Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Shawerma(شاورما) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Shawerma(شاورما)

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on April 29, 2002

      This is delicious! I added a touch of cayenne pepper, just because we like it. I had to use the regular ole pita bread, but it sure was good! Very quick and easy, it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      This was awesome. Sooooo easy to make and a great taste. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Very tasty and authentic! Thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      Made this for dinner and was a little worried the spice combination would be a little too exotic for DH and son. They loved it. I kept the chicken breasts whole and grilled them. Sliced them up and served them in pitas with spinach, tomato, red onions, lemon garlic sauce and some feta. I made them last week and was looking up the recipe to make sure I had everything on hand to make them again this week when I realized I had forgotten to review it. It was good enough that it is already being requested again! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      Prepared this and as I was about to cook it... lost electricity. So the chicken marinated for a good 24 hours!!! It was tasty but was still missing some spices to my taste. Would make it again but would have it in a sandwich or with some type of sauce. Served it with some white pasta. Made for Holiday Tag. Thanks najwa! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2007

      This was good; a little plain for my taste, but yum! Would be good grilled too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Fantastic marinade.I added yogurt and mustard to the marinade and it was exactly the same shawarma i had at moroccan restaurant.Thank u.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      One of my favorite foods, and boy was this a tasty version!! Very easy to prepare as well. Enjoyed these with homemade arabian pita breads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      This was very good! We had this for dinner. Even my son enjoyed the chicken! The leftovers were even better. This is sure to become a staple in my kitchen. It is quick and easy with a great taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2006

      This was really good and different for me. Both my DH and I really enjoyed this. I didn’t have the coriander so instead I used cardamom and allspice in place of ground cloves. I made a garlic sauce of a head of garlic and ½ cup of olive oil whizzed together along with a Tbsp of lemon juice. When that was made I added some of that to mayonnaise and added some cayenne… Yummy! We will be making this again and next time I will remember to take a picture FIRST and then eat… I forgot to get the picture so the one posted is what I had left over with the garlic sauce on the side. Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2004

      This is so good!! I followed the recipe to the letter (except I used apple cider vinegar AND white vinegar). It was a little watery (cook's fault). We had it with the Arabic Pita Bread. This dish is pleasantly sour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2002

      Another excellent recipe, Najwa! I made this tonight for dinner and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. I realized (too late) that I didn't have any lemons :-O so I had to use a bit of sumac, which actually worked out pretty well! I doubled the cumin and the ginger too. I served it with a bit of plain yogurt and some rice. Fabulous! And so quick and easy! Thanks for another keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Shawerma(شاورما)

    Serving Size: 1 (142 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 153.3
     
    Calories from Fat 61
    39%
    Total Fat 6.8 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 50.3 mg
    16%
    Sodium 482.4 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.9 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites