Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monkey Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monkey Bread

    Average Rating:

    37 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 37

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2006

      I remember making Monkey Bread in junior high school and I thought this would be a great recipe to make with my young children (2,4,& 6 yrs old). This was a great kid participation recipe. My oldest son said, "This is the best bread I've tasted in my whole life!" I held myself back from revealing to him that it was so good because of the tons of sugar and butter. :) I used three jumbo cans of buttermilk biscuits. This was a little too much for the bundt pan. They rose up higher than the pan and some of the sugary mixture dripped in my oven. I used real butter and left out the nuts. I started off putting everything in a big plastic bag, but the bag broke from the weight. I transferred the contents to a huge bowl and mixed the pieces together with my hands. I did not grease my non-stick bundt pan thinking I wouldn't have a problem getting it out. The bottom third of the bread did not come out on its own. It was a good thing the appearance of the finished product didn't matter. I would highly recommend this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2013

      This is fast, easy and a real hit with my DGSs which is a major plus in this house as they are really picky. Wanted to take a photo but can't find where I put my camera - Grrrrrr, hate it when I do that. Oh well, the taste is to die for and it didn't come out as pretty as the photos you already have. Thanks so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2010

      There are lots of monkey breads recipes out there--some are identical, some have slight variations. We just made this recipe for Christmas breakfast (we make monkey bread every year), and we all agreed that THIS monkey bread was the best ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      I wanted to try a different recipe for Monkey Bread and I'm I tried this one. Made exactly as stated. The smell of the bread baking was killing us. We were picking at it while it was cooling. Excellent flavor and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2009

      This tasted delicious but it came out dryer than I thought. not likethe picture at all. I followed the recipe exactly as written except poured a little bit of the sauce half way through. The top which was the bottom while baking is dry and not gooey like I was hoping.... Very easy recipe tho and will make again maybe making more of the butter/sugar sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      This was my 1st time making Monkey Bread and it was amazing. I made it as the recipe is written, only I added 1/2 a cup more nuts. This recipe is already one of my favorites! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      Monkey bread is my favorite! It was gone so fast I think everyone in the house loved it too. Thanks for posting a recipe for this! (I made this without the chopped pecans)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2009

      Good gravy! This was awesome. My husband thought he had died and gone to heaven! Thanks for the recipe carolinafan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      We absolutely loved this. I took the rest of it after my Dh and I had a late night snack, to my sister's house and came back with an empty plate. All the kids loved it. We heated bits for just a few seconds in the microwave and it tasted like we had just baked it. I used 2 packages of Grands Biscuits and cut each biscuits into 6 pieces. I also put the pecans in the pan before anything else. I was thinking about putting half the biscuits in the pan then half the butter mixture and repeating, because it was a bit dry in some spots in the middle. Thanks so much carolinafan for a recipe we will be using whenever we get the urge for something cinnamonny. UPDATE: I have also eliminated the nuts and added 1/2 to 3/4 cup creamy peanut butter to the topping. My dh really likes it this way.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      YUM! This is so good! Thanks for the great "special breakfast" idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      yum yum yum! My husband said I'm going to have to make this more often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2008

      I made this for my son's birthday breakfast this morning. We all loved it! (especially him) I just used a 9 by 13 pan. I usually make a recipe similar to this with frozen bread dough but I love the ease of this one because you don't have to make it ahead of time. It will become my new birthday and Christmas breakfast recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This recipe is awesome! I also added half of the brown sugar and butter in the middle as some have suggested. Will definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Very good recipe. I took another reviewers suggestion and add half the butter/brown sugar mixture in the middle of the pan and poured the rest on top. Yummy. I too didn't add pecans since I was making for DD and her friends and wasn't sure if any of them were allergic to nuts, but next time I make it for just my family I will add the nuts. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2008

      This was super yummy! The brown sugar/butter mixture once baked was just like caramel!! As on person suggested I poured in some of the "sauce" mid way through layering. Another option would be to dip the biscuit pieces in butter then rolling in sugar just so add more moisture to the middle while baking. Thanks for posting!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      This was so yummy! I used 4 cans instead of 3 and real butter. The only thing I would have changed was to add the brown sugar mixture halfway through the layering process and then added the remaining amount at the end. It was a little dry on the bottom/middle, but still tasted very good and was soooo easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      I made this for my son to eat for breakfast on his way out to school. It was gone in no time! I also let my other family try it and they wanted the recipe for their children as well. Great recipe, easy and a HUGE hit. I will be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Awesome! Made for breakfast. I used 4 cans of pillsbury biscuits (they came in a 4 pk). Turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      Simple and delicious on Christmas morning!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2007

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monkey Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (106 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 414.4
     
    Calories from Fat 170
    41%
    Total Fat 18.9 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 658.3 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.8 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 34.4 g
    137%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes