25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Well, I really liked this AFTER I added a heaping tablespoon of sweet pickle relish. It was a little too sour for me. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn February 12, 2004

You should put this on the shelves at the store. You will put everyone out of business! I absolutely love it, it's simple and it has NOTHING to do with the other versions I've tried(and hated). Thank you for sharing, I am steeling your recipe and making it forever mine ;)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jujucooks November 23, 2011

Hi Julesong! This is the first time I've ever made homemade tartar sauce. It was out of necessity, but I don't see any reason to buy it premade anymore. I used fresh grated onion because I didn't have dried, but that just meant I got to use it right away. It was delicious!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GinnyP June 13, 2003

Excellent. I added 1/2 tsp, of balsamic vinegar and it was just fine,

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 November 22, 2014

I waffled between 4 and 5 stars for this. The 5 stars were because it was made entirely from pantry ingredients which did not include fresh parsley or capers. The 4 stars was because I felt it could have been more tart. After tasting, I did add more pickles. (I didn't care for the balsamic vinegar flavor.) I would have added more lemon juice if I had not thrown out the lemon before tasting. In any case, this was certainly tasty if not the best in the world. When you are in a rush, this is the one for you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cook In Southwest November 14, 2012

This is great! I liked the addition of chives and onion

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 June 18, 2012

My kind of tartar sauce. I didn't have balsamic vinegar so I put in a few shots of Worcestershire sauce. It was delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon May 29, 2012

I'm not rating this tonite, because I just made it 5 min. ago, and I think it needs sitting a little. It was very good. I think I might use fresh onion next time, but it's excellent right now. I bet it's really super tomorrow, and then I'll rate it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Bliss~ April 03, 2010

SOOO GOOD!! I made this for cod fish sticks, Homemade Cod Fish Sticks. I've made tartar sauce before, but the dill pickles make such a difference! I didn't have dried onion, but used fresh, and didnt add the balsamic vinegar or chives because I didnt have any... the taste wasnt lacking though! this is my new tartar sauce recipe, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
groovey blonde March 07, 2010
Mom's Tartar Sauce