Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Sit Sandwich (Aka Squishy Sorta Muffuletta) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Sit Sandwich (Aka Squishy Sorta Muffuletta)

    Average Rating:

    88 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 88

    Sort by:

    • on November 15, 2006

      Many requests for this recipe (especially by my artichoke loving husband). Easy to make and fabulous to eat. Love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

      This is indeed the best sandwich I ever ate. And it seems to taste better, the longer it sits in the fridge.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      This was GREAT. The only changes for next time, no artichokes or juice. I just make my own herbed mayo. Thank you for a wonderful recipe to take to our Potlucks at the Park!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      I took this to the winery yesterday, and it was a HUGE HIT with everyone. I'm always a little leary to try a new recipe for a special occasion, but everyone enjoyed this and wanted to know how I made it. I used an herb foccacia bread in place of the french bread, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. This was super easy to put together and was enjoyed by everyone. I'm so glad I found this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2006

      We took this camping and boy was it a hit. I made individual sandwiches on small French loaves. I made honey mustard to replace the mayo as I was a little leary taking the mayo in the cooler. Very good, very filling. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2006

      This is a versatile sandwich which we all enjoyed, and I can think of lots of other yummy ingredients which could be mixed and matched with those already listed. Next time I may mix pesto in with the mayonnaise, and use soft ciabatta bread rather than a French loaf. Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      What a yummy and fun sandwich to make! It was very easy to put together. The sauce was runny, but it had an excellent flavor. My whole family enjoyed it especially my oldest son. The only problem was that all four children had to have a turn to sit on it, which made it a little too smushed. Thanks for a fun family recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      This recipe is great!!! I love the idea that it can be prepared in advance and that you don't have to worry about it getting accidentally smashed in the picnic basket. I made this for a family picnic a few weeks ago. My oldest daughter was flabbergasted when I asked her to sit on the sandwich. She hesitantly did it while turning beat red and giving me one strange look after another. What a hoot!! I will definately make this again, but next time I will make an adult side (with the artichoke hearts) and a kid side (without artichoke hearts) because my children did not like the taste of them. Thanks, Julesong, for an "experience" that we will all remember!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      This was lots of fun to make - and my daughter loved sitting on it - but the comment went around that it was a bit salty - so next time I'll use reduced sodium turkey - also the mayo wasn't a "spread" but a liquid - we just spooned it over and it soaked in...Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2006

      This was so good! I followed the recipe exactly, used sharp cheddar cheese slices, and served it with french fries. Everyone loved it, even my mom who HATES cooking exclaimed "Now see, if I were going to cook I would make a fun sandwich like this!" And I definitely will make it again. I think next time I will use a little more mayo and a little less artichoke liquid in the mixture because my bread was a teeny bit soggy on the bottom...other than that, thanks for the delicious recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      this was a fun fun sandwhich to put together and to eat my 10 year old great neice loved it.. she can't believe she got to sit on a sandwhich "on purpose and then eat it too"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      My family loved this, and we had a lot of laughs! What more can you ask of a sandwich? Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2006

      Yummy....my kids looked at my husband like he was crazy while he was sitting on their dinner. Omitted the onions but it still tasted great - a little messy but a definate keeper. Thank you !

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2006

      I have made this sandwich three times and each time, I add something. A little basil on the tomatoes, Sourdough bread, spicier meats. Each time it just gets better!! What a wonderful recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      I have made this three times & LOVE it! I use dijonnaise instead of the mayo & artichoke juice, & have also tried various combinations of meats, cheeses & vegies; btw roasted peppers are delicious, & I've also used shredded cooked chicken! The only issue we have is that because we are only two, there has been some waste as I haven't thought to freeze the sandwich. I am thinking that in future we may buy a smaller loaf or perhaps even experiment with individual sandwiches that we can sit on! Thanks for sharing a definite keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      This was a big hit with my fire company. I made it with sourdough bread and used different combinations like roast beef and ham to add some variety.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2006

      This is definitely a five-star recipe. A little unusual, but very tasty! I used a rosemary & olive oil round loaf of french bread and saved the soft pieces for dipping oil. On the sandwich, I layered it with tomatoes, artichokes, onion, banana peppers, salami, turkey, and provolone. For the sauce, instead of using the artichoke liquid, I mixed a little Italian dressing in with the mayo. It was fabulous! Thanks for the recipe, Julesong! I will definitely be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2006

      Excellent sandwich! The directions don't say how much artichoke juice to use - I used about half and I think that was a bit too much. Our store only had pumpernickel bread and we used provolone cheese. Definite keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      I couldn't bring myself to sit on it, we changed it up a bit, we used Bollio rolls and didn't refrigerate it after it was made... was still VERY yummy! A great weekend lunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2006

      This is just so much fun and delicious as well -- a perfect Super Bowl recipe which brought rave reviews and lots of laughs. We used a loaf of fresh French bread and it worked fine. You just have to sit on it 2-3 times, working your way from one end to the other of the loaf :-). Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Sit Sandwich (Aka Squishy Sorta Muffuletta)

    Serving Size: 1 (258 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.3
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    50%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 699.0 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites