Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Sit Sandwich (Aka Squishy Sorta Muffuletta) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Sit Sandwich (Aka Squishy Sorta Muffuletta)

    Average Rating:

    89 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 89

    Sort by:

    • on August 15, 2010

      Wow! This was the bomb! Made one for supper, and the rest for dh lunch tomorrow. I added leaf lettuce also, the only other thing I might add would be dill slices. This is an outstanding recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      I made this sandwich for a picnic at the Hollywood Bowl when kids and grandkids were in town. Used an artisan french bread that did not need to be hollowed out and made different versions for kids and adults. Also used plenty of various nitrate free meats (roasted turkey breast, Black Forest ham, roast beef, turkey pastrami and pepperoni), so probably used more meat than the recipe amounts. The kids especially enjoyed watching Grandma sitting on their dinner and we all thought the sandwiches were first rate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      My husband says this is the best sandwich he has ever had, homemade or from a restaurant. The mayo/artichoke sauce is amazing. I think the sandwich works best with a very crusty loaf, as otherwise the chill time can result in it being a bit soggy (still delicious, just difficult to eat).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2010

      Yummo!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      This was awesome and my daughter especially liked sitting on the sandwich. Made the meal fun!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2009

      YUMMY! I used 3-4 tbsp of the artichoke liquid with the 1/2 cup of mayo and it was perfect. I also added genoa salami, Italian dry salami, maple honey turkey breast and meunster cheese. Everyone looved it. Only problem was there were no leftovers!!! Next time I'll add sopresatta and maybe try the havarti cheese. The possibilities are endless!!!! Thanks Julesong!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      My family LOVED this sandwich -- we opted to squish it by placing it between two cutting boards and having my 88-year-old mom step on it. It was delicious! It even tasted good a day later. I was afraid to put the whole amount of liquid in the mayo so put about half instead. Still a wonderful combination of flavors. Thanks for posting such a fun and tasty recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2009

      This was so yummy! I used all turkey and Swiss and cheddar cheeses. I halved the recipe. Very easy and good! It was a little messy but we ate it outside so that was fine. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      Thank you for a fantastic picnic meal. I have made this several times & love that it can be made ahead! The flavour is outstanding! Next time, i'm adding a sprinkling of feta as well....LOVE IT!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      Well Julesong, don't know what I enjoyed the most, the prep instructions or eating the sandwich. I made this for a picnic DH and I had planned and I loved looking at his face when I told him he had to "sit on it"!! I used home made sour dough french bread and made some minor changes for personal preferance. Added some creamy wasabi to the mayonnaise, and followed your suggestion adding red pepper, fresh basil and slices of avocado. Very nice recipe with clear (and fun) directions. Thanks so much for posting, will be using this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      Here's another great review for this sandwich! I made this for our family camping trip and everyone loved them. I used a long loaf of italian bread since that was all I could find. I also used sweet roasted red peppers instead of tomatoes and added alfalfa sprouts which turned out great. I have to admit that we didn't sit on them first, but it didn't seem to matter! Thanks for posting. I'm sure I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2005

      This is absolutely delicious. I made this after asking for some suggestions for picnic type recipes in 'request a recipe'. Very easy to put together and great flavours, I used chicken instead of turkey and a garlic salami. I had told my husband what we were meant to do with it once we got to our picnic destination, and he gave me this kinda 'oh yeah?' look..well anyway...we unpack the cooler overlooking Caroline Bay in Timaru, a few fellow picknickers around I might add..and Im thinking...hmmm..Im gonna get some weird looks if Im seen sitting on my lunch!..and no amount of persuasion would get dh to do it..so I grabbed a cloth...placed sandwich on the bench seat, covered it with a cloth and then quickly sat on it...WELL...the air escaped from the plastic wrap and these extremely LOUD noises erupted from said sandwich..and then all dh and I could do was burst out laughing..honestly it was hilarious! Putting aside the fun side of this recipe it really is very good..and I will be making it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2011

      Could not remember what meats to buy so used Peppered Turkey, Roast Beef, Pepperoni, Provolone cheese and everything else suggested except I forgot to buy Red onion. I only used 1/2 of mayo as called for. I used a round loaf of sourdough bread

      UPDATE Made two times now Love this recipe quick, convenient and people think I bought the sandwich and have asked where I purchased it

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2011

      Can't believe I haven't reviewed.....absolutely wonderful. For us, the perfect combo of flavors (sans tomatoes). Perfect Super Bowl fare. Love it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      This is delish!! Made as shown except left off onions because some didn't care for them. Made it once with the round French bread, was great, then went to store and they were sold out, so I substituted Kings Hawaiian, it was awesome!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2011

      I've made this sandwich quite a few times with rave reviews from everyone who's tried it. I omit the olives (personal preference) & sometimes add roasted red peppers. A great versatile recipe that I would highly recommend, thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2009

      This was great! Thanks for a delicious sandwich!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      An awesome sandwich!! I doubled the ingredients and made up 2 of these to serve as snacks while sipping cold ones on the dock over Memorial Day weekend. They were a big hit...especially when the "sit" part was demonstrated! 5 stars from all and many requests for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      Oh So GOOD! my family loved this sandwich. I made it along with some onion soup for dinner and it was a definite hit! I left out the olives because I'm just not a fan, used Havarti cheese, and threw the chopped artichoke hearts in with the onions. it was a rich, adult flavored sandwich and ever so entertaining when i called them to the kitchen for dinner and then whipped out the sandwich and sat on it. This one will be going into my recipe box!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      We loved this! We had a picnic with some friends and to avoid needing a knife I made individual sandwiches on ciabatta rolls, which also may have made for easier handling, since the sandwich filling was pretty contained. The only other significant change was using pesto rather than the mayo spread; just a personal preference since I'm not a big mayo fan. Overall, the sandwiches were a huge hit and the only thing better than the look on our friends' faces when I told them that they had to sit on the sandwich before they could eat it, was the look on our kids' faces when we actually did it. It was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Sit Sandwich (Aka Squishy Sorta Muffuletta)

    Serving Size: 1 (258 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.3
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    50%
    Total Fat 18.8 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.2 g
    31%
    Cholesterol 51.8 mg
    17%
    Sodium 699.0 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 17.8 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites