43 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Everyone loved this casserole! I think when I make it again I will try making a sauce with red raspberries though...for some reason I associate that more with Monte Cristos than strawberries. I left out the parsley. Thanks for the recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChipotleChick January 21, 2008

Great stuff! My kids all loved it (11, 10, 6 & 3 yrs.), as did my husband. Quick & easy, results were delicious! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WJKing February 18, 2009

Oh my gosh, what a great casserole. My husband and I are both Disney fanatics and love the Monte Cristo at the Blue Bayou. This is the closest I have ever found to the real thing! Thanks for sharing this recipe. This will definitely be used in our house!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbie McCormick January 14, 2009

I just adore this recipe and make it every chance I get!! I don't add the strawberries, jelly or powdered sugar just because I'm lazy and I like it just fine that way. I use french toast sticks and accidentally got 1 regular pkg and one cinnamon and didn't realize it till I started cutting up the cinnamon ones. I threw them in and it actually added a nice flavor. I wouldn't do half and half but I will definitely add some cinnamon pieces again next time. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Smith January 04, 2009

Luv this! We make it each year for Christmas morning. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aggiezoey December 21, 2008

Made it exactly as stated and I could not take more than one bite. Let it stand overnight and left it out for 30-45 mins before baking and the french bread was soggy. Not crispy like a true Monte Cristo. It was mush in your mouth.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nbentson February 08, 2008

I was really unsure about this, especially because I'm not a big fan of ham, but it turned out pretty good! I only made half the recipe because there are only 2 of us, but I followed everything exact--except using more cheese. I always add more chees to everything because we LOVE it! The only reason that I didn't give it 5 stars was because it was a little too dry. We will probably have this again though, thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Allysundrop June 03, 2007

OH MY GOODNESS this smelled SO good when it came out of the oven this morning! Had it not been made just for the teacher's for Teacher Appreciation Breakfast I would have gobbled the whole thing! Super simple to make, only crumbs left over! Can't wait for DH to try this! He will LOVE it since he loves Monte Cristo's and I never make them for him! Simple and delicious, what more can you ask for?!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cristin May 02, 2007

Exceptional! Everyone in the house was taken by surprise by this divine sweet-and-savory combination. I didn't even have swiss on hand, but cheddar was a delight. I also combined all of the ingredients in one bowl, as layering was unnecessary. Finally, I dusted each serving with powdered sugar, skipping the topping in favor of strawberry jam (squeezable). The entire dish is already gone! Try this one, it's a winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breanne P. January 09, 2007

This is a great recipe. I made it for brunch this morning and served it with Raspberry Sauce #33624 instead of the strawberries. Husband went back for seconds - something he rarely does. This is a keeper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
r_mess June 25, 2006
Monte Cristo Casserole