Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Swiss Steak Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Swiss Steak

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2011

      I used a cheap cut of meat and 2 hours proved too long and it was dry. But that was my fault for not checking it. Otherwise, we added the carrots as suggested and the whole thing was really delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2011

      Made this with london broil as directed. Easy and tasty. I like the fact that was not tomatoe based as most swiss steak recipes are. I baked up perfectly in the oven and the fact that I baked it in the same pan I browned it in made clean up go fast. DH loved it and it will go in our regular rotation. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      This was really good...the whole family enjoyed it. I did add a can of tomato paste to make it more tomato-ey, and also thickened it the sauce with some flour. Served it over hot cooked noodles.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Was looking for a recipe with out all the tomatoes. This fit the bill. Meat was very tender, with a very good taste. I browned and cooked it in my cast iron fry pan in the oven, covering it tight with foil. Did add some corn starch. the gravy was thick and delish over potatoes. 2 hours was just right. thank you Sage.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2009

      The meat was tasty and fall-apart tender. This was very close to my grandma's recipe taste-wise, but there was too much broth. It was almost like a soup. Next time I'll either cut back or take some broth out at the end of cooking and thicken it with some flour to make gravy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      It was soo good! I added just a hint of woschestire sauce... I think i added to much broth... but hey when you can cut steak with a spoon it cant be too bad!!! thanks for a great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      I used the crock pot with good results but as we are only 2 I used 2 small sirloin cuts. DH loved the sauce but thought the meat was too dry and I thought the meat was fine but was not in love with the sweetness that the ketchup gave the sauce (I had thought the mustard might cut that). Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2004

      I cooked this in the crockpot on high for 1 hour, then on low for 6 hours. It came out nice and fall apart tender! My husband loved it. Thanks Sage!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Swiss Steak

    Serving Size: 1 (313 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 256.8
     
    Calories from Fat 62
    24%
    Total Fat 6.9 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 83.1 mg
    27%
    Sodium 919.1 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 7.0 g
    28%
    Protein 36.4 g
    72%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites