Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monte Cristo Delights Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monte Cristo Delights

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on December 01, 2009

      It was good, but I thought the crust was too dry. I'd like to make it again but next time I'll try using 2 eggs and increasing the milk to 1 cup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      It has been a while since I cooked a dinner that there were no complaints about. This was fabulous. My kids and hubby loved it. We had it for dinner with a big garden salad. I baked it in my round 9 inch cast iron skillet and served it in "pie" wedges. I haven't tasted the one leftover piece, but I'm thinking it would be good cold and packed in a lunch box.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      Although not quite as good as the Monte Cristo sandwiches at a local pub, this does have a great flavor. Hubby ate 3 pieces! I do recommend following the recipe exactly and using all-fruit spread. I used fruit preserves that I had on hand; they were a little watery after baking. This was my mistake, though...no fault of the recipe. We served these with fresh tossed salad and large glasses of milk. Yum! I like a little extra jam to slather on each bite!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This was sooo good! I have been wanting a Monte Cristo since I was diagnosed with celiac disease. So I switched the Bisquick with a gluten free pancake mix. Other than that I made the recipe as is, and it was ready after 20 minutes. I think next time I'll have to use more pancake batter, but it was still yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      What an inventive way to enjoy Monte Cristo at home! When we moved to AZ, I noticed there were no Bennigan's here! I thought my Monte Cristo's were over until I found this. Funny enough in this recipe my husband enjoys the preserves but he won't eat them if they're on the side at a restaurant. BTW this is great for breakfast left-overs if you have some fenicky family members that find it too weird for dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      Made for a quick lunch today since we happened to have all ingredients on hand. Minor changes were to use low fat Bisquick and shredded Swiss since that's what we had. I found a need for a bit more Bisquick, maybe another half cup with a quarter cup of milk; not sure if that's because of it being low fat or not. It was easy to put together and the only change was that I didn't include the fruit spread since we had a guest and wasn't sure if they'd like it. Baked perfectly in 30 minutes and I served with warmed raspberry preserves to spoon on top. We'll have this again I know.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      I am sorry to say we did not care for this much, we did eat one piece each, but will not be making this again. I was surprised that all I really tasted was the bisquit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2007

      This is another one of those that the whole family loves. I doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13. The kids were begging for more. We are actually having leftovers for breakfast in the morning. I will make this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2007

      I've made this for a couple of years. It is wonderful! :) I do use 3 cups bisquick, 1 cup milk and 2 eggs to help spread it easier. I also use jam not all fruit spread. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2007

      This recipe is our favorite breakfast right now. We have already made it several times. I am alergic to strawberries and I like things sweet so we add 1/2 cups sugar to the bisquick batter and sometimes dip in syrup. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      While nothing can compare to the real thing, this is a very good and much healthier option for those times that you are craving a Monte Cristo. I absolutely love the Monte Cristo sandwich from Bennigan's restaurant, but I always feel so guilty about eating them! I used lean deli meat and the Heart-Healthy version of Bisquick to make this, and I felt little or no guilt whatsover while I was enjoying it. :) I think that next time I make it I'll leave out the layer of fruit spread and just serve the spread on the side. I enjoy eating it with the fruit spread, but the bottom layer of bread did get a little soggy. I'm not sure if that's because of the layer of fruit spread or not, but next time I'll omit it, just to see. I should also add that in my oven, this was starting to get quite brown before 30 minutes was up, so I removed it probably around 20 or 25 minutes or so, because it was obviously cooked through. Could just be my oven, but if you give this recipe a try, you might want to keep an eye on it so that it doesn't overcook. This was a quick and easy recipe that I'm sure to make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      I fixed this for thanksgiving and it was awesome.It got gone fast, my family requested I make it for Christmas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2006

      We made this for a late Sunday lunch, and it was just perfect! We followed the recipe exactly and will make it again the same way. Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2006

      Very good- one the whole family will eat. Next time I will make 2 changes based on personal preferencc. I'll sprinkle some powdered sugar on top of the bottom layer of Bisquick and use more cheese, because there can NEVER be too much cheese.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      Delicious, but the baked batter didn't quite remind me of eggybattered bread. I guess I was looking for a slightly firmer texture there. I used Basic Baking Mix #56047 in place of the bisquick and used butter in that instead of shortening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2005

      these were very good. I did have a bit of a problem spreading the dough into the pans, which I resolved by wetting my fingers and spreading the dough that way. Otherwise I followed the directions exactly. We had this for lunch accompanied with honey mustard. My husband had two helpings. Thanks for a delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2005

      Very very nummy. Just like a meat shortcake is how I described it to my sister. Made this last night and my boyfriend called me at work today to ask if he could have some for lunch today, and he _never_ eats leftovers the next day. We will have this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2005

      Bekah, all I can say is "yum, yum, yum!" This recipe was perfect exactly as written. I didn't change a thing, which is very unusual for me not to play around with a recipe. My husband thought is was very unusual and so wonderful and tasty. We've had Monte Cristo's at the local bar and grill and I have always loved them, especially the raspberry preserves, but always felt and knew they weren't very healthy for me or my family. This recipe is healthier since there is no frying involved. Thanks so much Bekah. This one is a keeper. Hugs, Susie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      excellent!Even my dh and kids thought these were great(and they are some picky kids)!Thank You bekah for a wonderful recipe.I look forward to trying others of yours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2004

      I've always found Monte Cristos to be a weird concoction but it works really well somehow. I'm so glad I tried this. Okay, I'm so glad Bekah threatened me with violence UNLESS I tried this. Just teasing. LOL The bitterness/nuttiness of the Swiss with the saltiness of the meats and then the sweetness of the fruit spread and powdered sugar just kind of falls in place and works for some reason. I think I added a tad more meat and cheese than the recipe called for but other than that I followed the recipe to a T. Loved it and will make it again. Thanks, Bekah!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monte Cristo Delights

    Serving Size: 1 (161 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 370.7
     
    Calories from Fat 161
    43%
    Total Fat 17.9 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 93.8 mg
    31%
    Sodium 1292.2 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 20.1 g
    40%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    strawberry all-fruit spread

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites