8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is some serious bbq chicken. The sauce has such a wonderful, mellow flavor. The hint of each spice is there, and made me wonder what flavor I would experience next. Each mouthful was a true delight. I made the recipe exactly as directed. I might add another 1/8th tsp. red pepper flakes next time, but maybe not, because it is one of those wonderful dishes you don't want to mess up. Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miss Annie October 13, 2002

This is very tasty marinade for chicken. It is spicy but subtly so leaves a lovely after taste. The instructions couls be a little clearer. IE List of ingredients could start with 2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts or a whole chicken, skin on cut into quarters (or whatever your intent) And step one of the instructions is not clear. This is very minor and certainly did not detract from enjoying this wonderful recipe I have some (unused) marinade left over and I think I will try it on Prawns. Thanks Najwa

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bergy July 02, 2002

The spicing was subtle, but very nice. The chicken was moist and tender. I ommitted the oil. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aussie Chef Tracy August 29, 2007

We enjoyed this recipe. For dietary reasons, I omitted the oil and cut back the salt to 1/4 tsp, & used lowfat buttermilk and it worked just fine for our tastes. I marinated overnight and the buttermilk acts as a natural tenderizer and left the chicken breast very moist, tender and juicy. Thank you Najwa for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ April 02, 2007

This was okay. Maybe would have been better on the grill, but I don't have one so I broiled. The hummus and pita might have been really good too, but I didn't have those either. It was a pretty good meal though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers November 08, 2006

I really loved this one. Used lowfat buttermilk and cut the salt to 1 teaspoon. For the chicken, 1 inch cubes of boneless breast meat. The seasoning on this is very subtle with no one flavor jumping in front of the others; instead, they all meld together into a flavor all its own. The skewers cooked in just 5 minutes on the George Foreman resulting in a moist and tender chicken. Would cerrtainly not add more salt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni March 16, 2005

Not sure what went wrong, I liked the spices used in this, but the chicken was way to salty for us. Maybe if I halfed the salt and doubled the spices. I'll try that next time. The chicken did turn out very tender and moist on the grill. I think this recipy is just shy of 4 stars, but more than 3.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv4food July 25, 2004

I really liked this chicken. It was very flavorful without having the spices hit you over the head with a hammer. I used chicken tenders - next time I might use larger pieces of chicken breast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BettyBoop330 January 29, 2003
Mom's to die for BBQ Chicken