Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mondo's Hot & Spicy Venison Jerky (Can Substitute Beef) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mondo's Hot & Spicy Venison Jerky (Can Substitute Beef)

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2003

      First time making jerky. I used NMY sirloin and marinated it over night. It came out really tasty. Some pieces have a good "kick". I used garlic salt and it tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2013

      This marinade is delicious! I have used it many times since Christmas (when I found it)! My husband is very picky when it comes to jerky and this is the only one he loves. The only thing I do differently is add 1-2 tsp of habanero sauce, extra red pepper flakes and about 1-2tsp cayenne pepper. He likes it very spicy and works wonderfully with beef also! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      While the initial flavor of this jerky was great, after a few days it was much too salty for my taste. I even used low sodium soy sauce (btw, for those that have Kroger available, their low sodium soy sauce has less sodium than kikoman low sodium soy sauce). I realize that salt helps preserve the jerky, but there must be a happy medium. Next time I will omit or reduce the kosher salt, and may even dilute the low sodium soy sauce. But again, the initial flavor was awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      Used extra red pepper flakes and added a couple teaspoons of sriracha...nice and spicy! Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

    • on January 11, 2009

      great, wanted a bit of spice so added 2oz red hot sauce, 2 oz A1 and 2oz sriracha chili sauce, then 2 more sriracha 1/2 thru marinade process (5 hrs in). dehydrated til nearly snappable. Came out great, shouldv'e thrown in some curing salt to preserve as did 15 lbs first crack and 10 more 2nd try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      This is defintely a venison recipe. I did substitue some beef round and it was not as good. I am giving it a 3 star because I did not care for that much soy. I did not find this recipe at all spicy even after adding twice as much red pepper flakes. Worth a try on Venison.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2008

      ABSOLUTLY WONDERFUL !!!! thank you so much for sharing and a special thank you to your hubby..... son 33 yrs)ate about a pound in 1 setting.... then took a bunch more home.. and i m left with a few little pieces.... oh well i have more steak in freezer thanks to my nephew who hunts this is a absolute keeper/ do over and over

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      Just made this today w/ some venison that a friend hit w/ his truck!! I used a meat slicer to slice very thin strips... and I marinated in your recipe overnight. When I opened the bag to pull the meat out it smelled delicious and I was very excited about cooking it. I have tasted several jerky recipes in the past but this is the first I've cooked. I placed cooling racks on my cookie sheets to elevate the meat and flipped after 3 hours. I actually tasted a piece at that time and it is done, but I cooked another hour to make sure it's completely dry. It seems to cook much faster on the racks... or maybe it's because my meat is so thin. Either way, this is the best venison jerky I have EVER tasted... and my husband can't wait to take it to work for everyone to taste. The only change I made with this recipe is to use regular table salt since I didn't have kosher. Thanks for posting this tasty recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2007

      This is the second year I've made this recipe. I gave some to my boss last year and this year asked him if he wanted some venison, he said just bring me some more of that jerky, it's the best I've ever had. I have to agree this is a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2007

      This recipe is tops thanks! Our 1st try at jerky - sticky, smoky, dark jerky. Very good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      Wow! Thanks for a great recipe. I ommited the the liquid smoke because I cooked the jerky in my smoker according to the smoker's directions. It has just the right flavor and spice! My parents who have been making their jerky recipe for years wanted this one and said they'll never go back. Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2004

      This recipe makes very good jerky. Next time, I'd either add a small amount of water(.25cup), or slightly reduce the soy and worchestershire sauces. again, a very good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mondo's Hot & Spicy Venison Jerky (Can Substitute Beef)

    Serving Size: 1 (1385 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1514.7
     
    Calories from Fat 209
    13%
    Total Fat 23.3 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 8.9 g
    44%
    Cholesterol 773.1 mg
    257%
    Sodium 27461.0 mg
    1144%
    Total Carbohydrate 86.2 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 50.7 g
    202%
    Protein 231.6 g
    463%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    liquid smoke flavoring

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites