, and they have always been great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2012

      Worked great for us!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      These came out wonderfully for me! I was a bit worried about them sticking to the pan after reading some of the other reviews, so I liberally coated the pan with butter flavored Crisco, and they didn't stick at all! Other adjustments: I used much more honey Dijon than the recipe called for (probably an entire tablespoon per sandwich) because my husband doesn't like dipping his in preserves, the crazy man. Also, I used freshly shredded Swiss because I didn't have any sliced Swiss on hand, and I I made my honey Dijon by mixing country style Dijon with honey (I really liked the added kick from the horseradish in the country style Dijon). I will be making these again for sure the next time we have our in laws over for Sunday brunch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2011

      This sounds an easy way rather than deep frying. I am surprised most of the recipes call for raspberry preserves and I have found strawberry preserves to be better, and you don't have to contend with the raspberry seeds

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monte Cristo Sandwich

    Serving Size: 1 (265 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 535.6
     
    Calories from Fat 259
    48%
    Total Fat 28.8 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 15.1 g
    75%
    Cholesterol 231.6 mg
    77%
    Sodium 1321.0 mg
    55%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.1 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 33.6 g
    67%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    honey dijon mustard

    turkey

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes