99 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I LOVE this recipe! I have been making it for a year and am just now rating it. The sherry definitely is key and gives it a wonderful flavor. Also, the parmesan added when serving is perfect with the sherry. I tend to add a bit more carrot. Great recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs_Peanut December 28, 2010

This was very good even w/out the sherry (didn't have any). I blended 1/3 of it to smooth out the texture a bit and served it over rice.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kaurorac January 26, 2010

I've been making this recipe for 37 years from the book "Diet for a Small Planet". It's one of our favorites. Here are the changes that I arrived at early on: I use a 28-oz can of crushed tomatoes rather than the 15-oz can of "tomatoes". I double the carrots. I use water instead of broth. And I have found recently that using fresh parsley (a good handful, chopped) makes it even more delicious. We originally ate it with shredded cheese as the recipe states, but have often eaten it without cheese, and it's great that way also. I'm giving the original recipe 4 stars, but the way I make it is a 5-star recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janetxb October 16, 2014

Awesome! I loved the flavor of the sherry! I also added a bit of garlic and a little cayenne pepper to spice it up. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adventurousbeginner September 26, 2010

Amazing! If you don't have Sherry, use red wine instead...gives it a whole different taste. Have tried this dish with Sherry and red wine. Both equally as good. It's very hearty like a stew. Experiment with using additional veggies.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puntins! September 22, 2010

My husband and I thought this was a delicious bowl of lentils. Pleasantly seasoned and the sherry was a nice touch. Perfect on a rainy, cold night. Thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' February 21, 2010

I make this with beef broth and red wine. I also found that I prefer it without any cheese at all, which surprised me! Also, I didn't think it needed 1/4 cup of olive oil, so I cut that down to about 1 1/2 tablespoons. Delicious, healthy, and easy. Can't beat that!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heaven's Kitchen December 27, 2009

This was a delicious meal. I added just a bit less sherry. I ate it like this and added hot sauce and my kids had it with whole wheat pasta. I'll make it again soon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Bellinda* June 27, 2009

This was good when I made it, and it was even better the second day. The first day it was like soup, and the second day it was like stew. I didn't have marjoram so I used 1 tsp. thyme. Next time I will add 2-3 carrots.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 February 24, 2009

Oh wow belkathy - YUM. I just made a batch and it is so good. I used fresh thyme (because I have it) and no marjoram (because I don't). I also used a can of Rotel for the tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes, which gave it a great little kick! I served it over rice and topped it off with some homemade Greek yogurt. Heaven.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgiapea November 10, 2008
Monastery Lentils