Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Yakisoba(Japanese fried noodles) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Yakisoba(Japanese fried noodles)

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on June 03, 2002

      Warning this could be addicting! DH and I just wanted something simple for dinner tonight and this was perfect. I doubled the recipe, added 1 lb of ground pork and saved some of the noodle cooking liquid to add a little extra flavor. I had visions of having leftovers for breakfast, - it's gone not a single noodle left.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2002

      Mmm, very good! I halved the recipe and used 3/4 tablespoon cooking oil and 1/2 teaspoon sesame oil. I flavoured it with 2 teaspoons soy sauce. This was really simple to make and is good for brown bagging because it tastes good cold as well, although your recipe asks for it to be served hot! I will definitely make this again, and perhaps add a few more veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      We love yakisoba around here and this was just delicious! I sometimes use packages of stir-fry vegetables in my yakisoba so I opted to add a few more to this--carrots and bean sprouts. Thanks for the great recipe, which I will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2004

      My family owns a cheese roll and noodle house in japan. So when it comes to soba, I'm very picky. This recipe wasn't bad at all. It was easy to make. I substitued the ramen for a more traditional style yakisoba noodle. I also opted for fresh ginger (about 1/2 tsp). Then I added more vegitables and chicken. Chicken isn't exactly traditionaly popular in yakisoba. Nonetheless, it was tasted fine. I'd suggest using pork, if you have it on hand.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2003

      I've been searching for this recipe for a long time, and finally found it. They serve this at several Chinese buffets in this area, not sure what they called it, but I love it. I used angel hair pasta and green onions, added mushrooms just because I had some I wanted to use up, and added a half cup chicken broth. I've made this twice this week, even husband and daughter who "don't eat cabbage" loved this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      I used to get the best Yakisoba in Salt Lake City. This is awful close to the real thing. No vendors here come close. I cooked thin slices of beef removed them to a bowl ..and threw the onions and cabbage in the same pan adding a bit more oil. What a delicious meal.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      These noodles had a very good flavor that was both easy to make and economical! I did add more noodles to the dish than called for (I was doubled it, but added four packs of noodles), and instead of cooking the noodles in the seasoning packets, I stirred that up with a little water and added part of that to the noodles and vegetables as they fried towards the end to give a little added flavor. I also added chicken to the dish, which I coooked beforehand, adding a little soy sauce and ginger to it as it cooked, which gave it a better flavor than just plain. Very good, and I will be making this dish again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2002

      you can also go to any asian market and find a sauce called otafku yakisoba sauce it will make it a lot more like japan. after being in japan for 3 years when we left we also missed the soba, try it with some mushrooms, and white pepper it adds a lot of flavor

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

    • on January 14, 2013

      5 stars for simplicity and great flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2011

      Super easy... but the noodles weren't as crispy as I'd liked. I added a little bit of teriyaki sauce to add some more flavor. I made it a bit healthier with some grilled chicken and veggies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      We love this!! The first time I made it, I followed the directions (used oriental ramen) but didn't have sesame oil so I cut out that ingredient and added toasted sesame seeds. I've made it a few times since then and still only use sesame seeds (instead of the oil) but I now add a lot more cabbage because I'm a big cabbage fan. I just made it again the other night but doubled it (I used one oriental ramen and one chili one)...However, I cut down the oil to one tablespoon to fry the cabbage/onion and then added some of the noodle liquid with the noodles. It wasn't quite as good because it wasn't quite as fried but it was still really tasty and a lot less calories. Thanks so much for the recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      This was great! I doubled the recipe for my family for dinner and added pork from a leftover roast. I will be making this again. I wonder how it would taste with egg scrambled in? May have to try that next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      Nice lunch! I added carrot and mushroom as well as a bit of sweet mirin with the soy sauce. I like to serve mine with a little sambal olek. Good and quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Awesome!!! I used different noodles and tripled the servings. Everyone loved it so much!! it is addicting!! Thank you so much! i have eatten these everyday for like a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2009

      Very yummy and easy. I doubled the recipe and my family enjoyed it. I did use a tiny bit more oil for all that food, but otherwise didn't change anything. Thanks hokiegal. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Very quick, inexpensive and easy, but so full of flavor. I may have used more than 2 cups of cabbage..... I just cut a wedge of the head and sliced it. You could easily add mushrooms and/or some chicken for a great all in one meal. Thanx for sharing this; it' a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      Good flavor, easy prep, (I chop/freeze veggies so they'll last longer, it's more budget-friendly) and the frozen onions/cabbage worked just fine! A very cost-effective, nummy nummy dish :) The possibilities are endless with this one! Next time I will marinate some thinly sliced beef and add it in the mix too, along with some more varieties of frozen veg.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2007

      This was good. The seasoning packet in the ramen noodles is the key I think.Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Yakisoba(Japanese fried noodles)

    Serving Size: 1 (209 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 377.9
     
    Calories from Fat 204
    54%
    Total Fat 22.6 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 881.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 39.1 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 4.2 g
    16%
    Sugars 6.3 g
    25%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites