Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Monastery Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Monastery Lentils

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2010

      I LOVE this recipe! I have been making it for a year and am just now rating it. The sherry definitely is key and gives it a wonderful flavor. Also, the parmesan added when serving is perfect with the sherry. I tend to add a bit more carrot. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This was very good even w/out the sherry (didn't have any). I blended 1/3 of it to smooth out the texture a bit and served it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Awesome! I loved the flavor of the sherry! I also added a bit of garlic and a little cayenne pepper to spice it up. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2010

      Amazing! If you don't have Sherry, use red wine instead...gives it a whole different taste. Have tried this dish with Sherry and red wine. Both equally as good. It's very hearty like a stew. Experiment with using additional veggies.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      My husband and I thought this was a delicious bowl of lentils. Pleasantly seasoned and the sherry was a nice touch. Perfect on a rainy, cold night. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2009

      I make this with beef broth and red wine. I also found that I prefer it without any cheese at all, which surprised me! Also, I didn't think it needed 1/4 cup of olive oil, so I cut that down to about 1 1/2 tablespoons. Delicious, healthy, and easy. Can't beat that!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2009

      This was a delicious meal. I added just a bit less sherry. I ate it like this and added hot sauce and my kids had it with whole wheat pasta. I'll make it again soon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was good when I made it, and it was even better the second day. The first day it was like soup, and the second day it was like stew. I didn't have marjoram so I used 1 tsp. thyme. Next time I will add 2-3 carrots.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      Oh wow belkathy - YUM. I just made a batch and it is so good. I used fresh thyme (because I have it) and no marjoram (because I don't). I also used a can of Rotel for the tomatoes instead of regular tomatoes, which gave it a great little kick! I served it over rice and topped it off with some homemade Greek yogurt. Heaven.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2006

      Super recipe! We are on a budget so I'm trying to cook more lentils and less meat and this was really flavourful. I used a beef stock cube and 1 400g tin of tomatoes. I did have to boil it down a bit at the end to evaporate the excess liquid but otherwise followed the directions exactly. Don't miss out the Sherry. It really adds a depth of flavour to the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2014

      Very nice flavors! We all enjoyed this. I served this over brown rice and with a grilled chicken. I only used 3 TBS of the oil and for the canned tomatoes I used fire roasted. Next time I'll add some chopped fresh spinach, it was crying out for it. Absolutely use the fresh parsley, and even add more because of that great fresh taste. Don't know why you'd need the cheese on top, though. Perhaps that's just personal taste. Thanks Belkathy for a great recipe I can use all year long!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      Not sure if my review went through, but this was excellent and the sherry was the big difference! I doubled the recipe and added an extra carrot, 6 cloves of garlic, and fresh oregano insted of marjoram. Its a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2013

      This was very good! I used a mix a chicken and beef stock. I did find it a bit too soupy at the end so I scooped a bit of liquid off the top. A nice hearty one pot meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2013

      This recipe is a great way to change up lentils. The flavor was so robust. I agree that the sherry gives this recipe its distinct flavor, reminding me of a lighter version of beef stew. Don't skip the sherry or cooking sherry. I tried the different cheeses recommended, and the parmesan was my family's favorite. I'm adding this recipe to my rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2011

      This is a delicious soup! I did make a few changes, including:
      1 large onion instad of 2
      Double the amount of dired herbs
      Added fresh parsley at the end

      We used shredded parmesan cheese which was a nice final touch on the soup. Definitely better on day 2!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2011

      wonderful and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2011

      This is fantastic! I added some potatoes, spinach and four cloves of garlic. The sherry is such a unique touch to this soup! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2011

      Wow, those were amazing. Mine didn't come out as soupy but I used a 15.5 oz bag of lentils and kept the proportions of the liquid the same. Very, very good. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2011

      This has become a staple in our house. Cheap and filling. I add another 3/4 cup of liquid and 1/2 cup barley to make it more hearty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2010

      Easy and delicious. I used French lentils and halved the recipe. When the lentils were done cooking I stuffed them in to roast acorn squash and it was satisfying and filling vegetarian meal. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Monastery Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 369.8
     
    Calories from Fat 132
    35%
    Total Fat 14.6 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 849.4 mg
    35%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 17.5 g
    70%
    Sugars 7.7 g
    30%
    Protein 16.3 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites