Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monte Cristo Casserole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monte Cristo Casserole

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2008

      Everyone loved this casserole! I think when I make it again I will try making a sauce with red raspberries though...for some reason I associate that more with Monte Cristos than strawberries. I left out the parsley. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      Great stuff! My kids all loved it (11, 10, 6 & 3 yrs.), as did my husband. Quick & easy, results were delicious! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2009

      Oh my gosh, what a great casserole. My husband and I are both Disney fanatics and love the Monte Cristo at the Blue Bayou. This is the closest I have ever found to the real thing! Thanks for sharing this recipe. This will definitely be used in our house!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      I just adore this recipe and make it every chance I get!! I don't add the strawberries, jelly or powdered sugar just because I'm lazy and I like it just fine that way. I use french toast sticks and accidentally got 1 regular pkg and one cinnamon and didn't realize it till I started cutting up the cinnamon ones. I threw them in and it actually added a nice flavor. I wouldn't do half and half but I will definitely add some cinnamon pieces again next time. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      Luv this! We make it each year for Christmas morning. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Made it exactly as stated and I could not take more than one bite. Let it stand overnight and left it out for 30-45 mins before baking and the french bread was soggy. Not crispy like a true Monte Cristo. It was mush in your mouth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I was really unsure about this, especially because I'm not a big fan of ham, but it turned out pretty good! I only made half the recipe because there are only 2 of us, but I followed everything exact--except using more cheese. I always add more chees to everything because we LOVE it! The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars was because it was a little too dry. We will probably have this again though, thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2007

      OH MY GOODNESS this smelled SO good when it came out of the oven this morning! Had it not been made just for the teacher's for Teacher Appreciation Breakfast I would have gobbled the whole thing! Super simple to make, only crumbs left over! Can't wait for DH to try this! He will LOVE it since he loves Monte Cristo's and I never make them for him! Simple and delicious, what more can you ask for?!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      Exceptional! Everyone in the house was taken by surprise by this divine sweet-and-savory combination. I didn't even have swiss on hand, but cheddar was a delight. I also combined all of the ingredients in one bowl, as layering was unnecessary. Finally, I dusted each serving with powdered sugar, skipping the topping in favor of strawberry jam (squeezable). The entire dish is already gone! Try this one, it's a winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      This is a great recipe. I made it for brunch this morning and served it with Raspberry Sauce #33624 instead of the strawberries. Husband went back for seconds - something he rarely does. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2012

      I really wanted to like this because the pictures make it look delicious and all the reviews were good. Sadly, I was very disappointed. I didn't feel like any of the ingredients melded well and did not compliment each other at all. I tried both with and without the sauce, and it just simply wasn't good. I had to throw nearly all of it out. My family didn't like it either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2011

    • on January 05, 2010

      I made this exactly by the recipe and it turned out great. Two of my guests asked for the recipe. My husband thought it needed more cheese. I thought it was pretty good, but wasn't blown away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      Great recipe. .Made for Christmas breakfast. .A hit with everyone. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      We love this recipe! It is so delicious. This is something I will always make for special brunches. Thank you!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2008

      This was ok. My husband didn't like mixing the sweetness of the strawberries and powdered sugar with the rest of it, but thought it was mediocre with out it. Unfortunately this was a one timer for us. Good idea though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      Tasted good, but took forever to get fully cooked in the middle. I always have trouble with dishes like this staying gooey in the middle. My hubby doesn't like it when it is gooey at all. May try again with less eggs. But I make a mean monte cristo sandwich, may just stick with that. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      10 Stars! This is pure genius!! Not greasy and sssoo easy! What a great brunch dish. Every one went nuts over this dish. Loved the strawberry sauce instead of the usual preserves. I accidentally mixed it all together instead of layering and will continue to do it that way! :-) Thanks for this recipe. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

    • on March 31, 2008

      my mom made this last night! wow!!! one of my favorites now. my son liked it better than the DL monte cristo sandwiches, because it was less greasy. this would be perfect for brunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monte Cristo Casserole

    Serving Size: 1 (192 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 303.3
     
    Calories from Fat 98
    32%
    Total Fat 10.9 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 171.8 mg
    57%
    Sodium 832.3 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.8 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 16.6 g
    33%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites