89 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Here's another great review for this sandwich! I made this for our family camping trip and everyone loved them. I used a long loaf of italian bread since that was all I could find. I also used sweet roasted red peppers instead of tomatoes and added alfalfa sprouts which turned out great. I have to admit that we didn't sit on them first, but it didn't seem to matter! Thanks for posting. I'm sure I will make again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 01, 2009

This is absolutely delicious. I made this after asking for some suggestions for picnic type recipes in 'request a recipe'. Very easy to put together and great flavours, I used chicken instead of turkey and a garlic salami. I had told my husband what we were meant to do with it once we got to our picnic destination, and he gave me this kinda 'oh yeah?' look..well anyway...we unpack the cooler overlooking Caroline Bay in Timaru, a few fellow picknickers around I might add..and Im thinking...hmmm..Im gonna get some weird looks if Im seen sitting on my lunch!..and no amount of persuasion would get dh to do it..so I grabbed a cloth...placed sandwich on the bench seat, covered it with a cloth and then quickly sat on it...WELL...the air escaped from the plastic wrap and these extremely LOUD noises erupted from said sandwich..and then all dh and I could do was burst out laughing..honestly it was hilarious! Putting aside the fun side of this recipe it really is very good..and I will be making it again and again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* January 22, 2005

Could not remember what meats to buy so used Peppered Turkey, Roast Beef, Pepperoni, Provolone cheese and everything else suggested except I forgot to buy Red onion. I only used 1/2 of mayo as called for. I used a round loaf of sourdough bread

UPDATE Made two times now Love this recipe quick, convenient and people think I bought the sandwich and have asked where I purchased it

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muffinlady March 02, 2011

Can't believe I haven't reviewed.....absolutely wonderful. For us, the perfect combo of flavors (sans tomatoes). Perfect Super Bowl fare. Love it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou February 04, 2011

This is delish!! Made as shown except left off onions because some didn't care for them. Made it once with the round French bread, was great, then went to store and they were sold out, so I substituted Kings Hawaiian, it was awesome!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Chevelle February 01, 2011

I've made this sandwich quite a few times with rave reviews from everyone who's tried it. I omit the olives (personal preference) & sometimes add roasted red peppers. A great versatile recipe that I would highly recommend, thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvMyWeim January 31, 2011

This was great! Thanks for a delicious sandwich!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
drinkmore June 11, 2009

An awesome sandwich!! I doubled the ingredients and made up 2 of these to serve as snacks while sipping cold ones on the dock over Memorial Day weekend. They were a big hit...especially when the "sit" part was demonstrated! 5 stars from all and many requests for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJan May 27, 2009

Oh So GOOD! my family loved this sandwich. I made it along with some onion soup for dinner and it was a definite hit! I left out the olives because I'm just not a fan, used Havarti cheese, and threw the chopped artichoke hearts in with the onions. it was a rich, adult flavored sandwich and ever so entertaining when i called them to the kitchen for dinner and then whipped out the sandwich and sat on it. This one will be going into my recipe box!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
verybaddmom March 07, 2009

We loved this! We had a picnic with some friends and to avoid needing a knife I made individual sandwiches on ciabatta rolls, which also may have made for easier handling, since the sandwich filling was pretty contained. The only other significant change was using pesto rather than the mayo spread; just a personal preference since I'm not a big mayo fan. Overall, the sandwiches were a huge hit and the only thing better than the look on our friends' faces when I told them that they had to sit on the sandwich before they could eat it, was the look on our kids' faces when we actually did it. It was great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GranolaMama October 01, 2008
Mom's Sit Sandwich (Aka Squishy Sorta Muffuletta)