19 Reviews

I made a quarter-recipe except since I planned to use my cookie press, I used 1/2 teaspoon baking powder because I didn't want them to puff too much. I used some italian orange oil (fiori di sicilia) in the dough, and orange oil, lemon flavouring, and lemon juice in the glaze, and they were wonderful! Took them to Easter Dinner (an Italian-themed potluck) and our family loved them. Thanks so much - I will make them again! (and I'll make them without the cookie press & the right amount of baking powder soon too!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wax lion April 06, 2010

Outstanding cookie. let me tell you how much. I just spent 3 hours on line searching for it again, since i lost the copy. I made 3 diffrent stlyes flavors with the batch of dough. i make lets of holiday cookies and these have just become my favorite of all time. i may even make them during the year. just the best best best best ever, thank you so much for sharing simple and fantastic THANKS CHEF

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jt3451 January 08, 2009

i have made this recipe about 6 times since last xmas and i just love it! it is so versitile and forgiving - if you leave it overnight or add too much of something it still turns out perfect! i am about to make some for halloween and realised that i haven't reviewed it yet! thank you for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chefamy October 27, 2007

I have been using this recipe for the past 2 or 3 christmases. I did cut the recipe in half and still had enough to feed an army. I love this cookie. I also used almond and anise extract. Not everyone likes anise, but I make alot of cookies and this one is for me!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FOREVER YOUNG March 12, 2007

Delizioso! I used almond extract and the cookies had a wonderful, soft texture and the flavor was perfect! I made only 1/4 of the recipe, but I should have made half instead, as they were gone in no time! I shaped them into knots. Here is how I shaped the knots: I scooped 1 T. of dough and rolled it into a ball in between the palms of my hands. Then I rolled it on a slightly floured counter with the tips of my fingers (forward and back) to make a 5 inch rope, then shaped loosely into a knot. They took 10 minutes to bake in my oven. Thanks Becky! I will definitely be using your recipe for years to come!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim D. December 09, 2004

I cut this in half for a family snack. We all love them. Really great receipt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeanne F. January 31, 2016

I made these (half a recipe) as part of my Christmas baskets for my friends, and they are delicious! The reason I am giving it 4 stars is because I did the recipe exactly as stated (I chilled it for probably about 2 hours), and when I put the first batch into the oven, all the cute knots and "S" shapes that I made all flattened out, so they just looked like round cookies. After that I just rolled them into small bouncy ball-sized balls, and stuck them in the oven. The baking time and temperature were right on (I took them out at 10 minutes). I did like reviewer Mctet and, after making the glaze, just drizzled it over the cookies with the whisk I used to stir it with. THEN (I know, I have lots to say....) I sprinkled them with red and green sugar. They did look "arty." I just called them "Italian Cloud Cookies," because I labeled everything in the basket, and they weren't from my mom. Haha. They did stay soft for like 5 days, though, kept in an airtight container. Nice. Anyway, I have a recipe similar to this one (that does keep their shape), so I'll probably stick to that, but I thought I'd give this a shot. P.S. My husband liked 'em a lot too. :) Thanks for sharing this, and I'm glad we tried it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 December 27, 2011

Wonderful cookies. Frosted them with Blue and Orange frosting. The color of the Boise Broncos. I am sure it helped them with the football game!!!! They were easy and tasty. Thanks, Justine

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest September 06, 2009

Absolutely Delicious. I've been looking for a traditional Italian cookie to add to my holiday cookie recipes, and these are the best. I received more complements on these cookies than any I've made. They are great with coffee and tea, and just so tastey. Thanks so much. I'll be making them for many years to come...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mvoll27 March 19, 2008
Mom's Traditional Italian Cookies