Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monkeygland Sauce for Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monkeygland Sauce for Steak

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2009

      I've known of the recipe for years. Just got round to making it from your recipe. Hubby and I are so glad I did. Loved it on our steak. Now thinking of what else to have it on. Thanks Ailsa

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Thank you for a really great recipe. I decided to substitute the tomatoes for a tin of mexican style tomatoes and left off the tabasco sauce, it was quite a bit spicier than the typical restaurant sauce (due to my substitutions I am sure) but DH thought it was great and insisted that the recipe be added to the file IMMEDIATELY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2012

      Awesome!!! Goes great on just about anything! We had it on hamburgers and then on grits the next morning:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      SO YUMMY!!!! The initial name for this sauce put me off but after my husband made it I couldn't get enough of it! As it simmers down the flavours develop and intensify and just become one fabulous immulsion. We added bacon at the very start with the onion and used wine vinegar and gooseberry chutney. Thank you so much for a truly delicious sauce!!! Oh my goodness!!! We had this again tonight and the flavour was even better. We had it on lamb chops and baked potatoes. Fantastic!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

    • on November 29, 2006

      Hubby gave this 5 thumbs up! I didn't have any chutney on hand but I subsituted 3 fruits apricot jam instead. It still turned out excellent. DH first had monkey gland steak in Durban's revolving restaurant and this is definitely a keeper. Thanks for sharing once again an awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      my husbands mother is from south africa he thouroughly enjoyed it with steak as a marinade and a sauce

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2006

      We really enjoyed this. Made a large batch and used some to marinade steaks in, then offered the rest on the side and kept some in the refrigerator for marinating as and when required.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      I have to admit that I added this recipe to my cookbook ONLY for the purpose of telling people that we were having "Monkeygland" sauce for dinner!!! I decided to pair it with swordfish instead of steak; it was the perfect blend of sweet and sour flavors. This one is definitely a keeper! Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2004

      Very easy to make and taste GREAT! My roommate is from South Africa and he loved it. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2004

      Very rich, very tasty, very easy and went well over our steaks. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monkeygland Sauce for Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (141 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 116.2
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    27%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 511.9 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.4 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 17.2 g
    68%
    Protein 1.1 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fruit chutney

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes