16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these for our annual BOO-GIVING celebration (think Halloween feast as big as Thanksgiving). These were one of the FAVES of the night! FUN TIP: Added a little green food coloring to regular yellow mustard and it made it a bright fluorescent green--PERFECT for the toenails! Thank you for such a fabulous idea! We will be making these every year from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5GIRLS5 November 24, 2011

This is such a great idea! I made these for a Halloween party for adults as well as for a food day at work. Everyone thought they looked and tasted great. I did bake mine for 15 minutes to get the lit'l smokies a tad darker and more monstrous looking. Thanks for the idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swansong33 November 02, 2011

So real like! Quick to disappear, too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosslare November 03, 2013

Glad I came across this recipe - perfect for a Halloween party and such fun !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eilval October 15, 2012

What a great idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1PugMom2 November 01, 2010

This was such fun!!! The kids wrapped the smokies in tortilla strips and after they baked, poured the blood (ketchup) over them.....we also made grilled cheese and cut with a pumpkin shaped cookie cutter, and then sliced bologna in thin strips for worm sandwiches, what a blast for my neices 7 and 10 and my dgd and dgs 4 and 2!! Thanks so much for a fun time!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cinda Lu September 06, 2010

This was fun! Can't believe we went to two grocery stores and they were out of smokies! That's ok. We just cut regular hot dogs in half. I'm rating this on behalf of my family since I don't eat meat anymore. But they really enjoyed it! Thanks for posting this fun and 'gross' idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisanne :) October 31, 2009

I can't wait to make this at my halloween party!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marisa.lensink October 14, 2009

FUN FUN FUN, these were soo cute. My kids thought they were goooo gross (which is waht I was going for ) I plan on making these for sons Halloween party this year. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 24, 2009

I didn't really follow the recipe because I ran out of time. However, what I did do, was grab a pack of hotdogs and cut them in half. I then cut out a little slit on the round end to be where the toe nail would be. I had intended to arrange them nicely on the plate and put ketchup on the nail, but didn't have time. I threw them all on a tray and baked them in the oven until they got blistery. I threw them on a serving plate and they disappeared anyways!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ba4Hire November 06, 2008
Monster Toes (For Halloween)