Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monkey Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monkey Bread

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2012

      I was looking for something to serve DD's friends after her slumber party and I chose your recipe. I had some frozen rolls in the freezer and these worked perfectly. I did cut them in half before coating with the butter and rolling in cinnamon sugar mixture. I did not glaze the bread and the girls loved it anyway. Thankyou for sharing withg us.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      They are in the oven as I type and I know how good they are going to be without even trying them. I like to make them in small serving sizes for the kids to take to school, so I used frozen bun dough rather than a whole laof and cut each bun into 4 then baked them in muffin tins for 20 minutes. The smell is heavenly. A lady I work with makes them using the buns and just puts the buns into the bundt pan and makes them 12 at a time. I made a double batch and did find I needed more butter and sugar than called for but that is in part to my desire for them to be sticky buns. Will definately be making these more often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Instead of the frozen bread dough, we use our own homemade bread dough (bread machine, 90 min. for dough) and instead of butter (lactose issues) use 1 Tbsp. coconut spread and 1 Tbsp. shortening. Same in the icing. Have subbed honey for half the powdered sugar too, and it turned out splendid. This is a very forgiving recipe! I'm thinking of adding raisins sometime, too. Maybe nuts. We've made this a handful of times and love it every time. Another tip: if you do have "leftovers," warm them in the microwave just a few seconds before finishing them off. Monkey bread tastes way, way better warm! Thanks, bug, for this recipe. Brings back memories of youth group days, and my family now loves loves loves it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I love your recipe. I was looking for one using rhodes bread because my mother used it growing up and I still love this recipe! It just isnt the same to me made with biscuits. I added more butter, sugar, and cinnamon because we eat this way rarely, but when we do, we go all the way! Thanks for posting a great recipe that brings me right back to childhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      We made this recipe last night and followed it exactly. It was delicious. Everyone loved it and it was EASY! Thank you, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2007

      So easy and delicious! I made this for breakfast while my brother was visiting and he and my DH finished it off in no time. It smells so good while it's baking that you won't want to wait until it cools to dig in. Thanks bug!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      Awsome! Tastes like cinnamon rolls. I had 3/4's of a loaf of bread I needed to use up so I decided to try Monkey bread for the first time. I started experimentally making the bread before I searched & found this recipe so I used white sugar instead and didn't do any measuring of the cinnamon/sugar mix or the butter. I also didn't pour any remaining sugar on top. I was so happy to find a recipe with frosting cause I never thought of doing that, I did half the amount of icing and I still have some leftover. I did add a splash of clear vanilla to the icing also. I made it in a large greased loaf pan and it came out excellent!! I didn't pour the icing over the whole thing but instead let everybody put their own on. Kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2006

      This was delicious! It goes together very quickly and easily, so it is easy to make up a quick batch for breakfast. I baked these in a cast iron loaf pan at 325 degrees for 25 mins. and they came out perfect. I think that the water/milk amount listed for the icing in the recipe is incorrect. It is probably supposed to read: 2 to 3 Tablespoons water or milk (NOT 2/3 Tablespoons). I ended up using 3 TBS. to get it to the drizzle consistency that I wanted. This makes way too much icing for our tastes, so I think next time I will cut the icing ingredients in half. Also, I might add a tiny bit of vanilla to the icing for added flavor. My family loved this bread and gave it 2 thumbs up. Thank you for sharing this wonderful, easy recipe...it is definitely a keeper!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2005

      It turned out wonderful! I had a loaf of frozen bread defrosted for dinner and ended up using it to make these yummy rolls for dessert instead!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2005

      I made this according to direction and it didn't turn out. 2-3 tablespoons butter wasn't enough to coat the balls and I ran out of the brown sugar/cinnamon mixture. Baking it for the full 20 minutes wasn't enough either as they were most all doughy even tho the top ones appeared done. By the time I had discovered this the icing was already on them and too late to put back in the oven to bake longer, so I pitched the whole mess and started over. I increased the butter to 5 tablespoons and the brown sugar to 3/4 cup and cinnamon to 1 teaspoon to insure I had enough. I baked them for 35 minutes and they came out wonderful. The icing needed more liquid then the original 2/3 tablespoon stated, so I changed that to 5 tablespoons so it was loose enough to drizzle. Once the recipe was adjusted it was much easier the second go around! It's a very tasty comfort treat and I will definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      I chose this of all the monkey bread recipes on 'zaar because it was made with bread dough instead of biscuits. It's the first way I had monkey bread and am still partial to it this way. Using the frozen bread dough is a nice time saver and it's cheaper than the tubes of biscuits too. I just popped a couple of loaves in the refrigerator the night before and was able to whip it together in no time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2003

      My family has been making this since I first learned how when I was in pre-school! We make ours with 4 packages of Pillsbury biscuits, each biscuit cut into 4 pieces, and it comes out great, no rising required!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monkey Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (35 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.1
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    18%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.1 g
    10%
    Cholesterol 9.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 34.0 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.9 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 34.1 g
    136%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    frozen bread dough

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites