Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Mom's Potato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mom's Potato Salad

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on August 05, 2002

      Funny, I always make potato salad with EITHER mayonnaise or Miracle Whip. I never thought of combining the two! This is very good. The sour cream adds a nice touch too. I added a few minced sweet pickles. But it's the dressing that makes the dish! Thanks, Donna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2002

      To whoever tries this recipe, you use BOTH mayo AND Miracle Whip... it really makes a nice creamy dressing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2002

      Donna, as far as I'm concerned, your Mom knew the secret to the perfect potato salad! This was delicious! I omitted the onion, but added the green onion. Omitted the paprika and the parsley and made my own addition of 2 tbs sweet pickle relish. The combination of the sour cream, Miracle Whip and the Hellman's mayo was the perfect dressing for this salad. Thank you for posting this one, Donna. I will be using your Mom's method from now on! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2002

      Hi Donna; Superb potato salad. Yes, your Mom certainly knew what to to to make it taste so good. My recipe is very similar to yours. The Miracle Whip and Mayonnaise is great, never gave it a thought as I always use Miracle Whip. I added a few thinly sliced radishes and some Dry Mustard for a little pizzaz. Thanks much for your posting. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2003

      I would give this 6 stars if i could!!! This is the greatest potato salad i have ever eaten!!!! I REALLY do not like mayo at all and still could not stop eating this. Next time i will mash up the potatoes completly- but that is my preference :) thanks for posting such a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2002

      I added some chopped sweet pickle but followed to the letter otherwise. GREAT TATER SALAD! The mixture of the MW, mayo and sour cream was really tasty. I would have never thought of mixing them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2002

      I made this recipe for my husbands christmas luncheon. I had been doing a search and this is one that was suggested. I have never had a potato salad without mustard and I normally would not use miracle whip but I gave it a shot. It was wonderful. So rich & creamy. I had to triple the recipe and thought that he would at least bring something home. No luck. He boasted that there were 3 other potato salads and mine was the first to go. Now I need to make it again for us. Thanks Donna and her Mom!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      The dressing combination was wonderful-nice and creamy. I added a couple of sliced radishes for colour -other than that wouldn't change a thing. Will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2002

      This sounds so so good. My search for a great potato salad recipe has ended. Thanks, Julie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2003

      This was really, really good - and so easy. It had everyone's favorite elements, and added up to a wonderful whole. I didn't add parsley or paprika since I am not really a "cook by taste" kind of cook, but I did add some salt and pepper. This was the first time I have bought "Miracle Whip" (store brand) and it was well worth it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2003

      I followed the recipe to the letter. The combination of mayo, Miracle Whip and sour cream is so good. This will be my basic recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2003

      WOW ! Verry good ! Try using small red potatoes with their skin on... put some dill and/or finely chopped dill pickles ! A bit different. Thanks for that one !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2004

      My husband and I thought this potato salad was very bland, it seemed to be missing something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2005

      Very creamy as everone raved about. My husband loved it, I liked it but thought it needed a little something more. Wish I would have but bacon bits in it to add a little more flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2003

      Donna! This is more than a 5 star recipe! My family just loved it. I used red potatoes and left the skins on. And I also doubled everything but the veggies. The amounts this way were perfect! No sour cream, but I subbed plain yogurt with great results. It's so creamy and delicious, and will be a regular in this house. Thanks for sharing! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2003

      The sour cream in the dressing makes this recipe! I used Yukon Gold potatoes, didn't have green onions on hand so I chopped up a yellow onion, and there was none left to take home! I'll make my potato salad this way from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      This potato salad was very good. I have only used mayo when making potato salad. I think the miracle whip added a little zip to it. Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2003

      The blend of mayo, miracle whip, and sour cream really are nice together. I don't really even know the difference between mayo and miracle whip, but whatever it is, this works for potato salad. Sure you can doctor it up if you want, but at a party or for a group, it's best basic like this. Or you can boil a couple extra eggs, slice them thin to make the beautiful presentation and sprinkle with paprika, but it's still the same great recipe! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      This is potato salad the way I like it! My husband liked this one too. It had just the right amount of ingredients and all the flavors blended together nicely. I will be making this one again for sure. THANKS!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2014

      Excellent potato salad! I did add a little yellow mustard, but otherwise kept everything else the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mom's Potato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 335.6
     
    Calories from Fat 119
    35%
    Total Fat 13.3 g
    20%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 138.0 mg
    46%
    Sodium 292.4 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.6 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.5 g
    22%
    Sugars 5.8 g
    23%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes