Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Waldorf Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Waldorf Salad

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 06, 2003

      This is GOOD!! Wonderful taste. Lovely presentation. Easy to make. I wouldn't change a thing, it's a perfect salad for any occasion. I will put this one in my "keeper" file. Thanks Miss Annie for another super recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2001

      This always looks so pretty, a definite favourite. Simple to prepare and love the crunch of the ingredients. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      Lovely! A perfect addition to an autumn dinner party. I used pecans instead of walnuts and milk instead of cream (I'll use cream next time). So wonderful without any of those nasty additions like pineapple and (gasp) mini marshmellows. ;) Thanks for a simple yet elegant salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2002

      Crunchy, and very good salad! Really liked it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2002

      This is just like the salad I grew up with. It's very crunchy and just the right amount of sweetness. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      I think this is the best Waldorf Salad that I have eaten. I have used it 4 times now for a church group meeting. It always makes a hit, nothing left to take home.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      Most excellent and, I am pleased to report, allows for improvisation too. I had no cream and didn't want to use fat free milk so I used plain yoghurt instead (I bet sour cream would work too). I also roasted the pecans b4 chopping. This is a GREAT recipe, thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      I give this recipe zero stars. I get many, many recipes from this site and almost always get great reviews. I made this for my daughters baby shower and was so embarrassed. Nobody ate it. I followed the recipe exactly so... My son-in-law was very surprised when he learned that I made this awful salad :(

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      I made this to accompany Christmas dinner last night. I added some walnuts, raisins and sliced grapes to it which made it very tasty. As a nice variation, I sometimes add sunflowers seeds. Editing to add an extra star as this has become a high demand dish for Christmas and Thanksgiving celebrations. Everyone raves about it and asks for the recipe. One friend is 80+ years old and says its exactly like her mom used to make. I always double the batch so she gets the leftovers! This is my standard Waldorf Salad!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2004

      Lovely, sophisticated version of the Waldorf salad. I would add perhaps another tbsp. of mayo; the dressing lacked a little body. On taste and presentation, this is definitely a winner! I made a mistake, having nothing to do with this recipe; I used my food processor to chop the celery. It made it too fine, and somehow changed the taste(?). I will not be lazy, and chop by hand next time (and there will be a next time!). I used pecans because that is what I had. All in all, a lovely recipe that we enjoyed very much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2003

      Very good salad. I used milk (next time I will use cream). I like waldorf salad to be a little creamier than this was, this time. The apple cider vinegar is a nice addition. I did halve the recipe for only 2 of us. Did feel that it was a little heavy on celery so will cut back on that next time too. Thanks for sharing Miss Annie. Tweeky.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Yum! This tastes like summer lunches at Grandma's house! Grandma used to put in raisins and I used craisins instead. That is the only change I made. Great recipe! So refreshing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2012

      Miss Annie, this recipe is fantastic! A special thanks to your mom! I love that it is lightly dressed. It is most flavorful. I used half & half and also added some halved green grapes and dried cherries. Just delightful for a hot summer grillin' & chillin' kinda night! Now I get to have some for lunch too, YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2011

      Very good recipe. I wished when I was done that I had cut the apples into smaller chunks. (I had cut 8 slices and then each slice into 3 pieces. It would have been better half that size.) I added a dash of lemon juice to the apples to make sure they didn't turn. I used light Best Foods/Hellman's. Very good and hubby liked it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2010

      Yes, Mom's recipe is wonderful. Even my son, who said no to trying it did ,and he really liked it! It will definitely be on our table this Easter too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      This was a great salad! My whole family really enjoyed it. All the flavors went together well. Will make it from now on. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      Terrific!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

    • on May 09, 2008

      This is the kind of Waldorf salad I remember from my childhood. It is refreshing, easy to put together and just right for a side salad. Not to sweet. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      It was great, served it for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone loved it and it was easy to prepare. Made a lot too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Waldorf Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (145 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 285.8
     
    Calories from Fat 207
    72%
    Total Fat 23.0 g
    35%
    Saturated Fat 5.3 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 56.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.0 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 14.1 g
    56%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites