Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Stuffed Bell Peppers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      This was a great way to cook peppers on the stovetop! They turned out nice and saucy, and the meat was done right on time just as promised. The flavor reminds me of good homestyle cooking- perhaps many "Moms" made peppers that tasted quite like this. I know it tasted kind of like my Moms peppers! Good comfort food! Thanks for a nice recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2014

      I loved it! I was looking for a recipe like my mom use to make and this is pretty close. The only thing is she did not precook the onions but they tasted just the same and she didnt add tomatoes, although I like the addition of tomatoes. This is good ole comfort food at its best and I will make it exactly as written again, for sure. Thanks Karen for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2013

      I usually make my peppers with only tomato soup but have now found a new favorite addition--the tomatoes but will cut back tomatoes to 14 oz can~~~32 oz way to many tomatoes for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2012

      I won't rate the recipe as written because I cook the peppers differently. I put all the ingredients together (uncooked including rice and peppers) and then boil them in a stock pot for 1 1/2 hours. This method does require that you use double the amount of tomato saunce. But, you don't need to precook. The actual ingredients listed are just perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2010

      finally a traditional stuffed pepper! this is just like my grandmothers recipe. She also made some without peppers for the kids and we always called them porcupine meatballs, good stuff! When you cook the meat in the pepper vs loose you can add all kinds of leftovers too like a little diced cheese, sausage, even pepperoni! Perfect as written & thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Love it....loveit...love it...exactly how my mom used to make them...works well with turkey...only change was I added garlic to the sauteed onions...thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      Instead of precooking peppers, I followed this recipe using some of the sauce and garlic and parmesan cheese mixed with the meat. My mother-in-law made these without precooking peppers and the sauce was to die for cause the peppers flavared the sauce. We had canned corn in the sauce with the cooked peppers. This recipe is tops if you cook it like I suggest.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2008

    • on August 13, 2008

      I made this for dinner tonight. It was easy and delicious! Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I have been searching for a good stuffed bell pepper recipe for a very long time. I finally found my keeper! It was so easy, and it was alot faster than other recipes. It was very, very good. I added a little bit of the tomato mixture to the beef mixture before stuffing the peppers. Also, I only stuffed 3 peppers and the rest of the meat I put in blobs in the sauce too. Thanks for posting this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2007

      I've made this recipe several times, and I love it. I'm always sorry when I get full, 'cause it's so good... I used my mom's homemade canned tomato sauce in place of tomato soup, and I used red, orange & yellow peppers instead of green. I'll use small-medium peppers from now on--large ones seemed to take forever to cook through. (I didn't think about that prior to making this for friends one night with some peppers I needed to use up...)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I made your recipe tonight and it came out very good. I made a few changes though. I only used the sauteed onions in the meat and I used a large can of tomato sauce and added garlic powder to it. I served the peppers with rice and sauce on the side. yum, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2007

      This was awful,sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      This was an easy, delicious dinner to prepare. I made the recipe as written, but had to cut peppers length-wise as they wouldn't stand up on their own. I served this with an antipasto platter. Thank you so much for the tasty meal! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2006

      Fantastic recipe. It was a huge hit with our dinner guests. The only thing I changed was I added about a 1/4 cup of the sauce to the meat mixture prior to stuffing the peppers. I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2005

      Perfect as written. I like that you don't have to cook the meat ahead. It's delicious and I'll be making it again for sure. Thanks, Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      I made this the way the recipe read, except (there's always an except!) I used a small can of tomato paste and a can of water, instead of the soup. I also used 2 cups of rice, so that we had a heaping filling for 6 peppers. I have a gas stove and it is hard to get it on 'low' so I sat a 2nd burner on top of the first one, to raise the pan a bit above the flame. These are really excellent! Much more tender than oven ones, no overdone edges.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2004

      This was so simple to make and I had to give my husband a roll of papertowels rather than a napkin, because he kept drooling over the taste. Thanks a million.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2004

      This was just what I was looking for as I didn't want to turn on my oven and heat up the kitchen. I did make a few changes:added some garlic,thyme and basil to the meat mixture and a can of tomato sauce also.Maybe my peppers were just small,but I had a lot of meat left over to make into meatballs,which hubby and son devoured!This was a big hit at my house and I'll be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Stuffed Bell Peppers

    Serving Size: 1 (422 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 502.9
     
    Calories from Fat 202
    40%
    Total Fat 22.4 g
    34%
    Saturated Fat 9.1 g
    45%
    Cholesterol 131.2 mg
    43%
    Sodium 1291.6 mg
    53%
    Total Carbohydrate 48.7 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 8.0 g
    32%
    Sugars 10.4 g
    41%
    Protein 30.1 g
    60%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes