Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Tartar Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Tartar Sauce

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on February 12, 2004

      Well, I really liked this AFTER I added a heaping tablespoon of sweet pickle relish. It was a little too sour for me. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      You should put this on the shelves at the store. You will put everyone out of business! I absolutely love it, it's simple and it has NOTHING to do with the other versions I've tried(and hated). Thank you for sharing, I am steeling your recipe and making it forever mine ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2003

      Hi Julesong! This is the first time I've ever made homemade tartar sauce. It was out of necessity, but I don't see any reason to buy it premade anymore. I used fresh grated onion because I didn't have dried, but that just meant I got to use it right away. It was delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      I waffled between 4 and 5 stars for this. The 5 stars were because it was made entirely from pantry ingredients which did not include fresh parsley or capers. The 4 stars was because I felt it could have been more tart. After tasting, I did add more pickles. (I didn't care for the balsamic vinegar flavor.) I would have added more lemon juice if I had not thrown out the lemon before tasting. In any case, this was certainly tasty if not the best in the world. When you are in a rush, this is the one for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      This is great! I liked the addition of chives and onion

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2012

      My kind of tartar sauce. I didn't have balsamic vinegar so I put in a few shots of Worcestershire sauce. It was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

    • on April 03, 2010

      I'm not rating this tonite, because I just made it 5 min. ago, and I think it needs sitting a little. It was very good. I think I might use fresh onion next time, but it's excellent right now. I bet it's really super tomorrow, and then I'll rate it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      SOOO GOOD!! I made this for cod fish sticks, Homemade Cod Fish Sticks. I've made tartar sauce before, but the dill pickles make such a difference! I didn't have dried onion, but used fresh, and didnt add the balsamic vinegar or chives because I didnt have any... the taste wasnt lacking though! this is my new tartar sauce recipe, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

    • on October 27, 2009

      Yummy! I just made this to go with the fried catfish I'm making tonight. I lost my old recipe so whipped this one up just now. I'm so glad I did. This is the recipe I'll use from now on. I love how tangy it is. I didn't have any chives so I left those out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      My eldest son made this (18 years old and GREAT in the kitchen). He and I both agreed that it was super easy to make and we liked how you can adjust the taste to suit your tastes. :) He added extra lemon juice and left out the dried onion flaked (too bad, I would have liked them) and we had fresh chives from the garden. It was simply wonderful. This kicks butt on the junk at the store!! :) If you prefer a tangy tartar sauce (instead of a sweet tasting one) you will like this recipe. We like tang and zip and this delivered. The balsamic vinegar was a wonderful addition! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2009

      This recipe was great! I especially liked it because it was so easy to make and was made of ingredients I had on hand. It even tastes good without the pickles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      This was very good. I usually make my own tartar sauce but was out of relish, so I was glad to find this recipe. It was nice for a change.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2008

      Mmmmm... Very good. No onion anything in my house, so I dashed some garlic powder & dill to make up for it. So good I had to lick the mixing spoon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This was fantastic! Even my husband, who never says anything but "it's alright" said it was really good. I added a touch of salt and the balsamic vinegar really added a little extra special something...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This is fantastic!!!! Not sweet but very savory!!!!! Thanks Jules!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      very good recipe,and so simple to make.thanks a million!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      It's funny how slightly different ingredients make such a difference. I usually use sweet relish with a similar base but the dill pickles did it for me. Thanks for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2008

      Made this tonite and have to say this was the best tartar sauce I have ever made. I skipped the chives because I didn't have any, but otherwise the family all loved it. Thanks Jules!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Tartar Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (48 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 233.3
     
    Calories from Fat 176
    75%
    Total Fat 19.6 g
    30%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 458.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.1 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    16%
    Protein 0.6 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites