Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monkey bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monkey bread

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on February 16, 2011

      This was DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for the recipe. This is definately a keeper and so easy to make. I was thinking if you garnished with marischino cherries on top it would make a pretty dessert for Christmas!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2013

      I used three Grands size cans of biscuits and the same measurements for everything else. I was out of pecans so I used walnuts. Baked in a Bundt pan for approximately 45 minutes. After 35 minutes I put a sheet of foil to keep it from browning more. This was perfect to me. The perfect ratio of doughy, buttery and cinnamon and sugary! If I had used the smaller cans, I don't think I would have liked it as much. I've made this twice now, and I can't get enough. Thank you Kathy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      kids loved it! but my husband and I found it a bit too sweet. I usually make the one with brown sugar with butter and cinnamon over the top but decided to try this one just for a change. But think I will stick to the one I normally make. Using the white sugar made it a bit gritty almost like you were taking a bite of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      Great easy recipe. Family loves it. The bottom was a bit mushy and top was done so I think next time I will turn down the oven temp and increase cooking time a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      My mom and I saw this and HAD to try it! We made it together and it was WONDERFUL!!! The only thing that we did differently was we didn't use all the butter/sugar/cinnamon mixture. We melted all the butter and added all the sugar and cinnamon to it, but as we started spooning it over the biscuit dough in the bunt pan it just seemed like too much. We used about half or 3/4 of the butter mixture and it turned out great! Definately a keeper!!!! We LOVED it!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2010

      Made this early this morning for the "campers" next door at my neighbors, what a hit! They loved it and what a way to wake up in the morning! This recipe is easy. I made this following instruction but added a bit of brown sugar to the melted butter, and when turned over onto serving plates I hit it with a bit of freshly grated nutmeg...yum! I chose to put a cookie sheet underneath the monkey bread as it was baking..one large pie pan full and one small loaf pan, and I am so thankful I did, the butter bubbled over and would have created a mess, so please be careful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      VERY VERY GOOD!!!!!!! Loved by adults just as much as the kids it was made for. use it alot for Church socials.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      I cut the butter down to 1 cup as others suggested and it was still rather...liquidy for my tastes. Not to mention all of the butter that had pooled in the bottom of the bundt pan squirted out in a molten burn-fest when my poor husband flipped it over into a plate (not sure how that happened but at least he didn't get burned badly). So please be careful when attempting that particular step. The sleepover that these were made for all loved it and the aforementioned husband even really enjoyed it, too. Something about it tasted "off" to me (again, I think it was the butter). I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 for the whole "exploding butter" aspect, since everyone enjoyed it otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      As others mentioned, I cut back to 1 cup of butter and it was plenty. I also thought I should mention that it is quite buttery when first turned out but if left to cool somewhat the sauce turns thick and syrup-y. I also used brown sugar as I had more of it to spare. Otherwise I followed the method exactly as described here and it came out perfect. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2009

      WOW! This went over really good with my family! Perfect Saturday morning breakfast! I think next time I will cut back the butter to 1 cup, there was a lot of it lying around the plate when I turned it out of the bundt pan and I sopped it up with a paper towel before serving but other than that, it was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      Great recipe. Always good, always fun to eat. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      OH MY GOD!!! This was delicious! We made this for a mother's day brunch with chicken and broccoli quiche. We couldn't decide which was better! I altered the recipe a little bit, I used cane sugar to coat the biscuit pieces and brown sugar with the butter (cut down to 1 cup - and even that might have been to much). it was soooo yummy though!! WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2009

      My best friend has made this for years and I love it! When I couldn't get ahold of her for the recipe I naturally came to Zaar. I chose this one and I am so glad I did because it's exactly how I have always had it. I too only use the 1 cup of butter otherwise the dough stays a little to undercooked and "wet" for my taste. I use my kitchen scissors to snip the biscuits, it's so quick and easy. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      So easy AND so delicious! After reading the reviews, I cut the butter to 1 cup and it was still wonderful. Loved using the pizza cutter to cut the dough - worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      I started to make another dessert tonight (a cinnamon coffee cake) and ruined it... so I quick switched the recipe and these were to die for! Wonderful! Thank you so much. I mixed in some brown sugar with the pecans and lessed the sugar with the butter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      I made this for Christmas morning, and it was such a hit I made it for New Year's morning, too! My kids keep asking when we'll have Monkey Bread again. It couldn't be easier - the hardest part for me was going to the store and buying a bundt pan. ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      Made it for Christmas Eve and it turned out perfectly. We had leftovers on Christmas morning to snack on. Our family loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      really really great recipe however i also used the grands biscuits and it didn't work out too well lol. it was way too doughy. I would definitely check to make sure you're using the correct amount of bread however it's not covered in this recipe. it was yummy otherwise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      Very Easy! Great taste. Way too much butter/marg. Will cut down to 3/4c next time. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      FABULOUS!!!!! I made this for breakfast this morning and it was gone in minutes. I loved the gooey sauce that was on it. Yummy. I didn't have nuts so I skipped them, still good but I will add them next time. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monkey bread

    Serving Size: 1 (126 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1051.1
     
    Calories from Fat 710
    67%
    Total Fat 78.8 g
    121%
    Saturated Fat 44.5 g
    222%
    Cholesterol 183.0 mg
    61%
    Sodium 608.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 92.0 g
    30%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 87.9 g
    351%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    biscuits

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites