12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

fabulous! I can't believe I forgot to review this!! It tastes just like the chinese restaurant!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef rmshill June 25, 2010

I've made this dish twice now for dinner and we just love. I've added it to my regular rotation. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe with us! Delicious!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lxxColleenxxl January 16, 2009

I loved the taste of this! I can see why it's so popular. I upped the beef to 1 lb-ish. It was a 'family steak' and I pounded the crud out of it before and after slicing into little bits. I used cooking sherry for the second ingredient. I may have used more than 2 tbsp of garlic, but more is better anyway. I had about 8 green onions and cut them a bit smaller. Once cooked, they disappear, so I should have kept them long. I was scared of red chilies, so I dropped in 5 red pepper flakes instead. I've never had spicy mongolian beef and knew the kids wouldn't eat it if it was hot. I will make this again, but I will double the recipe. This was just barely enough for the 4 of us (2 adults, 2 kids) with no 2nd helpings. We ended up adding a tossed salad to fill our plates. I served this with rice. The meifun noodles sound fun, though! Thanks for this great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Burned Toast September 25, 2008

I never can seem to follow a recipe, ever. I always have to change things up. This time, I actually followed the recipe exactly (almost) except that in addition to the green onions I sliced up a red onion and also added fresh mushrooms for my hubby. Everyone in the family loved it, my son and husband both said "its a keeper!" and my daughter just kept shoveling it in her mouth. ;) Very excellent dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlsampson March 30, 2012

I made this with Kangaroo instead of Beef & I think it tasted even better. Brilliant recipe, so easy to make.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RachH4 March 14, 2012

My boyfriend and i absoultely LOOOOOOOVE this recipe!!!!! its soooooo amazingly yummy. I listened to other suggestions and doubled the sauce and served over stir fry noodles. We added rooster sauce and used extra crushed chili pepers along with snow peas and sprouts. Its delicious and so easy to make and quickly made its way into our top dinner meals... thanks so much for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abby girls daughter April 21, 2011

My boyfriend LOVES Mongolian Beef. This was really quite tasty and very easy. Here are my "recipe notes" **1 Tbsp Garlic - careful not to burn it (there was to much garlic for us) 1.5 lb steak tenderized "Chuck Cross Rib Steak Boneless" was good. Double marinade & sauce ingredients.** It wasn't QUITE what we were looking for but it was very good and we'll definitely make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy December 01, 2008

I made 2 pounds and it was all gone. I added half a chopped white onion for extra crunch. And the only hoisin sauce I could find was garlic hoisin, I love garlic flavor so that was not a problem for me. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitty Kat Cook November 21, 2007

This is quite good, although not quite what I'm used to from our local restaurants here. I'm used to Mongolian beef that is somewhat sweet as well as spicy. However, I think if I add some brown sugar, it'll be pretty close to what I'm looking for. I cut back on the chilies (since my 3-year old was eating it, too), and substituted some yellow onions sliced into very thin wedges for some of the green onion. Also, I sliced the garlic thinly rather than mincing it. Nevertheless, it smelled so good, we just dove in--I even forgot to take photos (next time...)! It's definitely a keeper--thanks for posting! Oh, and a word to the wise--maifun (rice stick noodles) REALLY puff up when you fry them! You won't need very many to end up with plenty to serve with the beef! UPDATE: made again adding about 1-1/2 tablespoons brown sugar to the marinade per recipe (I made a double batch with 2-3 tbsp). I think the hoisin is still to strong, though--next time I will add a little more sugar and cut back the hoisin sauce. I included a before/after picture of the rice stick noodles, with the package for size reference. The uncooked noodles fill an 8-oz glass bowl, the cooked noodles cover most of a dinner plate.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcyon Eve September 14, 2007

Thank you for this recipe. Only change I made was to use carrots instead of green onions. My son likes his mongolian beef sweeter, so next time we will add a tad more hoisin sauce or sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ilovemy4kids April 12, 2007
Mongolian Beef