11 Reviews

This is wonderful if you deep fry the sandwiches. They remind me of an empanada, but are so much easier. I have made similar sandwiches using biscuit dough, but sliced bread is a much cheaper alternative. I used rotisserie chicken, mayonnaise, steamed broccoli, colby jack cheese, onion, garlic, and salt and pepper. They came out amazing. By the way, I crimped the edges together using a fork to seal in the ingredients before dipping in the egg wash and crumbs. I also added a dash of seasoning salt to the bread crumbs, just for added flavor. Yummmmmmy!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi-curious September 08, 2007

We used leftover shredded BBQ chicken as well as the other filling suggestions. I liked them and hubby LOVED them. I knew he would as soon as I saw the recipe. He is a major carb addict. I do think I would skip the biscuit cutter next time and just cut off the crusts as another reviewer did. A bigger size sandwich would be nice, and less work for more results is nice too. I would like to know more about if/why this is special for Ramadan. Did you have them other times too, or just then? Thanks for the yummy idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
berry271 May 03, 2013

this was a great little snack for suhur (sarri) i made this the other morning for my family before sun came up, they loved it. This might not make a great meal but its perfect to breaf your fast during iftar and the best for suhur. I give it a 5/5 thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sulshansab September 05, 2009

Oh my God this is so good, I can't believe that someone would give it less than 5 stars. Thanks for sharing

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonbon 82 November 10, 2008

Nice and easy. I made these with a chicken salad and sliced tomato filling. I just trimmed the crust off the bread and didn't cut them into rounds. I left out the lettuce because I assumed it would gen a bit limp. After making them I can see I was probably wrong about that. These sandwiches are quite filling. Next time....and their will be a next time...I'll make one per person. This is a lovely technique for making any sandwhich a bit special. Thanks. This is a sure winner.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dustbunni October 24, 2007

I made with chopped turkey, tomatoes and mayo. They were pretty good, and I will definitely make circular grilled sandwiches in the future. They seemed to fry more uniformly without the crusts. It was fun to try, but I don’t think I will be breading the sandwiches in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shana C March 04, 2007

I made these last Ramadan and they are perfect for iftar. It is also good with beef soujuk, carmelized onions, and cheddar cheese.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jenny O. March 25, 2006

Najwa, my mom made these for Ramadan as well,used all differant fillings.Seeing this recipe made me want to bring the memories back,so i made them for her and she was so happy. I loved this :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ranoush December 22, 2005

Great sandwich and crispy! I made it now with different combinations of meats and also made them using cheese. Many thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us November 15, 2005

wow how did i miss your site? i you like to bake guys come here thanks for posting this i love grilled sandwiches and this is a good one

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. March 12, 2005
Mom's (ramadan) sandwiches